PDA

View Full Version : Does nVidia TI4200 support 1280x1024 24bit?


RFID
11-27-03, 08:09 AM
thans

ribx
11-27-03, 08:35 AM
your card will support that resolution. but if this doesnt work, i think your display is responsible.

this card will support every solution which is also supported by your display

Edge
11-27-03, 09:12 AM
I was under the impression that Nvidia cards don't have 24-bit color (only 8, 16, and 32). However a TI4200 supports up to around 2400x1800 resolution, so it will at the very least be able to do 1280x1024 (which I have run mine at several times).

gstanford
11-27-03, 05:09 PM
Why do you want to run 1280 x 1024 specifically anyway?

It's not a 4:3 aspect correct ratio resolution (aspect correct resolutions have vertically rectangular pixels, 1280 x 1024 has square pixels, unless you have a CRT that does not use a 4:3 ratio the picture will not display correctly).

The proper resolution to use is 1280 x 960.

saturnotaku
11-27-03, 06:37 PM
Originally posted by gstanford
Why do you want to run 1280 x 1024 specifically anyway?

It's not a 4:3 aspect correct ratio resolution (aspect correct resolutions have vertically rectangular pixels, 1280 x 1024 has square pixels, unless you have a CRT that does not use a 4:3 ratio the picture will not display correctly).

The proper resolution to use is 1280 x 960.

Maybe he has an LCD and that's its native resolution.

RFID
11-29-03, 07:01 AM
thanks guys.

yes, I want to buy a LCD with native resolution of 1280x1024 17inch.

But my software can only run on 24bit color depth.

so I want to know whether Ti4200 supports that mode.

gstanford
11-29-03, 07:11 AM
But my software can only run on 24bit color depth.

so I want to know whether Ti4200 supports that mode

What software?

nVidia supports, 8 bit, 16 bit and 32 bit color depths for the desktop.

the 32 bit color depth is merely 24 bit with an alpha channel tacked on and should be totally compatible unless your software is attempting to directly program the VGA registers or something similar.

saturnotaku
11-29-03, 07:33 AM
The only way you're going to get a specific 24-bit mode through device manager is if you run Windows 9x (and possibly Linux, though you'd have to ask in those forums to be sure). XP and 2000 only show 16- and 32-bit color. But like gstandford said, if you run in 32-bit you should be fine regardless of what applications you run.

Chalnoth
11-29-03, 10:57 AM
Originally posted by saturnotaku
The only way you're going to get a specific 24-bit mode through device manager is if you run Windows 9x (and possibly Linux, though you'd have to ask in those forums to be sure). XP and 2000 only show 16- and 32-bit color. But like gstandford said, if you run in 32-bit you should be fine regardless of what applications you run.
Yes, Linux typically supports only 24-bit color. But, I think it's mostly a semantic issue. I don't think any hardware has actually supported, in hardware, 24-bit color for a large number of years.

The Baron
11-29-03, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by Chalnoth
Yes, Linux typically supports only 24-bit color. But, I think it's mostly a semantic issue. I don't think any hardware has actually supported, in hardware, 24-bit color for a large number of years.
yes, I believe that 24-bit color in X = 32-bit color in Windows for some odd reason.

RFID
11-29-03, 11:40 AM
I want to use Cadence IC5.0 for linux.

That's why I have to know if nVidia support 24bit or not.

I hope so

CaptNKILL
11-29-03, 11:59 AM
YES, IT DOES SUPPORT IT

You guys make things too complicated :p

Chalnoth
11-29-03, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by RFID
I want to use Cadence IC5.0 for linux.

That's why I have to know if nVidia support 24bit or not.

I hope so
Definitely.

In fact, nVidia's Linux drivers are far better (from my experience) than ATI's.

Drumphil
12-02-03, 05:27 AM
er, last time I checked 32bit color mode in windows was 24 bits of color information + an extra 8bits for an alpha channel (transparency).. So its still just 24 bit color really.. (damnit its COLOUR i tells ya.. damn american spelling from programming)

saturnotaku
12-02-03, 05:36 AM
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
YES, IT DOES SUPPORT IT

You guys make things too complicated :p

Well, if he would have come right out and said he was using Linux then we could have avoided it. But he didn't until just now. :p :afro:

RFID
12-14-03, 09:54 AM
At last, I bought GeForece FX5600 DDR 128M DVI Video,
because I can not found Ti4200 in that shop.

It support 1280x1024 24bit in RedHat8.0
with driver NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2.

But when I connect my philips 170B4BG to it,
170B4BG has problem in LCD panel.
dead pixels in large area occurres.
I am not sure whether it is because of 5600.

The image is nice except the dead area.
I will cotact philips to repare it.

Chalnoth
12-14-03, 03:03 PM
I didn't think it was possible for a video card to cause that problem. But, I would tend to think that if the area is exactly square, it is possible that it's the video card. If the area is irregular, then it is almost certainly the LCD.

RFID0
12-16-03, 07:52 PM
unfortunately, I can not post anything with my old ID: RFID.
I applied a newone: RFID0.

Here I attached the photo of my LCD monitor,

I am waiting the technician to repair it.

my poor philips 170B4BG

RFID0
12-16-03, 07:54 PM
I also capture this screen by windows itself.
it looks good.

I know now LCD does not work well.

RFID0
12-19-03, 01:18 AM
The technician came to my house.
he said the LCD panel of my monitor was demaged by myself.

The LCD panel is unstable. I even didn't know how I touched it.

a bad day for me