PDA

View Full Version : How do you think Doom III will perform on a GeForce4?


demonized
07-31-02, 08:19 AM
its on the front page...
do you guys think we can play the game on high detail settings.(people with geforce 4's)
John Carmack seems to want us all buy an NV30 or R300.
Also is it possible that this game will be released in dvd-format..
or atleast have a dvd-version of the game. I want cinematics :):)

sancheuz
07-31-02, 08:34 AM
I think only people with a geforce4 TI and beyond will be able to play this game at high settings. Because of their 128 mb memory. Geforce3 Ti 500- medium high, geforce3 and ti 200 medium. Radeon 8500 medium, parphelia medium, anything else, low settting(however, low settings for this game will probably still be stunning)

Kruno
07-31-02, 10:01 AM
Actually G3 can play highest settings possible (1024x768?) at 30fps. :)

elusive
07-31-02, 11:54 AM
how do you know?

do you have the game installed or something?


/....

that's what carmack was shooting for

we all know it'll be more demanding than that.

JonathanM
07-31-02, 12:03 PM
Aye, they are quite cool. You know gamers will probably upgrade to whatever system is needed to properly power this game once it comes out anyways, so there's no need to bicker about whether it'll run 30fps on a GF3 or not (although Carmack said that was among his goals). That statement is still open to CPU speed and other conditions...

Floor
07-31-02, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by elusive
how do you know?

do you have the game installed or something?


/....

that's what carmack was shooting for

we all know it'll be more demanding than that.

How do you know?

Do you have the game installed or something?

/....

That's what Carmack is shooting for, and he knows that engine more than you do.

This is afterall, a DX8 game, and one that has been in developement for a good chunk of time. The GF3 class of cards aren't completely washed out either, they can run MW at respectable framerates, and that's with large outdoor areas.

Doom3 appears to be enclosed in rooms/halls like the previous, so framerates naturally rise...

koslov
07-31-02, 04:13 PM
DooM3 is not DirectX based. Why do people keep referring to DX when discussing D3?? OpenGL is where it's at boys and girls. Carmack knows that.

In my experience, OpenGL games are less prone to crashing and a lot faster framerate-wise. If you doubt me, just fire up Serious Sam:SE and bench in both OpenGL and DirectX. I think you'll find that OpenGl is anywhere from 5-15% faster.

I just don't get all the hype around DX9... OpenGL can do all the same effects and faster.

Look at all the poor-running games based of DX:
Giants
Morrowind
GTA 3

DX is just easier for lazy devs since they don't have to support each GPUs specific extensions.

StealthHawk
07-31-02, 10:24 PM
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
Actually G3 can play highest settings possible (1024x768?) at 30fps. :)

deep down i'm still doubting that, but hoping that it's true :)

means i'll be able to play the game while i scrounge for money to do a system rehaul

SavagePaladin
07-31-02, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by koslov
DooM3 is not DirectX based. Why do people keep referring to DX when discussing D3?? OpenGL is where it's at boys and girls. Carmack knows that.

In my experience, OpenGL games are less prone to crashing and a lot faster framerate-wise. If you doubt me, just fire up Serious Sam:SE and bench in both OpenGL and DirectX. I think you'll find that OpenGl is anywhere from 5-15% faster.

I just don't get all the hype around DX9... OpenGL can do all the same effects and faster.

Look at all the poor-running games based of DX:
Giants
Morrowind
GTA 3

DX is just easier for lazy devs since they don't have to support each GPUs specific extensions.
When will you people give it a rest?

Serious Sam supporting two renderers doesn't mean it supports them both perfectly. Sheesh.

Look at all the great running games based on DX: Max Payne, No One Lives Forever, C&C Renegade, Hostile Waters, and many many more.

Then you can kindly shut yer holes.

elusive
07-31-02, 11:14 PM
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

When will you people give it a rest?

Serious Sam supporting two renderers doesn't mean it supports them both perfectly. Sheesh.

Look at all the great running games based on DX: Max Payne, No One Lives Forever, C&C Renegade, Hostile Waters, and many many more.

Then you can kindly shut yer holes.

stfu before MS puts licsensing fees on OpenGL

god, that day _will_ come, i know it :(

koslov
08-01-02, 02:41 AM
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

When will you people give it a rest?

Serious Sam supporting two renderers doesn't mean it supports them both perfectly. Sheesh.

Look at all the great running games based on DX: Max Payne, No One Lives Forever, C&C Renegade, Hostile Waters, and many many more.

The games you named are not in my experience the fastest games. Both MP and NOLF can chug on lesser GPUs. Haven't played the others.

Want other games with dual renderers? Try UT, Halflife.

The only DX engine that has impressed me recently is the newest Unreal engine (America's Army).

There is no way you can tell me that DX is inherently more stable than OpenGL... you may remember just a few weeks ago MS released a patch for DX that finally fixed random crashes that plagued many DX games. Not to mention the patch required to run GTA3.

Stability and flexibility are only two of the advantages to OpenGL. Multi-platform support being probably the greatest; OpenGL is supported in almost every OS out there.

Back to the original topic, I am sure D3 will run on almost every setup out there, from GF1 and up. Carmack's games have always been made to be very backwards compatible. But to get the full effect of shadows and bumpmapping, a GF3 or R200 is minimum. I bet 64meg cards will really be stressed too, just look at all those high-res textures, plus all their accompanying bumpmaps. I don't really know why Carmack says D3 will achieve its peak on the NV30 since he doesn't have one yet... all he has to go on are the same specs we have. Sometimes I think Carmack likes to be a PR bitch for the graphics mfgs.

SavagePaladin
08-01-02, 03:30 AM
I said NOTHING against OpenGL.
I am not one to pick sides when there's no point.

Most of those games chugged because they pushed what the common denominator could do when they were released.

So they were a little ahead of their time, I'm pretty sure that isn't a sin.

BTW, I never experienced any of these dx8.1 crashes because I don't own Windows XP. Yes, XP isn't quite up to speed in reality, I know this, but it doesn't reflect on directx directly.

SavagePaladin
08-01-02, 03:33 AM
Originally posted by elusive


stfu before MS puts licsensing fees on OpenGL

god, that day _will_ come, i know it :(
<shrug> it would be lame, but I'm not gonna worry about things that may/may not happen

StealthHawk
08-01-02, 04:16 AM
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

<shrug> it would be lame, but I'm not gonna worry about things that may/may not happen

exactly, we should only waste time speculating about things that we have evidence will happen. it will make the world a better place to have less unfounded conspiracy theories.

Kruno
08-01-02, 04:58 AM
Bah! I'm sure some people will turn off a lot of the IQ "increasing" options because they look like crap to them (ie: shadows).

StealthHawk
08-01-02, 06:46 AM
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
Bah! I'm sure some people will turn off a lot of the IQ "increasing" options because they look like crap to them (ie: shadows).

i'm sure he'll fix them :rolleyes: Doom 3 isn't coming out anytime soon.

anyway the game is somewhat worthless without the shadows, that's what all the hype is about.

Kruno
08-01-02, 07:42 AM
I never did like shadows in any game. They look like crap and degrade quality (performance ain't a prob on my system but by disabling shadows you free cpu time. At least you can get 1 thing for another)

SavagePaladin
08-01-02, 09:57 AM
I dunno about that, the shadows in this Moto GP game look really damn nice.
http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/motogp/motogppcdemo.exe.html
game runs like a dream on my gf3 too
___
actually, everything in it looks really damn nice. save for the people off track, which never will in any racing game :p (yeah, so never might be a bit of a stretch, but you REALLY have to want to nitpick to care.)

lord kelvinn
08-01-02, 02:37 PM
The game should run ok (30 fps) with all settings maxed out. Carmack said something like the full experience target of doom 3 was the geforce 3 class cards, and the minimum card was a geforce card. So I hope to run this game and the others that uses this engine with a geforce 4 at 1024 and all settings maxed out, without AA.
And the light system of the game is the greatest improve of the engine , if you turn it off, u will lose the greatest aspect of the game.
I dont know anything about the cpu required...(1.6G or more maybe???)

StealthHawk
08-01-02, 09:36 PM
that's really the thing though. yeah, a GF3, but with what CPU. 1.6GHz? that is a lot newer than the GF3. see what i'm getting at?

anyway, he never guaranteed anything, that was just his target. maybe things will run better, maybe worse. and by worse it could be 29fps, or 25fps. all baseless speculation :)

nin_fragile14
08-03-02, 01:37 AM
Originally posted by demonized

Also is it possible that this game will be released in dvd-format..
or atleast have a dvd-version of the game. I want cinematics :):)

I'm hoping they won't need a DVD because all cinematics will be in game. They'll probably look better than cinemas anyway. :cool:

StealthHawk
08-03-02, 01:55 AM
Originally posted by nin_fragile14


I'm hoping they won't need a DVD because all cinematics will be in game. They'll probably look better than cinemas anyway. :cool:

yes, but would in-game cinematics run at 30fps :p