PDA

View Full Version : Go Underground!


chigger_ns
12-02-03, 04:46 AM
YEAH!


Need For Speed Underground.....


Its not porsche unleashed but a differnt kind of racing game.
The graphics are really sexy.
Its worth the money to buy. When I bought it, I thought ....gee this seems like HP2 and it was , but the car physics are better, and its actually ....FUN.
I was only disoppointed with 2 things...

1. No in car dash board view.:mad:

2. No replay or replay controls:mad:


But its a great game. I give it a 8 outta 10


I was not impressed with hot pursuit 2 at all, But this game is alot better .....



comments!?!..............................

volt
12-02-03, 08:23 AM
Yep it's nice and addictive. However people tend to forget NFS is an arcade type game.

Pros:
-gameplay
-graphics
-sounds
-ability to customize your ride the way you like it
-DRAG races and DRIFT tournaments

Cons:
-no car damage
-too arcade-ish for my tastes
-soundtrack
-meaningless upgrade packages with known names slapped on them
-as with most recent EA games, ungodly stupid menu resolution
-one city to race on (other tracks are mirrored / modified)

And of course I can't get AA to work bleh.

digitalwanderer
12-02-03, 08:50 AM
Originally posted by volt
And of course I can't get AA to work bleh.
Turn off the funkadelic lighting effects and AA will work. ;)

volt
12-02-03, 08:53 AM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
Turn off the funkadelic lighting effects and AA will work. ;)

As I mentioned at B3D I have already done that before I turned them both on ;)

To reiterate, no go

Must be NVIDIA's funkadelic driver :cool:

volt
12-02-03, 08:54 AM
double post.

sytaylor
12-02-03, 09:02 AM
i liked the cover and so i made this in 10 mins of boredom.. opinions plx

yeah its kinda off topic, but i never liked the NFS series

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=240726

digitalwanderer
12-02-03, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by volt
As I mentioned at B3D I have already done that before I turned them both on ;)
We're not at B3D? :eek: (The Dig looks around quickly in confusion! )

To reiterate, no go

Must be NVIDIA's funkadelic driver :cool:
Weird, this is news to me. Which driver are you running?

volt
12-02-03, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by digitalwanderer
We're not at B3D? :eek: (The Dig looks around quickly in confusion! )


Weird, this is news to me. Which driver are you running?

B3D No, but I thought you read it :p

Using 53.03.

SH64
12-02-03, 11:41 AM
We've already mentioned that AA wont work with 1024x768 res . it should work with all other resulotions .

volt
12-02-03, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by SH64
We've already mentioned that AA wont work with 1024x768 res . it should work with all other resulotions .

Huh? It doesn't work with ANY resolution.

BTW, why wouldn't it work with 1024x768...

SH64
12-02-03, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by volt
Huh? It doesn't work with ANY resolution.

BTW, why wouldn't it work with 1024x768...

IT IS working for me at 1280x1024 ... but it wasnt working for 1024x768
most likely its a bug .
i'm using 5950u by the way.

volt
12-02-03, 12:02 PM
Okay, it just sounded like you know why it's broken.

OWA
12-02-03, 12:02 PM
I'm really enjoying this game and I usually don't like arcade racers very much. The lack of damage modeling is about the only thing that bothers me (heh, I wonder why they even bothered to show a broken windshield after totaling a car while drag racing or losing a license plate?).

I think AA is working for me if light trails and motion blur are off but I need to take a screencap to be sure. In one of the other threads a guy posted a screencap showing 6xAA and it was much nicer looking than the non-AA pic. When testing that just before Thanksgiving, I didn't notice such a big improvement (only using 4xAA) but I was in a hurry so I may have botched up the test.

I'm currently having problems with any of the 5x.xx nvidia drivers and this seems to be caused by the headlights. On my ATI card I use 1280x1024 4xAA / 8xAF and turn down the road reflection one notch (just b/c I don't like it so shiny). On the nvidia card, I use the same driver settings but turn off the headlights and leave the road reflection all the way up to counter the lack of headlights.

Anyway, it is addictive. I'll frequently say I'm just going to play one or two races and then several hours later, I'm still sitting there playing the game...saying just one more race. :)

OWA
12-02-03, 12:07 PM
Originally posted by volt
Huh? It doesn't work with ANY resolution.

BTW, why wouldn't it work with 1024x768...
Look in one of the other threads on the game. I think he posted a screencap in one of them that shows AA working at 1280x1024. It looks much much nicer. I didn't seem to notice that much of a difference but I want to re-test that in case I messed something up (didn't have it on when I thought I did or something of that nature).

volt
12-02-03, 12:46 PM
Here is a shot:
1280x1024_4AA_4AF

AF doesn't seem to be applied either.

http://www.nullnetwork.com/screenshots/NFSU/1280x1024_4AA_4AF.jpg

indio
12-02-03, 01:06 PM
4x AA 16x AF 1280x1024

AA works if you leave motion blur and light glow off (which is the default setting BTW). It doesn't work at 1024x768 no matter what you do though.

http://www.computerlayman.com/images/NFSU4.jpg

OWA
12-02-03, 01:51 PM
Is it light glow or light trails? I've been leaving off motion blur and light trails but didn't think I saw a very dramatic change when applying AA and AF. If it's light glow that needs to be off, that could explain why it. :)

SH64
12-02-03, 03:01 PM
1280x1024 , 6xAA 8xAF with Light trails & motion blur enabled .
http://server4.uploadit.org/files/021203-Speed 2003-12-02 23-54-25-41.jpg

SH64
12-02-03, 03:16 PM
1280x1024 ,6xAA 8xAF , No motion blur & light trails .


the idea behind the Motion blur & AA conflict is clear ... you cant have both blury picture & smooth edges at same time .

http://server4.uploadit.org/files/021203-Speed 2003-12-03 00-08-58-82.jpg

stncttr908
12-02-03, 03:21 PM
A visual feast this game is for sure, but it just can't hold my interest when I race the same track over and over again, literally dozens of times.

I feel an expansion coming. :rolleyes:

SH64
12-02-03, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by stncttr908
A visual feast this game is for sure, but it just can't hold my interest when I race the same track over and over again, literally dozens of times.


i have to agree with that . i'm racing the same circut for the 20th time now & it just keep repeating .

fivefeet8
12-02-03, 04:06 PM
I can get 4xFSAA and 4sxFSAA to enable fine in the game at 1024x768 res as long as I turn off blurs and light trails. Using the 53.03 Betas.

OWA
12-02-03, 05:13 PM
Originally posted by SH64
i have to agree with that . i'm racing the same circut for the 20th time now & it just keep repeating .
It was a little disappointing to find some of the other tracks were basically just different parts of the same map. I'd also prefer real cities and be able to go down any road kind of like Midnight Club II. I really don't like having the car reset when you accidentally miss the turn or whatever. Of course, after playing the same track over and over that doesn't happen much anymore but initially it was a little annoying. :)

Mullins1060
12-03-03, 02:01 AM
i played it but didnt like it too samey the tracks were boring, and tbh it was too arcady for my likeing