PDA

View Full Version : ForceWare 52.70 Feedback Thread


Pages : [1] 2 3

chris454
11-12-03, 12:38 PM
http://www.guru3d.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=69744

can download here
http://download.guru3d.com/pafiledb.php?action=file&id=701
chris454

thor1182
11-12-03, 01:53 PM
I ran the install for the 52.70 and it went fine. I uninstalled the old drivers, than ran Det RIP. After which the NVinstaller had no problem.

My System:
Alienware Area 51m
3.2 P4c
1GB DDR333
Win XP
NV 5600Go FX

I haven't played any games yet, but normal windows stuff is working ok. Now to play alittle to see what happens.

DSC
11-12-03, 01:58 PM
Can any FX card users confirm whether or not the image sharpening bug that happens when you access the control panel is fixed or not? This only happens on FX series of cards. :rolleyes: :confused:

thor1182
11-12-03, 02:08 PM
AQM3 results with 52.70:

FPS: 10.94
GFX score: 1,221
CPU : 5,281
total: 10,941

My systemstats again are:

Alienware Area 51m
3.2 P4c
1GB DDR333
Win XP
NV 5600Go FX 128MB

digitalwanderer
11-12-03, 02:10 PM
The $64,000 question has got to be what do they score on the new 3.40 build of 3dm2k3?!? :eek2:

DSC
11-12-03, 02:13 PM
They were compiled on the 24th of October, so probably about the same as 52.16 since patch 340 came out later to defeat the so called "optimizations" and application detection. 52.70 probably cannot detect patch 340 since it came out later..

digitalwanderer
11-12-03, 02:18 PM
Originally posted by DSC
They were compiled on the 24th of October, so probably about the same as 52.16 since patch 340 came out later to defeat the so called "optimizations" and application detection. 52.70 probably cannot detect patch 340 since it came out later..
I saw that too, but how long was FM's 3.33 beta patch floating around before they renamed it 3.40 and put it out as official? And d'you think nVidia might have been able to score an advanced copy?

I dunno.

digitalwanderer
11-12-03, 02:24 PM
Originally posted by OWA
Added this question since DW brought up the beta. If nvidia is part of the beta program now shouldn't they have known that their scores were going to drop with the 340 patch or been able to test their drivers with the patch that was finally released or does Futuremark not brief the members on things of that nature?
Damned good question! Also, I wonder how long nVidia's known that the axe was going to fall on yesterday...how much leadtime did their PR machine get? (Hopefully Dave or John will be kind enough to notice/answer this one. ;) )

ChrisRay
11-12-03, 02:30 PM
Downloading them now. But I wont install 3dmark03, (Sorry Fellaz, Havent the time nor the desire to mess with the software)

Deputy Doofy
11-12-03, 02:40 PM
Downloading now....... :afro:

ChrisRay
11-12-03, 02:46 PM
I havent noticed anything different about these drivers, Honestly. They seem exactly the same to me heh

skypx
11-12-03, 02:52 PM
Originally posted by ChrisRay
I havent noticed anything different about these drivers, Honestly. They seem exactly the same to me heh

What about the overclocking bug. Is it still there? Thanks.

RAY16
11-12-03, 02:55 PM
Can somebody test these with a PunkBuster game like SOF2 or Wolf: ET? I don't want to waste my time downloading these just to find out that bug is still there.

Justin21
11-12-03, 02:55 PM
dig always the eternal skeptic :p

ChrisRay
11-12-03, 03:02 PM
Originally posted by skypx
What about the overclocking bug. Is it still there? Thanks.

Which Overclocking bug?

skypx
11-12-03, 03:05 PM
Originally posted by ChrisRay
Which Overclocking bug?

On overclocked FX cards the memory would go back to the default setting after 3 - 4 windows restarts.

wimbet
11-12-03, 03:06 PM
Is anyone going to test these with the new 3dmark patch? Or does someone have a link to somewhere that does?

thor1182
11-12-03, 03:27 PM
I got into a wolf ET game fine with 52.70, I'll check again to make sure it was a punkbuster game.

Deputy Doofy
11-12-03, 03:28 PM
Installed them got 10,000 mark boost on 3dmark woohoo...... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: not really :( i had to start computer up on safe mode and uninstall these bug ridden piece of **** driver's :p would not get past windows loadup screen..... sigh.

thor1182
11-12-03, 03:31 PM
I didn't have a problem with ET and punk buster, I moved around for awhile and played till I died (didn't take too long). The leve was rail gun.

emotionstation
11-12-03, 03:38 PM
Originally posted by Deputy Doofy
Installed them got 10,000 mark boost on 3dmark woohoo...... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: not really :( i had to start computer up on safe mode and uninstall these bug ridden piece of **** driver's :p would not get past windows loadup screen..... sigh.

That's a common problem with a lot of detonator drivers. It has nothing to do with the actual drivers you just installed, but rather the method of installing them.

With detonator driver upgrades, you should ALWAYS:

Go to Add/Remove Programs
Remove the previous set of drivers
Reboot
Install new drivers
Reboot


I've found that simply over-writing the old drivers can prevent the system from getting past the "Applying Settings" window, after you've logged on.

The Baron
11-12-03, 03:40 PM
re: previous post.

and most people run DriverCleaner and a lot of people manually remove registry remnants as well. If the drivers don't work for someone, don't assume it's because they installed it wrong.

Nutty
11-12-03, 03:42 PM
I've found that simply over-writing the old drivers can prevent the system from getting past the "Applying Settings" window, after you've logged on.

You're supposed to disable anti-virus software when you install them too, as these can sometimes prevent the installer copying the files into the right place. I turn Norton anti virus off, and just install over the top. I did a driver clean bout a month ago.. no problems here soo far.

digitalwanderer
11-12-03, 03:45 PM
Originally posted by Justin21
dig always the eternal skeptic :p
No, I just don't trust nVidia very much lately. ;)

emotionstation
11-12-03, 04:14 PM
Originally posted by The Baron
re: previous post.

and most people run DriverCleaner and a lot of people manually remove registry remnants as well. If the drivers don't work for someone, don't assume it's because they installed it wrong.

I've never used a Driver Cleaning program, nor have I ever used a program to remove Nvidia remnants from my Registry, and I've also never disabled NAV during an install. The only time that I've ever had the problem he's describing, was when I simply forgot to remove the drivers from Add/Remove programs.

And I wasn't assuming anything. I was basing my previous experience on what his problem was, as it bore a resemblance to the problems I've had in the past.

:rolleyes: