PDA

View Full Version : My FX 5900 ULTRA overclocking


sandeep
11-06-03, 05:55 PM
PART 1

Hi all, I overclocked my Leadtek FX5900 ULTRA 256Megs to 500/1000Mhz. Now I just wanted to know with standard heatsinks whats the highest that can be done with these cards. Also just to put things out of mouth, will the Fx5900 ultra take this overclocking fine over a period of time. I mean overclocking damages the card but to what extent. Does this speed puts my card to any detriments???

My CPU is @stock 2500 Barton @1.83 and at original video specs (450/850Mhz) on Aquamark I was getting around 38760 and with 500/1000Mhz its doing 41441. What do you reckon? Whats the maximum I could do without damaging? The card is taking it fine but I just wanted to consults your views out there.

http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_se...unID=2009006069

This is my FIRST overclocking EVER and I went from 450/850 to 500/1000 directly..woops no increments.


Any input would be appreciated as I have finished my Uni exams so I can relax a bit with gaming and thought to push this card within safe limits.

Thanks for reading and inputs in advance.

Cheers

Edit..My Temperature reading with stock cooling on the Leadtek is around 42degrees Celcius Idle and intense gaming shoots to 64 the highest recorded. Well this is with Forceware 52.16 and with Dets 45.23 used to be 32 degress Idle.





PART 2

Ok Now...I need some explanations for questions below..very eager

1.) After having to know that my card took 500/1000 easy, I further clocked it to 600/1000---->When I tried to run Aquamark Benchmark the screen went blank. Complete Blank so I had to restart the comp. What does this mean? Is thsi some protective mechanism, would it damage my card? Also I have seen other people clocking the GPU speed above 600Mhz..how can this be achieved?

2.) Well I was too bored to do minor adjustments so I ran it 550/1000..It was excellent...

3.) I then increased the core to 576/1000 and it ran the benchmark but had lines and it was slow..kinda?

I would be very grateful if someone could fill me in with some nice technical knowledge. I am VERY curious.

I should say I liked playing with it....but then I don't wanna be a sorry case.

Cheers
N.B My final settings are at 550/1000....didn't play with the memory speed other than the jump from 850 to 1000.


__________________
AMD Athlon Xp 2500 Barton | ASUS A7N8XDelux 400FSB Rev 2.0 | LeadTek Winfast A350 ADH MYVIVO Geforce FX 5900 ULTRA 256 Megs | Thermal Xaser Case V 2000 +| Creative Audigy 2 Platinum Int. |PC2700 DDR 1G RAM Legend | Logitech Z680 -505 r.m.s Watts| Western Digital 120Gigs 7200 rpm 8 Meg cache HD | DVD R, CD RW, CD R | Secondary CD R 52X | AnTec True Power 550Watts |.

bkswaney
11-06-03, 06:52 PM
My best performance taking in heat and performance comes from 500 core/960 memory.

I can push it a lot harder but the gains above this are not worth it.

I guess that's why NV only clocked the 5950 to 475/950.

sandeep
11-06-03, 09:19 PM
Hey thanks OWA....you answered my question spot on...thanks bkswaney for your input..really appreciate it..gives me some indication..

Well looks like the leadtek have some grunt in it...In the large jumps which I did, I got a 550/1000 very stable..and my Aquamark score was 1039 higher than the 500/1000 which brought me to 42 776. And the next setting whci I tried was 576/1000 at which the card had a bit of lines...so I suppose I could get slightly above 550/1000 but less than 576/1000 to be stable .

Cheers...

N.B so those guys who have got 600+ must have increased their voltages huh? I am a novice and thought to overclock at once. This was my first overclock.

I am loving every bit of this FX5900 ULTRA..its a beauty.

MUYA
11-07-03, 12:38 AM
Bab re bab Sandeep, did you o/c with stock Leadtek Cooling - The boombox one? U r getting way better results then some reviewers did when they reviewed the exact same card, or did u have your puter inside a freezer or sumat??

At any rate, you have nearly a 5950ULtra on your hands or more :D

Hefty overclocking man....but be careful though ;)


MUYA

sandeep
11-07-03, 01:58 AM
Originally posted by MUYA
Bab re bab Sandeep, did you o/c with stock Leadtek Cooling - The boombox one? U r getting way better results then some reviewers did when they reviewed the exact same card, or did u have you puter inside a freezer or sumat??

At any rate, you have nearly a 5950ULtra on your hands or more :D

Hefty overclocking man....but be careful though ;)


MUYA

Well I am certainly using stock coolers that came with Leadtek.....the fans are twin turbo coolers...thats what it says and in my situation I have a thermaltake CASE with all my fan knobs out on max when I was doing the o'clocking.

I wanted to get above 600/1000 mark which resulted in blank screen. But eventually got stuck at 576/1000. I didn't play with the memory at all after the jump from 850 to 1000...I suppose I could have got some numbers there too.

I think tweaking with the Voltage seems a bit of an expert art which appparently is beyond my capability but hey, atleast I have done an OVERCLOCK!!

My system has a 550 true power so its really tempting to do some voltage manupilations but then again need to read and if guys here continue giving me some insites, I 'd definitely learn few more tricks.

I am really anxious if someone there who has a Leadtek with stock cooler has o'clocked, would like to compare the maximum attained.

Cheers

P.S MUYA sat sri akaal menu puter changa.

MUYA
11-07-03, 02:15 AM
Originally posted by sandeep
Well I am certainly using stock coolers that came with Leadtek.....the fans are twin turbo coolers...thats what it says and in my situation I have a thermaltake CASE with all my fan knobs out on max when I was doing the o'clocking.

I wanted to get above 600/1000 mark which resulted in blank screen. But eventually got stuck at 576/1000. I didn't play with the memory at all after the jump from 850 to 1000...I suppose I could have got some numbers there too.

I think tweaking with the Voltage seems a bit of an expert art which appparently is beyond my capability but hey, atleast I have done an OVERCLOCK!!

My system has a 550 true power so its really tempting to do some voltage manupilations but then again need to read and if guys here continue giving me some insites, I 'd definitely learn few more tricks.

I am really anxious if someone there who has a Leadtek with stock cooler has o'clocked, would like to compare the maximum attained.

Cheers

P.S MUYA sat sri akaal menu puter changa.

Sat Sri Akaal
TututututuTuuthiya!
Teri Computer ki bach ke ray. Well thats not exactly good punjabi but anyways. Heheh yeah man, my best friend's a British Punjabi too.
:)

Nice o/c by any standards, probably one of the highest I have heard of. Leadtek have claimed they that they designed that boombox HSF in a windtunnel so I guess it maybe a reason why you have been able to reach so high with a 5900 gpu. Its efficient cooling! There maybe be guides out there that will tell you how to mod your card to tweak GPU/Memory voltage more...I saw a few a few weeks back, but have completely forgotten where it was. maybe madshrimps? I forgot ..have a search around youi might be able to find it.


MUYA

stefan435
11-07-03, 03:00 PM
I have the Leadtek A350 Gefrorce FX5900 Ultra 256MB and the highest I get is 520/970.

bkswaney
11-07-03, 04:05 PM
Originally posted by stefan435
I have the Leadtek A350 Gefrorce FX5900 Ultra 256MB and the highest I get is 520/970.

My Asus will get 515 to 520 core and 980 memory max.
I run it at 500 core/ 960 memory all the time.

As a rule I go up to max and then back off 20. :)

The Punisher
11-07-03, 11:34 PM
Originally posted by sandeep I am loving every bit of this FX5900 ULTRA..its a beauty......


...... I am really anxious if someone there who has a Leadtek with stock cooler has o'clocked, would like to compare the maximum attained.


Dude, have u forgotten me so fast? Hmmm? :) Almost as fast as your overclock. OC auto detection clocked me at 490/932 but I'm running my A350 at 500/950. Haven't really pushed it further though.

sandeep
11-08-03, 01:19 PM
Originally posted by The Punisher
Dude, have u forgotten me so fast? Hmmm? :) Almost as fast as your overclock. OC auto detection clocked me at 490/932 but I'm running my A350 at 500/950. Haven't really pushed it further though.

Hey there man, yes yes I certainly remember you with a Leadtek so I asked for people with Leadtek to post again. Can you do me a favour..just push your card to 576/1000 and see if it works.. It works for me but I get occasional lines...however it runs smooth as a roller blade on an ice surface with 550/1000. I haven't tested anything in between 550/1000 -576/1000.

So you could easily clock your card to 550/1000 and go smooth. I have Leadtek like you.


Cheers.
P.S Let me know. I am just wondering if my thermaltake housing which has 7 fans is helping me out and perhaps my Antec true power 550Watts is giving the extra juice it needed. Maybe a combination of both. So trying clocking it to 550/1000 atleast and let me know. I will anticipate for that.

Thanks dude.

sandeep
11-09-03, 07:31 AM
AquaMark Score: 42821 (CPU: 6309, GFX: 6540) FPS: 42.82 TPS: 12890K


Your Measurement

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2500+ CR: 1819 MHz SRAM: 1024 MB OS: Microsoft Windows XP

GFX: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 Ultra CM:552 / 1002 MHz VRAM: 256 MB

DRIVER: 6.14.10.5216
RES: 1024x768 x 32bit AA: Off AF: 4x DETAILS: Very High
INFO: Sandeep, 2003-11-09, "Benchmark 2003-11-09 22-39-00

Kl79uk
11-09-03, 05:03 PM
Sandeep

your overclocking makes good reading! I'm about to atempt to overclock my Creative labs 5900U With stock HSF (Which is basically the refernce HSF)

Now when you overclocked your card and checked the highest temp I'm assuming that you had the tempscreen up from the driver?

So far I've gone up to the late 400's core and shy end of 900's mem and I've gone upto 64-67 while benching UT2K3 and Idle about 41. I'm going to do more testing and see what I can get up to.

Anyone who's overclocked a Clabs 5900U I would like to here on their temps! I know there was a review done on the card (which was a classic) and read the specs on O/C.

Just wish I had the cash for spare bits! :)

The Punisher
11-09-03, 10:59 PM
Originally posted by sandeep
......just push your card to 576/1000 and see if it works.. It works for me but I get occasional lines...however it runs smooth as a roller blade on an ice surface with 550/1000. I haven't tested anything in between 550/1000 -576/1000.

So you could easily clock your card to 550/1000 and go smooth. I have Leadtek like you.


Cheers.
P.S Let me know. I am just wondering if my thermaltake housing which has 7 fans is helping me out and perhaps my Antec true power 550Watts is giving the extra juice it needed. Maybe a combination of both. So trying clocking it to 550/1000 atleast and let me know. I will anticipate for that.

Thanks dude.


Most probably I won't be able to clock that high due to my 420w power limit. My highest temp reading so far is 46 after 4 hours of Max Payne 2 at 1024x768x32 @ max details & idles at around 42.

By the way, r u running AquaMark 3 freeware or full version. If u're running the full version then pls gimme the serial if u've got it.

threedaysdwn
01-25-04, 05:32 PM
My PNY 5900U is running great right now at 520/985. If I raise it any higher it says it failed the test and won't let me do it.

I'd never encountered that before... I'm not sure if it's an artificial limit or if it just can't go any higher.

I wonder if I should try not using the NV control panel to overclock it...