PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else experience this??


Tiller
10-27-03, 09:49 AM
I had a terrible time getting the 52.16 drivers installed on my XP machine. Every time I'd try to install them, it would come up in 4-bit color and wouldn't change. I finally got them to install by going into Safe Mode and installing them. Now....... After all that, Halo looked and ran 100% better than it did with the 45's. But, Quake 3 would freeze after about 5 seconds of gameplay. This happened over and over. Nothing in my computer is overclocked. Is there an issue with Quake 3 and these 52's? I've since went back to the 45's. Gotta love the Rollback Driver button!! :)

Zeke009
10-27-03, 08:46 PM
When you were in Windows (no safe mode) did you happen to notice the errors in the device tab? This is what I am getting, I will be trying the safe mode install next... once I'im done posting. :D

I can't even reinstall any gfx drivers for my gf4 ti4200.

http://www.zekeisreal.net/uploads/resources.jpg

main system specs:
amd xp2600+
asus a7n8x-dlx 2.0
corsair pc3200 xms (2x256)
gainward geforce4 ti4200

Zeke009
10-27-03, 09:12 PM
In safe mode I still can not install. I'm thinking about uninstalling nforce and reinstalling with 2.45, I was previously using 2.03.

Can anyone speak from experience on this annoyance?b

xgman
10-27-03, 10:59 PM
I got thge 4 bit once and I'm not sure what got rid of it. Uninstall and reinstall I think, then I had to play with the monitor drivers a bit.

Zeke009
10-27-03, 11:17 PM
ok, tiller and I aren't having the same issue and I inadvertantly hijacked his thread... :cool:

Has anyone seen the resource conflict that will not allow me to load the drivers for my geforce4 ti4200?

complete system specs:
asus a7n8x-dlx - uber bios 1007
amd xp2600+
corsair xms pc3200 2x256
gainward geforce4 ti4200 gs
audigy 2 plat
maxtor 80gb ata133 ata1-master
wd 80gb ata100 ata1-slave
plextor 24/10/40 ata2-cs

nforce2 2.45
gfx drive NA cause it won't load :mad:

Tiller
10-28-03, 09:06 AM
When installing the drivers, go to the drivers tab and click Update Driver. That's what I did. I didn't actually run the Setup.exe from the driver package. Not sure if that makes any difference.

Zeke009
10-28-03, 09:18 AM
Originally posted by Tiller
When installing the drivers, go to the drivers tab and click Update Driver. That's what I did. I didn't actually run the Setup.exe from the driver package. Not sure if that makes any difference.
I can't do that anymore. The display adapter is no longer available in the device manager and the only place I can access the display adapter is via the Display Panel. And even in there all the options are grayed out. Basically my hands completely tied. I can not access the display adapter period... the most I can do is let Windows XP see it and attempt to install the drivers from the wizard. But that won't work either because (see screesnshot above) the resources of my geforce4 are in use by other devices.

Tiller
10-29-03, 10:29 AM
Well, it happened again... Quake 3 froze up so I went back to the 44.03's. I'll hold out until the next version comes out or I get an ATI card, whichever comes first.

Zeke009
10-29-03, 10:30 AM
The only way for me to get ANY driver working again was to do a System Restore. Looks like it's time for a clean install. :rolleyes: