PDA

View Full Version : DVD Hardware


bkswaney
11-02-03, 02:50 AM
Does the 5900 have built in hardware to run DVD's?

The reason I ask is I have PowerDVD 5 and it has a
box for hardware acc.

I know the 9800 I had did but does my 5900?

The box is not checked on my software.

bkswaney
11-02-03, 02:53 AM
Nevermind: took this off nv's website. :)


Integrated Full Hardware MPEG-2 Decoder
Delivers full-frame, full-screen MPEG-2 video on your desktop



So I guess it does.
I need to check that box. ;)

StealthHawk
11-02-03, 04:14 AM
Like ATI's hardware MPEG-2 decoding, NVIDIA's only works with certain software I am pretty sure. It should be very easy to test whether it works with particular software. Just enable hardware acceleration and if you don't see CPU utilization drop, that means it isn't working ;)

bkswaney
11-02-03, 04:50 AM
Well, without it checked it runs about 10 to 12% on cpu.

With it checked it runs from 6 to 8%.
So I guess it's working. Tho I really don't need it.
Using only 10 to 12 I can live with anyway. :)

saturnotaku
11-02-03, 07:31 AM
With today's processors, hardware acceleration is unnecessary. I've even found it to cause weird problems that don't exist when using software acceleration.

ChrisRay
11-02-03, 09:37 AM
Hardware acceleration works fine here, Personally I use NvDVD with both my Ati Radeon and Geforce cards,

I dont think my Geforce FX 5900 looks quite as good as my 9500 Pro in DVD mode in Hardware mode tho.

GlowStick
11-02-03, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by saturnotaku
With today's processors, hardware acceleration is unnecessary. I've even found it to cause weird problems that don't exist when using software acceleration. Ive found that too, but you feel more secure that you have it just in case : P