PDA

View Full Version : Opteron Designations


sxotty
11-12-03, 01:20 PM
Ok I am confused by opteron's naming scheme check it out
desig | Ghz | Price | ratio
246 | 2.0 | 709 | 2.82
244 | 1.8 | 399 | 4.51
242 | 1.6 | 297 | 5.39
240 | 1.4 | 192 | 7.29
146 | 2.0 | 599 | 3.33
144 | 1.8 | 270 | 6.67
142 | 1.6 | 221 | 7.24
140 | 1.4 | 181 | 7.73

So is the 2## mean multiprocessor capable? And the 1## mean exact same as 2## except only single processor capable?

In any case I think they did a poor job of the designations and should have used something more descriptive. I realize they did not want to use Mhz/Ghz b/c people would compare to intel, but no one is going to be buying many of them anyway who is to clueless to realize that Mhz/Ghz values are of less importance than actual performance.

MUYA
11-12-03, 01:42 PM
Originally posted by sxotty


So is the 2## mean multiprocessor capable? And the 1## mean exact same as 2## except only single processor capable?


You are right dude 1XX denotes Uniprocessor Capable only, 2XX denotes 2 way capable...4XX denotes 4 way capable etc etc etc and 8XX, you guessed it 8 way capable.

Cheers

MUYA

-=DVS=-
11-12-03, 03:06 PM
Originally posted by sxotty
Ok I am confused by opteron's naming scheme check it out
desig | Ghz | Price | ratio
246 | 2.0 | 709 | 2.82
244 | 1.8 | 399 | 4.51
242 | 1.6 | 297 | 5.39
240 | 1.4 | 192 | 7.29
146 | 2.0 | 599 | 3.33
144 | 1.8 | 270 | 6.67
142 | 1.6 | 221 | 7.24
140 | 1.4 | 181 | 7.73

So is the 2## mean multiprocessor capable? And the 1## mean exact same as 2## except only single processor capable?

In any case I think they did a poor job of the designations and should have used something more descriptive. I realize they did not want to use Mhz/Ghz b/c people would compare to intel, but no one is going to be buying many of them anyway who is to clueless to realize that Mhz/Ghz values are of less importance than actual performance.

AMD codeing is realy simple !

Actually 140 - ignore first number its as MUYA said first digit is server capability,last two numbers designate megahertz #40 is
#4+0 = 1.4ghz (1ghz is default now 4 + 0 is 4 , 1.4ghz :cool: )
#4+2 = 1.6ghz (4+2 = 6 ect ect... )
#4+4 = 1.8ghz
#4+6 = 2.0ghz (4+6=10 or 1.0 you already got 1 gzh , 1+1 ,makeing it 2gz)
Future models would be
148 = 2.2ghz
150 = 2.4ghz
152 = 2.6gzh
154 = 2.8ghz
156 = 3.0ghz ( can't wait for this baby :drooling: )

Very simple nameing scheme if you ask me
Cheers :angel2:

Dazz
11-12-03, 03:38 PM
Sure simple if you can count :p

sxotty
11-13-03, 07:26 AM
Originally posted by Dazz
Sure simple if you can count :p

That must have been my problem :)

I still think the naming designation leaves something to be desired, and yes I also had figured out that the 2nd two digits add up to give you the ghz above 1, but that is just silly (IMO of course) because how is the regular joe supposed to know this.

What really needs to happen though is for a 248, and 148 to be released so that the 246/146 fall from their ridiculously high price range.

Viral
11-14-03, 12:56 AM
People who buy opterons should be researching anyway.. they should know what speed each model runs at, and how many HT links are enabled in each.

The name is short, only two numbers, that is it. The only way i could see it being easier is if the 2nd two numbers were the ghz. As in 114,116,118,120(instead of 140,142,144,146) so each has the SMP capabilities of the processor, then the speed in whole ghz, then the additional speed in hundreds of mhz. I do suppose this would have made the number a little more useful.. but, none the less, i still say for people buying opterons, it shouldnt be hard to get the hang of it.