PDA

View Full Version : My Ti4200


archagon
10-25-03, 12:13 AM
Will my P41.5Ghz 256MB RAM and GeForce4Ti4200 be able to play the new line of games at a solid 60fps at least? Games like Call of Defeat and Halo and such...

If not, what should I upgrade?

Kev1
10-25-03, 12:17 AM
Call of Defeat should be ok since I believe its based on Q3 engine. Halo might be ok to if you dont run at res higher than 800 x 600.

If you want more you'll need faster cpu, at least another 256 megs ram, and a Radeon 9600XT or GFFX5700.

If you decide to upgrade or not, enjoy the new games :thumbsup:

micronX
10-25-03, 12:19 AM
Not 60fps... I would get a new cpu and more memory if I were you. I'm playing Halo with my Ti4200 and it's not too bad. It stays over 30fps :)

archagon
10-25-03, 01:21 AM
Oh ****!

I hate the computer game industry. I only had my card and comp for a year and ALREADY they're ****ing outdated! That's it. I am now a console gamer.

Didn't even get to use my comp for anything...

Stupid industry morons...

particleman
10-25-03, 01:24 AM
It doesn't matter what card you have, Halo doesn't run great on any of them. I don't get anywhere near 60 fps on either my 5900 Ultra or 9700 Pro.

LiquidX
10-25-03, 01:31 AM
Right now I have Ti4200 and it runs everything great. Call of Duty runs great on it. Halo is half way decent but like another poster said you might want to add more ram.

Rogozhin
10-25-03, 01:41 AM
The g4ti4200 came out 2 years ago-you bought old hardware to begin with.

rogo

archagon
10-25-03, 01:49 AM
OLD?! It was brand spankin' new when I got it.

stncttr908
10-25-03, 10:26 AM
Originally posted by archagon
OLD?! It was brand spankin' new when I got it. Did you read what rogo said? Your card's technology was already quite a few months old when you bought it. The Geforce FX series was already announced by the time you got a GF4. That's just how it is with computers. However, I'm sure Call of Duty will run great on that card. The Quake 3 engine can only do so much, and I'm sure it's all within the range of your computer's specs. Also, as it was mentioned, Halo doesn't obtain that sort of framerate on anyone's system, due to a rather poor optimization and implementation of DX9 features.

The only thing that I would do at the moment with your system is grab another 256MB of memory. Also, if your P4 is using an SDRAM chipset...you're going to want to ditch that. That's going to be limiting your performance far more than the ti4200 will.

archagon
10-25-03, 01:23 PM
Uses RDRAM I think...