PDA

View Full Version : GF4TI - dual display questions

Gator
12-14-03, 05:59 PM
Yesterday I purchased a an NEC LCD1515 flat panel monitor to act as my secondary monitor. It works great, and I set the display properties to "extend my desktop to this monitor" but I have some questions, this is my first time with a dual display setup:

1) how come only the screen savers that came with WinXP will work on BOTH monitors. I have a beautiful collection of screen savers on CD, but they ONLY work on the primary monitor (the CRT). Meanwhile the other monitor (the LCD) continues to show whatever I was working on (web browsing, background wallper, etc). But if I use something like "3D Flowerbox" which comes with XP, it will work on both panels together.

2) is there a way to have 2 different wallpaper backgrounds on each monitor? Or do they have to be identical?

3) I use Media Player Classic 6.4 / Real Alternative 1.11. If I play a video file, it works in my primary display, but not the secondary one that just shows black. I tried playing with the overlay settings but that didn't help, and I can literally drag the window back and forth, and the video shows in my primary but not secondary. This problem does NOT happen if I use Microsoft Media Player 8, but I hate that player it's too bloated. And if I change the LCD to primary, it still behaves the same, it'll play in primary but not secondary? Any ideas?

Thanks

GlowStick
12-14-03, 08:17 PM
Hi,

Heh, i hate to inform you that your pritty much SOL on most of your problems. But here ill go

1) Screensavers are a problem like that, they have to be designed to run on dual or more monitors to show up like that, most are not. however youc an run 2 diffrent screensavers on each monitor with a nifty program called UltraMon http://www.ultramon.com

2) They have to be identical, unless you are running UltraMon. http://www.UltraMon.com