PDA

View Full Version : Athlon 64 3000+ at newegg for $215 oem


{Sniping}Waste
12-16-03, 11:27 AM
Its $215 at newegg and its about 2% to 4% slower then the 3200+ at $404. its faster and cheaper then the P4 3.0C.:D

Sazar
12-16-03, 11:28 AM
actually not so sure bout faster :)

its 1.8ghz with half the l2 cache that the 3200+ has...

considering that amd was pushing their larger cache as being a prime requirement for their extra speed I think its safe to say it is not quite as fast as it would have been with the 1mb l2 :)

otoh they are selling refurbished fx-51's for just over $500 :D

{Sniping}Waste
12-16-03, 11:32 AM
No its at 2gig clock but has 512K L2 not 1 meg. There is a 1 meg L2 at 1.8 and a 512k L2 at 2gig. Some benches on the net show it faster then the P4 C 3gig in most of the tests.

Sazar
12-16-03, 11:34 AM
kewl :)

didn't know there were 2 versions of it...

sxotty
12-16-03, 12:10 PM
the better to confuse pepole with :)

Dazz
12-16-03, 02:50 PM
2GHz + 512k = Desktop
1.8GHz + 1024k = Mobile

Viral
12-16-03, 11:15 PM
It looks as if the 2.0ghz version performs better in most situations.. this will be proven shortly when more reviews surface, but from what i have seen, performance isn't far behind the 3200+ at all.. and is easily above that of the 3.0ghz P4.. in the review i've seen, it was even above the 3.2ghz P4. This is only possible of course because of the better chipset drivers and BOIS's, and optimised system settings since what was commonly used on launch. So basically todays 3200+'s should outperform the 3.2ghz P4 in most scenerios.

Slowest Athlon 64 humbles fastest P4 in gaming (http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=13187)

Dazz
12-18-03, 03:00 PM
Not really like i said in other threads, Athlons short pipeline doesn't need alot of cache 256+ k is good enough for them the extra 256/768k gives only a slight increase in speed. Due to the P4's long pipeline it quickly fills up the cache so alot is needed.

Viral
12-18-03, 09:14 PM
AMDzone review (http://www.amdzone.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1371)

umm.. i think they should call it the A64 3200+ cheap edition :D

The only bench where the difference is noticable is Q3.. Ut2k3 is like a 3fps difference, and 3dmark2k1 is like 200 points.

They only compare against an A64 3200+, but thats good enough for me.

Rob_0126
12-29-03, 08:27 PM
This makes me itchy to go buy a 'less expensive' Athlon 64, and mobo. mmmmm, 64 bits.......

Robert

MUYA
12-30-03, 02:20 AM
X Bit Labs have a review of the athlon64 3000+

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/athlon64-3000_6.html

And the more/hyper expensive cpus beat the athlon 64 3000+ in gaming benchmarks like the P4 EE, Athlon FX 51 and athlon 64 3200+ by just a few points :D

$215 is definately a good price for it IMHO and overcloked to 2.2ghz it certainly is up there with the big boys.

Dazz
12-30-03, 04:57 AM
I WANNA SEE HOW MUCH DIFFRENCE THE FSB MAKES.

I wanna see if it will lake the extra bandwith more then what the Athlon did, the SHOULD of used the ABIT KV8 MAX3 which officaly supports 266MHz FSB.

MUYA
12-30-03, 05:16 AM
Originally posted by Dazz
I WANNA SEE HOW MUCH DIFFRENCE THE FSB MAKES.


OK I UNDERSTAND! ;)

cheer up I know Newcastle didn't too well over the holiday period but er.... :D

Dazz
12-30-03, 06:39 AM
Oh OH that's it...... *rolls up sleeves* then head butts MUYA.

Still 7th place is better then where the Mackams are :D

MUYA
12-30-03, 09:27 AM
Originally posted by Dazz
Oh OH that's it...... *rolls up sleeves* then head butts MUYA.

Still 7th place is better then where the Mackams are :D

Mackams are mackams....even if I lived in Sunderland for 6 yrs ;)

Dazz
12-30-03, 09:33 AM
God you are almost a decade older then me. Gess you been travaling alot then.

MUYA
12-30-03, 09:39 AM
Originally posted by Dazz
God you are almost a decade older then me. Gess you been travaling alot then.
I also lived at Vine Street in Newcastle for a bit :D

Loved the Ritz and that place where u could go and headbang ...ya had the long locks then ;)

dunno about a decade...are u only 20? ;)

Malfunction
12-30-03, 10:07 AM
I would have to say these are the only things keeping me away from purchasing a A64 now:

SiS 755 Chip coming soon to more than just ECS
Limited overclocking with current mobo's out there (VIA K8T800, NF3 150)
AGP still (No PCI-Express yet)


Now the things that are guiding me towards the A64 for my next system:

Pice/Performance ratio is way up there
Gaming performance is great
Suggested path with the Socket 754 architecture: Newcastle(512KB L2 cache, single-channel memory controller, Cool’n’Quiet technology, made at 0.13 micron SOI nodes) and ClawHammer(1MB L2 cache, single-channel memory controller, Cool’n’Quiet technology, made at 0.13 micron SOI nodes)

Now the things that are still muddy for me is a PCI-Express Adapter for AGP slot. How much of gaming performance is actually limited to the videocards bandwidth or is it CPU power? How much of an improvement will come from PCI-Express vs. AGP? Overclocking, will 232Mhz be enough or is it just going to piss me off?

http://www.lostcircuits.com/motherboard/abit_kv8max3/9.shtml

Many myths have entwined around the AGP / PCI divider as the limiting factor for overclocking of the VIA K8T800 chipset, however, as we showed in our article on overclocking the ASUS K8V, the main limitation appears to be the inability of the integrated memory controller on the CPU to cope with overclocking conditions when running in DDR400 mode. If, however, the DRAM ratio is limited to a 5:3 ratio or DDR333 operating mode, the overclocking potential unfolds, albeit at the expense of performance. The KV8 MAX3 is no exception here either, except for the limitation put in place by ABIT through the specification of an illegal / un-supported AGP/PCI divider, which essentially kills any attempt at overclocking at the 232 MHz external CPU-Clock mark

Other than that, I think it's a fine CPU choice. Decisions, decisions... (pb)

Peace,

:afro:

Dazz
12-30-03, 10:30 AM
Originally posted by MUYA
I also lived at Vine Street in Newcastle for a bit :D

Loved the Ritz and that place where u could go and headbang ...ya had the long locks then ;)

dunno about a decade...are u only 20? ;) 21.. close enough :D

And way i am with you Malfunction i don't really want to upgrade just yet due to lots of things on the way, 1# 939pin, (dual channel?) limited overclocking at the moment 2.2~2.4GHz seems the limit with air cooling even if it doesn't get hot! & of course PCI 16x, then BTX. However i won't bother with BTX as you will need a whole new case and PSU and i just spent £140 on a freaking case which i am STILL waiting to arrive. But with it being the holidays i guess thats slowed it right down.

Viral
12-30-03, 07:33 PM
The fact that it is almost next year kinda makes me think it would be best to wait for socket 939.

The 939pin Newcastle should be something! i'm guessing they will outperform socket 754 clawhammer. We have already seen that dual channel memory seems to help more than twice the L2 cache, especially when that DC memory will be unbuffered.

If i am right nvidia will be sampling the nforce3 250 this month. I'm hoping that by next month we will see both the FX-53, 3400+ clawhammer and 3200+/3400+ newcastle (939). The 3200+ newcastle should be at a reasonable price by then, i don't think we will see a 3000+ 939pin newcastle because it would have to be clocked at 1.8ghz, and AMD already have stated that not enough chips are failing to clock at 2.0ghz to sell them at such a price to such a low-price hungry market:D

I also heard of problems with the ECS 755, apparently it only supports DDR333. The issue can be resolved with a BOIS update but there is none to be found just yet.

It looks like waiting for 939 and the nvidia nforce3 250 might be the best bet now. the 250 isn't guaranteed to be anything great, but i'm sure hoping it is.. and if it isnt, well i will wait for SIS to launch their socket 939 chipset (755FX).

As for me, well i'm waiting for probably a 4000+.. i'm hoping a 4200+ will make it out by the end of the year so i can pick one(4000) up for a decent price, if not, i may just settle for a 3700+. All 939pin of course.

Rob_0126
12-31-03, 03:04 AM
Im sittin on an nforce 2 mobo, and athlon 1700, so a barton would be a nice upgrade for me. :)

Robert

Dazz
12-31-03, 04:42 AM
Funny you should be saying that last night i was looking about for the NF3 250 and it was said it would sample at 4Q 2003 and would be out late December.

Rob_0126
12-31-03, 09:15 PM
Maybe the newer nforce boards will be better.

Robert