PDA

View Full Version : Changing Cards


CHEVYMAN_02
11-04-03, 08:39 AM
Is it worth me pulling out my Geforce FX 5200 and putting in my Geforce 3 TI200?

ragejg
11-04-03, 09:01 AM
YES!!!

...well, first, what kind of 3dmarks did you get outta the 5200???

I ask cuz I wonder if it's a 64bit or 128 bit version...

...and what setup is this in??

GF3's still perform great, and generally don't show weakness until >2xAA and >2xAF... It can still crank out some pretty high resolutions... and the higest performance/IQ mix is in the 30.82 and 40.71 drivers, I believe...

I've said it a million times, but it's an interesting fact nonetheless: GF3's are capable of 14k in 3dmark2k1...

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7147877

they scale REAL nicely in performance with uppage in CPU and fsb speed...

:)

digitalwanderer
11-04-03, 09:45 AM
Originally posted by CHEVYMAN_02
Is it worth me pulling out my Geforce FX 5200 and putting in my Geforce 3 TI200?
I've never used a 5200, but from what I've read about them I would have to say "yes!". (I had a GF3 that I loved to pieces for the longest damned time!)

Gator
11-04-03, 09:56 AM
Originally posted by CHEVYMAN_02
Is it worth me pulling out my Geforce FX 5200 and putting in my Geforce 3 TI200?

well, if you already have a GF3TI then sure swap them, the FX5200 stinks. But certainly donot buy a GF3TI. There are much newer cards available then the GF3TI, get yourself a cheap GF4TI or R9600 ;)

ragejg
11-04-03, 10:05 AM
You can't say DO NOT buy a certain card when it still performs great!!

I mean heck, vendors still sell GF2MX's, GF4MX's, GF2ti's, and even TNT's for the same price you can find a used GF3 for!!! ($40-$50)

///me slaps gators wrist///
:p:p

Gator
11-04-03, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by ragejg
You can't say DO NOT buy a certain card when it still performs great!!

I mean heck, vendors still sell GF2MX's, GF4MX's, GF2ti's, and even TNT's for the same price you can find a used GF3 for!!! ($40-$50)

///me slaps gators wrist///
:p:p

GF4 TI4200 64DDR for $79 (http://www.gameve.com/store/gameve_viewitem.asp?idproduct=474)

for a little more you get a better card, so why buy GF3TI ?

ragejg
11-04-03, 01:28 PM
$79... plus shipping... so... around $83...

GF3's can be found for $50 shipped.

That extra $33 could score an extra 256 stick o ddr... :p

ragejg
11-04-03, 01:30 PM
some ppl is poor, y'know?

:p

:D

Gator
11-04-03, 01:33 PM
Originally posted by ragejg
$79... plus shipping... so... around $83...

GF3's can be found for $50 shipped.

That extra $33 could score an extra 256 stick o ddr... :p

the link I provided has free shipping, so it's only $79

and as for 256DDR for at the remaining $29 - I checked pricewatch and even 256 DDR2100 starts at $31 so :p

heh heh :D

ragejg
11-04-03, 01:44 PM
quit bein a bunghole gator...

you know exactly what I mean...

:rolleyes:

besides, if you got the ddr from the same place as the GF3, it would be $25... prolly $25 shipped...

I make my case re: GF3 because I try and do anything I can to help those wanting to spenn only $50 on a vidcard... with that amount you can get burned, or score a good deal...


///BACK ON TOPIC///

Gator
11-04-03, 01:47 PM
Originally posted by ragejg
quit bein a bunghole gator...

you know exactly what I mean...

:rolleyes:

besides, if you got the ddr from the same place as the GF3, it would be $25... prolly $25 shipped...

I make my case re: GF3 because I try and do anything I can to help those wanting to spenn only $50 on a vidcard... with that amount you can get burned, or score a good deal...


///BACK ON TOPIC///

OK OK :p

back on topic, yes a GF3TI > FX5200

john19055
11-04-03, 05:47 PM
yes a G.F.3 would be better than a plain FX5200 IMO,I have one in one of my computers and it runs everthing good.If it's not costing nothing or you are getting a good deal on it.