PDA

View Full Version : Silent Hill 3 on 5900 Ultra/5950 Ultra


AnteP
11-09-03, 07:47 PM
Has anyone tried this title at 1280x1024 with 2048x2048 "rendering" and 8x AF?
If so is it playable (or rather enjoyable 25+ fps) at those settings?

It isn't on a 9800 Pro 128 MBs so I was wondering if a 5950 Ultra might do the trick.

bkswaney
11-10-03, 03:17 AM
I played the demo at 1024 with 4xAA and 8xAF and it was smooth as a babies butt.
Not sure at the higher res tho.

Dazz
11-10-03, 05:13 AM
Chances are it's the texture rez, 2MB x 2MB fills up the memory very quickly more so when FSAA & AF is enabled.

Morrow
11-10-03, 05:14 AM
runs perfectly smooth here with 1280x1024 with full details (2048x2048) and 8xAF on a 5900 Ultra.

tEd
11-10-03, 07:25 AM
a friend of mine with a 5900 ultra has said that it is too slow with 2048*2048 for him (52.16).

i don't know , the best thing you can do is to try it out yourself. it may be smooth for some too choppy for others

AnteP
11-10-03, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by bkswaney
I played the demo at 1024 with 4xAA and 8xAF and it was smooth as a babies butt.
Not sure at the higher res tho.

aa doesn't work properly in SH3 :)

bkswaney
11-10-03, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by AnteP
aa doesn't work properly in SH3 :)


I did not know that.
I wonder why?

There r way to many new games not working right with AA.

ChrisRay
11-10-03, 04:00 PM
Originally posted by bkswaney
I did not know that.
I wonder why?

There r way to many new games not working right with AA.

No Kidding... :mad:

Skinner
11-10-03, 05:11 PM
2048x2048 K textures never looked so worse, I don't know what they did but I can asure using such big textures had to look much better (Remember Unreal S3 Egypt levels, allright low polys but almost photorealistic textures)

AnteP
11-10-03, 05:22 PM
Originally posted by Skinner
2048x2048 K textures never looked so worse, I don't know what they did but I can asure using such big textures had to look much better (Remember Unreal S3 Egypt levels, allright low polys but almost photorealistic textures)

it's not the textures per se
they render the scene to a texture when doing some of the full screen effects

the textures themselves don't change AFAIK