PDA

View Full Version : Leadtek WinFast A350 Ultra Help Please

StatiC
11-28-03, 12:59 PM
I've been visiting this great site for 2 years so I know where to come to get the best help with a 5900U card!

I bought a Leadtek WinFast A350 Ultra TDH MyVIVO based on the review from Firingsquad.com. Installation went smooth on my Asus P4C800-E Deluxe and I even gave the card a power line that had nothing else connected to it (Antec 430W PSU).

When I turned it on I was shocked to hear the fans run so loud. I installed ForceWare 52.70 (beta drivers but it solves the problem with DesertCombat) and the fans quieted down some but it still was loud. I sleep in the same room with my computer which is on 24/7 and I can't have it that loud.

I also found that sometimes the text on the screen is blury and I get a chirping sound from my card. I know I've read posts on that here before but I thought that was fixed with the new drivers.

I'm thinking of RMA'ing this Leadtek and getting Leadtek's 5950U card which they say produces "lower than 28dB" of noise.

Can anyone give me some thoughts or pointers on what I should do?

Thanks in advance everyone!!

Antec Performance PLUS 1080AMG w/ 430W
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe i875P
Intel P4 3.0GHz 800MHz FSB
Corsair XMS 1GB Twin Pack PC3200 DDR400
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 160GB SATA 7200RPM
Samsung SM352 DVD 16x + CD-RW 52x24x52 Combo w/ 8MB Buffer
Leadtek WinFast A350 Ultra TDH MyVIVO FX5900U
Samsung SyncMaster 17" 753DF

SH64
11-28-03, 04:42 PM
hmmm .. did you read the last artical about the Leadtek /MSI 5950s shootout ?

http://www.trustedreviews.com/article.aspx?art=162