PDA

View Full Version : LockOn


bkswaney
11-16-03, 05:23 AM
Anyone playing Lockon demo on a 5900U?

Man with 4xAA and 4xAF the performance is BAD. :(
Even with no AA/AF its bad.

I sure hope NV hand tunes it for us.

It's a badass sim tho. I bet it plays sweet on a 9800XT.

Line01
11-16-03, 02:49 PM
I hope they fix it to lot people with ATI are having problems with the demo to. It played like crap on my 9500 which had the 8 pipelines opened with driver mods so its the demo. I have not tried it yet on my FX 5900 because I deleted from my hard drive after getting to low of frame rates with the 9500. So gotta try it again.

The lockon boards with the beta their claiming FPS improvements over the demo I hope so because I orderd the full game with IL2 FB from amazon for xmas for 49.99 as a bundle.:)

Sabadin
11-16-03, 03:54 PM
If you turn off the advanced water effects she purs like a kitten. I run it around 25-30 fps with everything but water maxed at 1024x768 4xAA8xAF with an XP1700, 512MB PC2100, and a stock 9500 Pro@275/270. Can't wait to try the final version in a few days :D

Line01
11-16-03, 09:28 PM
Guys try it at 1600 x1200 refresh rate 70. Turn off refelction in ****pit set ring to meduim water to meduim. Turn of haze and shadows. Try it smooth 40/60 FPS with a little less FPS low when something explodes. And it still
looks great. AA at 1600x1200 is over kill most of the time. Turn it off also.

I retried it on the FX 5900 beats my 9500 to death.:D So im happy.

Sotos
11-18-03, 04:13 AM
Originally posted by bkswaney
Anyone playing Lockon demo on a 5900U?

Man with 4xAA and 4xAF the performance is BAD. :(
Even with no AA/AF its bad.

I sure hope NV hand tunes it for us.

It's a badass sim tho. I bet it plays sweet on a 9800XT.

It plays Ok with my Radeon 9800pro :)
Not any particular performance problem
It has a very little "log" in performance but not any big problem (but maybe it's my P4 3.0GHZ that gives me that advantage)

I told you to stay with your Radeon card but you didn't listen

Line01
11-18-03, 03:57 PM
I did try it with everything on MAX. It played at 11 FPS:eek: at 1600/1200
so unplayble MAXED on my system but I have a little 1700xp @ 1612 or close to 2000xp. It does play well att 1600x1200 with things on meduim
and scene high.

Sabadin
11-18-03, 07:38 PM
Ya, like most brand new sims, this thing on max settings crushes almost any rig out there lol.

Riptide
11-18-03, 09:24 PM
OWA, I agree with your sentiments there. There is plenty of room left for more speed. :)