PDA

View Full Version : Trying to Decide on new Processor or New MB/CPU Combo Help!


willmg
11-02-03, 08:11 AM
Hey all new to the forums and I am seeking advice. I currently am running and Athlon 1800(356k cache) on an older MSI motherboard. I would like to do an inexpensive update to last for say 1-2 years or so until 64s have dropped down to sane prices. Best processor I can get for my current MB is 2400+ for aprox $80. How much of a boost would I see in games with this? (I am running a Geforce 4 ti 4400). Or for around $250-300 I could get a new MB/CPU combo with a 2500+ and an Nforce2 compatible up to 400MHz FSB which I could maybe keep longer and upgrade more when current CPUs drop before I get an Athlon 64. Any ideas at all? Thanks.

sxotty
11-02-03, 08:56 AM
No one can tell you because 2 years is a ridiculously long time and we don't know what you would be willing to put up with.

IMO I would say it depends on what you want, and what you have. If you don't have good sound, then you can get a nforce with soundstorm, if you do maybe you would rather keep you MB and save money.

Me I would get an nforce+a 2700 ($109) or a 2800 ($133), but of course that is up to you. A 2500 ($85), I would personally say that it is worth $24 to get a 2700 instead of 2500 I mean that is like 2 pizzas or something.

willmg
11-02-03, 09:09 AM
I realize 2 years would be long time to wait, the only reason I said it might be a possibility is cause I am starting a new job so money is tight. My current system is as follows, Athlon 1800, MSI 6380, 1GB PC2700, Audigy MP3, Geforce 4 Ti 4400, 160GB 7200rpm drive, and win xp. All I really am wondering is if upgrading to a 2400+ would make any real difference in my current system or if I should just spend the extra cash and start with a new Barebones with a 333 FSB that I could later upgrade to say a barton 400FSB.

Dazz
11-02-03, 09:14 AM
What sort of board are you running? Sometime all it takes is a BIOS flash to support faster processors. KT333's can support Bartons even though it's not stated on the box.

willmg
11-02-03, 09:24 AM
I have an MSI 6380E it is KT333 but according to their website its max processor is the 2400/2600 (but cant find 2600 with 266bus anymore except over $150) at 266MHz bus and that actually was updated with last bios about 4 months ago before that its max was 2200.

On another note, I know Video cards and games use the processor if I got a better Graphics card, ie 9800 or a 5700 ultra or somehting similar would that help or should i not bother and wait on graphics?

willmg
11-02-03, 10:12 AM
Checked into the MSI forums and looks like bunch of people have been able to get 2500-2800s working on my MB with "good memory" is it worth the risk that it might not work? Or should I bite the bullit and get a better MB? I have two sticks of Crucial PC2700 cas 2.5 is this good enough memory?

Rob_0126
11-07-03, 07:39 PM
Originally posted by willmg
I have an MSI 6380E it is KT333 but according to their website its max processor is the 2400/2600 (but cant find 2600 with 266bus anymore except over $150) at 266MHz bus and that actually was updated with last bios about 4 months ago before that its max was 2200.

On another note, I know Video cards and games use the processor if I got a better Graphics card, ie 9800 or a 5700 ultra or somehting similar would that help or should i not bother and wait on graphics?

If your thinking 2 years, then Id say a FX 5900 non-ultra, for bout $220.

Thats all the advice I have.

Robert

Smokey
11-09-03, 07:49 AM
Originally posted by willmg
Checked into the MSI forums and looks like bunch of people have been able to get 2500-2800s working on my MB with "good memory" is it worth the risk that it might not work? Or should I bite the bullit and get a better MB? I have two sticks of Crucial PC2700 cas 2.5 is this good enough memory?

Check my specs ;)

First you have to know the reason why they state the 6380 only supports 266 cpus. The 6380 doesnt have a sensor that will detect the correct settings for the 333 cpus, this means that when you put in a Barton, you will have to set the FSB to 166 manually.

Thats it, no modding, nothing special, just need to change FSB. Im running my Barton at 166*12.5 without problems, for some reason I cannot OC the FSB on this board, maybe the pci bus dont like it :(

CaptNKILL
11-09-03, 09:46 AM
Originally posted by Rob_0126
If your thinking 2 years, then Id say a FX 5900 non-ultra, for bout $220.

Thats all the advice I have.

Robert
ehhh, I dont know about that.... FXs are good for current games, but I wouldnt recommend them for anyone wanting to play games smoothly next year (let alone in two years), simply because of the DX9 performance Im seeing.
I think it might be worth it to dig around to find a 9800 non-pro... Ebay usually has some and a few retail stores have them. If thats too much hassle, a 9800 pro is the only other card I can recommend for the long run.

Rob_0126
11-09-03, 02:25 PM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
ehhh, I dont know about that.... FXs are good for current games, but I wouldnt recommend them for anyone wanting to play games smoothly next year (let alone in two years), simply because of the DX9 performance Im seeing.
I think it might be worth it to dig around to find a 9800 non-pro... Ebay usually has some and a few retail stores have them. If thats too much hassle, a 9800 pro is the only other card I can recommend for the long run.

Probably so. I was thinking financial wise, a 5900 regular would be best bet. I suppose 2 years is a long time. DX11 by then :p

Robert

MUYA
11-09-03, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by Rob_0126
Probably so. I was thinking financial wise, a 5900 regular would be best bet. I suppose 2 years is a long time. DX11 by then :p

Robert

I think dude, only DX 10 will be out then, i think the plan by M$ is to ship longhorn with DX10 and longhorn has some time left to get done with.

5900 regular would be good as they can be found for $200 at some places n'est pas?

CPU front, I persoanlly am waiting for the nForce3 250 and Athlon64 with dual channel memory controller on die, so maybe willmg you might want to wait till that is launched? You have waited this long, whats a few more...erm months? :D

Or save yerself some money now geta 2500+ bartons..before they get multiplier locked, and a single channel nforce2 400. Tests have shown that sometimes the single channel nForce2 400 can keep up with the nforce2 400 ultra dual memeory chipset. Have a look around amdmb.com who did a soltel nforce2 400 review as well as tom's hardware. Then come q2 next year take the athlon64 plunge or prescott which ever you fancy then? ;)



cheers



MUYA

Dazz
11-09-03, 03:36 PM
Yeah i think M$ are increasing the leth of time for DX now so software developers can catch up.

Rob_0126
11-09-03, 05:23 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
Yeah i think M$ are increasing the leth of time for DX now so software developers can catch up.
This makes me wonder, did Nvidia rush the FX chip line, and not take their time, trying to keep up with microsofts' innovation$(dx7->dx8->dx9)?

Could the FX5700 ultra & 5950 be the final FX product line that they really wanted the first go around?

humph.

Robert

Gator
11-10-03, 01:28 PM
an AXP1800 can still compete, and I think you'll be EXTREMELY disappointed if you upgrade to only an AXP2400. And forget the AXP2600/266 is nearly impossible to find these days. My advice is to sell the GF4TI4400 on ebay and use that towards a new video card, either R9800 or FX5900. The AXP1800 still has some life in it, so another thing you could do since you have PC2700 memory already is get a cheap NForce2 motherboard and overclock your AXP1800 to 333fsb or less. ;)