PDA

View Full Version : My VisionTek TI4600 is gone Forever


Pages : [1] 2

john19055
10-27-03, 05:57 PM
I RMA ed my Visiontek TI4600 on july 23 2003 and they kept telling me it was backordered,I called them today and they said well they did'nt make that one no more (like DA! )and they would send me a relpacement of something compatible,I ask him what would it be and he said he did't know but it be in the same performance of the TI4600 and it would be made by ATI.What is compared to a TI4600,I don't think a 9600pro would be in raw performance running with out FSAA and aniso.I don't think I would be happy with anything less than a R9700pro or better.

bkswaney
10-27-03, 09:51 PM
When u look at prices etc and the fact that VT is a "new" company
that could have just said the hell with the last VT and there nvidia
hardware I would take what they sent me.

U can buy a Ti4600 for nothing hardly.
A new 9600Pro is 200+.
Just overclock the 9600 and it will run everything sweet. :thumbsup:
Plus the 9600 has killer IQ.

Just my 2 cents.



______________________________________
9800Pro for sale or trade here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20102
______________________________________

GlowStick
10-27-03, 11:07 PM
Originally posted by bkswaney
When u look at prices etc and the fact that VT is a "new" company
that could have just said the hell with the last VT and there nvidia
hardware I would take what they sent me.

U can buy a Ti4600 for nothing hardly.
A new 9600Pro is 200+.
Just overclock the 9600 and it will run everything sweet. :thumbsup:
Plus the 9600 has killer IQ.

Just my 2 cents.



______________________________________
9800Pro for sale or trade here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20102
______________________________________ Show me this hardly for noting 4600!

cthellis
10-27-03, 11:23 PM
And this point you'll probably find them pretty close on most games--the 4600 will still be ahead, but you'd be getting good frames on the 9600 Pro as well. But the instant you start touching AA+Ansio, the 4600 will be overtaken quickly. Not to mention you can get DX9 out of a 9600 Pro (and decent overclockability).

Basically it'll be a trade-off. You'll lose some ground and gain some ground. No card at this point will give you exactly what you're looking for in a 4600 except a 4600 (or a 4800 ;) ), and since you're out of luck with them... <shrugs>

The company would have to be EXTREMELY nice to RMA you a 9700 Pro (or even a 9700), as it outperforms a 4600 all across the board and is a full price bracket above.

Best you could hope for is probably a 9600XT, but methinks you ain't getting that neither. ;)

bkswaney
10-27-03, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by GlowStick
Show me this hardly for noting 4600!


Heck u can get the newest 4800 for 130 bucks not newegg.
To me that's hardly nothing. But I guess to many that
is a good bit. :)

Ever card I buy is 400+ anyway. ;)

john19055
10-28-03, 12:04 AM
Yes I guess they could of said the hell with me,but it said it had a life time warranty and when they went to ATI they said they would honnor their nvidia products.I am glad it is a company that is still here. IMO a 9600 would'nt be the same but they said it would be a upgrade,but I guess some people would say thats a upgrade.But I don't know what they are going to send,I guess I will be surprise one way or the other.It will be for my kids computer and it is running everthing on a G.F.3 and it surprises how well it does run everthing.They don't care about I.Q.,and they will never use FSAA and aniso anyway unless I turn it on,they just want it to be fast.What ever they send I will be happy just as long as it's not a 9200.

cthellis
10-28-03, 05:07 AM
Well it's also rather unlikely they'll be noticing the difference between 100 and 120 FPS in games, too. ;) Some games will strain them without quality, but unless you're going out to 1600x1200 a lot (which I doubt), you'll likely be getting good performance from anything in that general range. (Certainly if the things they're playing now all run fine on a GF3.)

In their eyes, though, I'm sure any card that's newer and in the same price range will be an "upgrade" in their eyes, so I'm still assuming you'll get a 9600 Pro. (NP if they're rude, XT if you're lucky)

If you DO happen to get a 9700 or better, cackle with glee and keep it for yourself in a second rig. Tell your kids to make do with the GF3 until they save up enough allowances. Fiscal responsibility is fun! ;)

Gator
10-28-03, 06:51 AM
any of the R9600's should be a decent switch from your TI4600 don't worry about that :). However if by some chance they give you a Visiontek R9100 or R9200, call them right away and DEMAND an exchange. Those cards are comparable to a GF3 TI at most :rolleyes:

john19055
10-28-03, 07:59 PM
I imangine what ever they send me I will put it in my rig and play with it for a while before I put my R9800pro back in.I guess I could put it in my other rig Xp1900,A7V333,512 PC2700,the one I keep around in case something go's wrong with my main system.But in the end I imangine it will go in my grils computer.

TheTaz
10-28-03, 09:28 PM
Well... if they send you a 9600 Pro, it will be faster than yer Ti4600 with 4XAA and 8XAF on, in most games. But for Raw speed... a 9700 Non-Pro would be more on target. Heck, you might get lucky and score a 9800 Non-Pro. ;)

Taz

bkswaney
10-28-03, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by john19055
Yes I guess they could of said the hell with me,but it said it had a life time warranty and when they went to ATI they said they would honnor their nvidia products.I am glad it is a company that is still here. IMO a 9600 would'nt be the same but they said it would be a upgrade,but I guess some people would say thats a upgrade.But I don't know what they are going to send,I guess I will be surprise one way or the other.It will be for my kids computer and it is running everthing on a G.F.3 and it surprises how well it does run everthing.They don't care about I.Q.,and they will never use FSAA and aniso anyway unless I turn it on,they just want it to be fast.What ever they send I will be happy just as long as it's not a 9200.

I hear ya. My twin 31/2 year old boys already want a PC. :eek:
I guess I'll be building them one soon. :)

If they send u a new 9600Pro or better it should run everything just fine.
Maybe a few FPS slower than the Ti4600 but not to much.
A nice 9700 Pro or 9800nonpro would be sweet. :D
Lets hope they do good for ya.

Keep us updated on what they send.

truth
10-29-03, 05:28 AM
or if they send you a 9600 non-pro, how?

Gator
10-29-03, 07:27 AM
Originally posted by truth
or if they send you a 9600 non-pro, how?

R9600 non-pro I would argue with them for a better card. It's not a bad card, but for Dx8 performance the TI4600 could probably still beat it out. Try to find some comparison benchmarks online between the 2 in DX8 games, and then email Visiontek the links in case they try to get cheap on you ;)

john19055
10-31-03, 02:50 PM
They are sending me a R9500Pro,I thought it would be better.Can you softmod a R9500pro to 9700pro,and is the R9500pro faster than the R9600pro,I know it has 8 pipelines.

darkmiasma
10-31-03, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by john19055
They are sending me a R9500Pro,I thought it would be better.Can you softmod a R9500pro to 9700pro,and is the R9500pro faster than the R9600pro,I know it has 8 pipelines.

You can softmod a 9500 (non-pro) to a 9700PRO.

The 9500PRO is normally faster than the 9600PRO.

Lfctony
10-31-03, 04:32 PM
The 9500 Pro is a much better card than a Ti4600, almost as fast without AA/AF, quite a bit faster with AA/AF. Good for you.

Creizai
11-01-03, 09:47 AM
Originally posted by Lfctony
The 9500 Pro is a much better card than a Ti4600, almost as fast without AA/AF, quite a bit faster with AA/AF. Good for you.

Kinda agree, but just know Its a great REPLACEMENT a poor upgrade.

bkswaney
11-02-03, 12:28 AM
U done good getting a 9500Pro. They r wonderful cards.

Just as fast without AA/AF and runs AA/AF super. :D

They matched a replacment for u nicely. :)

Edge
11-02-03, 12:57 AM
That's a nice replacement. If you don't use AA/anisotropic yet...well...now's a good time to start ;)

Your framerates might not be much higher, but quality and speed of AA/Aniso will be superior, not to mention DX9 stuff. And a 9500pro is about as fast as a 9600xt, which is certainly not bad at all.

Gator
11-02-03, 07:03 AM
Originally posted by john19055
They are sending me a R9500Pro...

that seems like a very reasonable and acceptable replacement. Enjoy your new card, it looks like Visiontek did well by you :)

john19055
11-02-03, 02:22 PM
Yes after looking at more reviews it looks like it's going to be a good upgrade.It looks like it will overclock great and from what I have seen in reviews it is faster than the R9600XT and should be about as good as a FX5700ultra.I know I will have to play with it before I put it in my girl's computer.Can't wait a new toy to play with.

cthellis
11-02-03, 04:00 PM
9500 Pro++ :D

artifex
11-07-03, 07:53 AM
Originally posted by john19055
They are sending me a R9500Pro,I thought it would be better.Can you softmod a R9500pro to 9700pro,and is the R9500pro faster than the R9600pro,I know it has 8 pipelines.

How did you manage that? I just tried to RMA a Ti 4600 this week, and they said they could give me a discount on a new card, and that was it.

I'm thoroughly furious that they're not honoring their obligations. They bought the assets and name, they should honor the RMAs properly and consistently.

I wouldn't consider a 9500 Pro a good match anyway, because the reason why I spent the extra money for this card instead of another brand was the VIVO - none of the cards they're trying to get me to buy from them seem to have that feature, even. But I don't even have that option, as the 9500 Pro isn't on the list of cards I'm offered.

Here, read the backstory at Anandtech. (http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.cfm?catid=31&threadid=1177262) You can see just how much of a discount they want to give me, and off the retail price, at that. :(

saturnotaku
11-07-03, 08:01 AM
The Radeon 9500 Pro cannot be soft-modded. Only the 9500 non-pro with a 9700 PCB (L-shaped memory configuration) can be modded.

Dazz
11-07-03, 08:17 AM
Originally posted by bkswaney
Heck u can get the newest 4800 for 130 bucks not newegg.
To me that's hardly nothing. But I guess to many that
is a good bit. :)

Ever card I buy is 400+ anyway. ;) Seen some people say you can get a Ti4600 for $60.