PDA

View Full Version : Gamespy Vid Card Shootout


emailthatguy
11-09-03, 09:06 PM
you can find it here.....

http://www.gamespy.com/hardware/november03/videoholidays/

why do these numbers look funny to me?


also, umm..... what hyperthreading compatible motherboard uses rdram?


/me confused

sonyman
11-09-03, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by emailthatguy
also, umm..... what hyperthreading compatible motherboard uses rdram?
Umm...any motherboard with an Intel 850E chipset.

Scott

emailthatguy
11-09-03, 09:19 PM
heh i dont know the intel stuff very well. been an amd guy since the k5. thats bout to change tho. thanks =p

GlowStick
11-09-03, 09:44 PM
heh, i hate to be a smartass but, any old Xeon board has HT + rdram : \ i mean old old.

John Reynolds
11-09-03, 10:25 PM
My ASUS P4T553-C mobo is based on the 850E chipset. I just ordered a P4 3.06 as an early B-day present and I've already got 1GB of 1066 RDRAM sitting in it, so I should be good to go for Doom 3 and Half-life 2 next year.

ClyssaN
11-09-03, 10:55 PM
Originally posted by John Reynolds
My ASUS P4T553-C mobo is based on the 850E chipset. I just ordered a P4 3.06 as an early B-day present and I've already got 1GB of 1066 RDRAM sitting in it, so I should be good to go for Doom 3 and Half-life 2 next year.

grrr :mad:



:)

cthellis
11-10-03, 01:14 AM
Originally posted by emailthatguy
heh i dont know the intel stuff very well. been an amd guy since the k5. thats bout to change tho. thanks =p

<blinks> Ok, I could see the reason why one would move to Intel over the past number of months, but why would you switch NOW?

emailthatguy
11-10-03, 01:21 AM
just kinda tired of something ALWAYS being wrong on the motherboard. It's been problem after problem w/ amd since the geforce 256 came out. Yeah i know its going to "the man" but ive always been jealous of all the intel guys having nothing but stability (not counting that whole i740 fiasco).

after all these years, at this point, i dont wanna overclock, i dont wanna tweak, i just want my stuff to work.

maybe im getting old :cry:

bkswaney
11-10-03, 03:29 AM
Originally posted by John Reynolds
My ASUS P4T553-C mobo is based on the 850E chipset. I just ordered a P4 3.06 as an early B-day present and I've already got 1GB of 1066 RDRAM sitting in it, so I should be good to go for Doom 3 and Half-life 2 next year.

Yep... if u don't need the extra memory bandwidth the 875 has then the older 850e is a wonderful stable mobo for sure.

MY old 850 rig I had was stable as a rock.

My new 875P is to. Even with a cpu overclocked by 850mhz. :)