PDA

View Full Version : fireworks ;/


volt
07-30-02, 05:56 PM
Where should I start hmm...I had a free fireworks show in my secondary box today. Capacitors blew out (again). I haven't used that machine for maybe 3 months because I didnt have a spare monitor. This happened to me a year ago, in the same box, so I bought another mobo....and today...well BIG BARA BOOM! :(

netviper13
07-30-02, 06:20 PM
What mobo was it?

volt
07-30-02, 06:57 PM
Abit KA7
(my 2nd one)

netviper13
07-30-02, 07:52 PM
Wow, that would really suck. Sorry to hear that man.

volt
07-30-02, 08:00 PM
Yea, now I will have to shell out another 60 bucks. IMO it should be cheaper, you can buy last years mobo for like 70 or 80

netviper13
07-30-02, 08:08 PM
Pick up an ECS K7S6A. It's cheap, reliable, and nearly as fast as the kt266a.

volt
07-30-02, 08:20 PM
Viper it's a Slot A CPU (AMD 700)
It was my linux box ;/

netviper13
07-30-02, 08:27 PM
Ahhh, boy do I feel stupid

volt
07-30-02, 08:36 PM
hahah
find me a cheap one now lol

PCarr78
07-30-02, 08:37 PM
Friend, this is for you.

It pays to visit overclockers.com :)


Abit Capacitors Yes, it's a problem, at least for those boards around a couple years old. Some information and advice.

We think this kind of inquiry is a really good idea, and we plan to do a lot more of this in the future.

-

Plowing Through Your Abit Comments Much more on this later, (later looking like tomorrow now), but there's good news and bad news.

The good news is that this doesn't seem to be a problem with much older (like BH6) or newer boards. The bad news is that for the boards in between; it is a big, big problem affecting a large percentage of those boards.

Something tells me we have a whole new field to cover in the future.



http://www.overclockers.com/tips054/

And stuff related to a fix:



"A Case of Crappy Capacitors?"
Ed Stroligo - 7/3/02

If you own an Abit board, take a look at this.

Essentially, the gentleman behind the website is saying that a rather large number of Abit boards suffer from what he believes to be aren't very good capacitors.

He believes he has figured out the problem and is offering to fix this problem for a price.

This is a new one on me; I'd like to know if it's a new one on you.

Have you had problems with any of the Abit boards listed? What has been your experience? If you have this problem, have you dealt with Abit? With this gentleman? If so, what was your experience with either?

Here is some linkage about the guy that fixes. He also has some good info about the problem.

http://home.att.net/~garyheadlee/

Hope this helps!

Good Luck!

volt
07-30-02, 09:11 PM
Thanks Dan, that will help :)
Too bad that that board wasn't overclocked!
The first one was, that's why I thought the caps blew...

PCarr78
07-31-02, 08:13 AM
Overclocking doesnt change anything.

When you have ****ty capacitors, they're gonna blow no matter what. Just a matter of time