PDA

View Full Version : 2500 Barton Core & K7N2-L mobo


Rob_0126
11-23-03, 11:27 AM
I currently have a Athlon 1700 in my K7N2-L board.

Has thier been any problems with putting a 2500 barton in my board?

Any pros/cons?

Any other relevant info would be appreciated.

Robert

Dazz
11-23-03, 11:57 AM
Is it the K7N2-L or K7N2-DELTA-L?

K7N2 = (166)333FSB
K7N2-Delta = (200)400FSB

Also the board automaticly unlocks your processor.... so long as it's week 38 or less.

digitalwanderer
11-23-03, 12:09 PM
If you're talking the straight K7N2-L than I can safely say it's a nice combo. I can't really get my FSB over 175Mhz, (I think it's my southbridge holding me back), but she been running great at 12x175Mhz (2.1Ghz) for many moons now without any problem. (On the stock cooling no less. :) )

Did you update your bios in the last couple of weeks? MSI put out a new once with better NSU (nVidia system utility) support not very long ago and I finally have stable CPU temp readings as well as no more boot problems. :D

If I were going to be buying a new mobo for a 2500+ I wouldn't get the K7N2-L, but if I had a K7N2-L with a 1700 in it I'd definately be getting me a 2500+ for it. :)

Rob_0126
11-23-03, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
If you're talking the straight K7N2-L than I can safely say it's a nice combo. I can't really get my FSB over 175Mhz, (I think it's my southbridge holding me back), but she been running great at 12x175Mhz (2.1Ghz) for many moons now without any problem. (On the stock cooling no less. :) )

Did you update your bios in the last couple of weeks? MSI put out a new once with better NSU (nVidia system utility) support not very long ago and I finally have stable CPU temp readings as well as no more boot problems. :D

If I were going to be buying a new mobo for a 2500+ I wouldn't get the K7N2-L, but if I had a K7N2-L with a 1700 in it I'd definately be getting me a 2500+ for it. :)

the L; 333mhz

better nsu? hmph, guess immah go looking.

Well, my temps are:

39c Cpu
30-36c Sys

The 5000 rpm fan mod to my PS helped much. :D

Robert

Dazz
11-23-03, 04:37 PM
If you are using a Tbred XP1700+ then i wouldn;t bother, the TB 1700+ are excellent overclockers.

Rob_0126
11-23-03, 05:27 PM
Originally posted by Dazz
If you are using a Tbred XP1700+ then i wouldn;t bother, the TB 1700+ are excellent overclockers.

Tell yah the truth, Ive been thinking about it.

Stock, it runs at 1.47ghz.

How much more is safe, for this chip?

I have 2100 ddr Elixir ram btw.

Robert

Gator
11-24-03, 07:42 AM
Originally posted by Rob_0126
...I have 2100 ddr Elixir ram btw...

that could be a problem... although your CPU may be able to overclock provided it's a TBred and not a Palomino version, your memory would likely prevent you form overclocking. And if you do want a Barton2500, you'll likely have to purchase faster memory too :(

to find out what version of the AthlonXP1700 you have, use Cpu-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php)

Rob_0126
11-24-03, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by Gator
that could be a problem... although your CPU may be able to overclock provided it's a TBred and not a Palomino version, your memory would likely prevent you form overclocking. And if you do want a Barton2500, you'll likely have to purchase faster memory too :(

to find out what version of the AthlonXP1700 you have, use Cpu-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php)

I figured as much :rolleyes:

I know I have the tbred, because I specifically asked for it, going from a palamino 1500, to the 1700 :D

Robert

ragejg
11-24-03, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by Rob_0126
Tell yah the truth, Ive been thinking about it.

Stock, it runs at 1.47ghz.

How much more is safe, for this chip?

I have 2100 ddr Elixir ram btw.

Robert

In my kt266a, I have a 1700+ running @ 166fsb, 1.91ghz with samsung tcb0 PC2100... pretty decent.. This is with a JIUCB core...

My friend goofjb's 1700+ JIUHB in his Soltek nforce2 runs @ 200fsb, 2.2ghz... with samsung tcb3 pc2700...

So yeah, they OC great...

Elixir PC2100 is t3h d3v1L!!! I had some... screwed up 3 systems on me... Get some ram that's a little friendlier to OC'ing an you'll be all set...

:)

Rob_0126
11-24-03, 08:35 PM
Originally posted by ragejg
In my kt266a, I have a 1700+ running @ 166fsb, 1.91ghz with samsung tcb0 PC2100... pretty decent.. This is with a JIUCB core...

My friend goofjb's 1700+ JIUHB in his Soltek nforce2 runs @ 200fsb, 2.2ghz... with samsung tcb3 pc2700...

So yeah, they OC great...

Elixir PC2100 is t3h d3v1L!!! I had some... screwed up 3 systems on me... Get some ram that's a little friendlier to OC'ing an you'll be all set...

:)

So, your saying, dont overclock with this ram huh. :)

How bout not overclocking, how is this memory?

Should I just pull the 2-256 sticks out, break them, and buy a couple new ones?

Robert

ragejg
11-24-03, 09:01 PM
Yup, sell em here or @ [h]ardforums... They're IMO worth $25 a piece... then you could do several things...

2 PC2400 Micron 128mb sticks (should do 166 just fine), which could be found for like $29 a piece from DV Century...

2 PC2700 128mb sticks... I can't find any on the net right now though...

Look, everyone will tell you "gotta have 512mb of RAM nowadays" ... heh, 256 is ok (heck, more than ok actually) if you can run it dual channel... :firedevil

So I'm telling you that if you are cash strapped...

If not, get some nice ram... for good specifics, go to the MSI section @ www.amdforums.com ... look at the threads and I'm sure you'll find plenty of discussion about what brands of ram OC great with that mobo...

:) Good Luck :)

Rob_0126
11-24-03, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by ragejg
Yup, sell em here or @ [h]ardforums... They're IMO worth $25 a piece... then you could do several things...

2 PC2400 Micron 128mb sticks (should do 166 just fine), which could be found for like $29 a piece from DV Century...

2 PC2700 128mb sticks... I can't find any on the net right now though...

Look, everyone will tell you "gotta have 512mb of RAM nowadays" ... heh, 256 is ok (heck, more than ok actually) if you can run it dual channel... :firedevil

So I'm telling you that if you are cash strapped...

If not, get some nice ram... for good specifics, go to the MSI section @ www.amdforums.com ... look at the threads and I'm sure you'll find plenty of discussion about what brands of ram OC great with that mobo...

:) Good Luck :)

Im not strapped ;) , it's just, should I spend money on something that aint broke (yet).

THe ram has been fine since the old nforce board.

I got 2 256 sticks.

I do like having stability though :)

Robert

ragejg
11-24-03, 09:22 PM
yes, but you do know that nforce2 mobos are SUPPOSED TO be run @ 200fsb for the full user experience, right:angel: :firedevil ? I hope to god that you're not running @ 133... please oh please god no... :p:p

j/k Rob... I said the above cuz I really really feel that an OC'ed nforce2 is SO worth the money, but running one @ stock fsb is an excersize in suffocation...

So let it breathe!! :p It's like you slapped a soggy Carter AFB on a freshly tuned 327!!

:)

Rob_0126
11-24-03, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by ragejg

......So let it breathe!! :p It's like you slapped a soggy Carter AFB on a freshly tuned 327!!

:)

Did you say, Quadraflood? :POKE:

Yeh, it's a 333 fsb mobo, and Im running 266 :rolleyes:

Ive heard, this mobo can handle 400 without problems, but I wont push it.

Well, one day, I might spring for some decent memory.

Would you say micron is good?

Robert

ragejg
11-24-03, 10:15 PM
Micron's decent memory, but I only mentioned it because it's the only other choice for 128mb PC2400 sticks right now...

Nforce2's like GOOD samsung... and plenty of other brands as well, but I'm completely sticking with samsung for the time being... too many other brands/latencies/price ranges... Although the stepping I like is real hard to find now... heck, that tcb3 stuff is actually used in OCZ Gold PC3700... that's how good those tcb3 chips are... http://www.lostcircuits.com/memory/ocz3700/4.shtml
http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.html?i=1843

:)

ragejg
11-24-03, 10:26 PM
Wow, I just found a very hot deal on tcb3 ram... http://stores.ebay.com/speedymemory ...on ebay of all places... :rolleyes: :p

Rob_0126
11-25-03, 10:15 AM
How's Kingston ram?

Robert