PDA

View Full Version : Performance Question


Hellbinder
10-25-03, 07:55 PM
Lets get some opinions on this..

You can all see my new system shown in my sig.

If i run at 3G my FSB/RAM bus is set to 200/200. If I run the CPU where its at now at 3.22 i have to change the FSB/DDR multiplier to 3:2 and the Bus settings become 200/157.

I have not done a lot of testing yet but what do you guys thik is the better setting for the best performance in the widest range of applications.. 200mhz boost to the CPU? or the full 200mhz bus to the DDR.

digitalwanderer
10-25-03, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by Hellbinder
full 200mhz bus to the DDR.
I'll bet a radeon on it!

The 200mhz won't make that big a diff on the CPU at the speeds you're already at, but the FSB will improve the whole systems performance. :)

The Baron
10-25-03, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
I'll bet a radeon on it!

The 200mhz won't make that big a diff on the CPU at the speeds you're already at, but the FSB will improve the whole systems performance. :)
What Dig said. FSB = Tasteh.

And haven't you tried knocking down the RAM timings a bit?

sxotty
10-25-03, 10:45 PM
Same I lowered the multiplier, so I could get 400mhz fsb on my 2600 instead of 333fsb.

-=DVS=-
10-25-03, 10:50 PM
In my theroy

Fron Side Bus will give you more 3d gameing power for bandwith demanding applications , and

More Megahertz give you more computeing power for other none bandwith relate aplications :p

fasedww
10-27-03, 06:41 PM
Originally posted by Hellbinder
Lets get some opinions on this..

You can all see my new system shown in my sig.

If i run at 3G my FSB/RAM bus is set to 200/200. If I run the CPU where its at now at 3.22 i have to change the FSB/DDR multiplier to 3:2 and the Bus settings become 200/157.

I have not done a lot of testing yet but what do you guys thik is the better setting for the best performance in the widest range of applications.. 200mhz boost to the CPU? or the full 200mhz bus to the DDR. Set your ratio to 5/4 divider, set voltage to cpu at 1.60-1.61, memory voltage to 2.7, and raise the buss to 230mhz. you'll be running at 3.45mhz like me. with a 920mhz. buss

jAkUp
10-27-03, 06:44 PM
ive also had a hard time getting my memory speed to the full 400mhz... if i can hit 3.5, its possible, but i really dont want to push it that far.

The Baron
10-27-03, 06:45 PM
Originally posted by -=DVS=-
In my theroy

Fron Side Bus will give you more 3d gameing power for bandwith demanding applications , and

More Megahertz give you more computeing power for other none bandwith relate aplications :p
rendering will be helped by sheer megahertz. stuff that you or I would run is not, generally.

jAkUp
10-27-03, 06:51 PM
although this week i may be getting a great deal exclusively through intel... so i may have a 3.0... winxp pro, 865 board, and a 3.0c for $199!!!:eek: :eek: :eek: