PDA

View Full Version : older drivers


zoomy942
01-07-04, 08:49 AM
i am trying to go back to the 45.xx series of drivers, i have the 53.xx. but when i install them windows still has them as the 53.xx. and when i uninstall the 53's and then install the 45.xx, it still doesnt work. how can i get older drivers loaded?

saturnotaku
01-07-04, 08:55 AM
Did you uninstall them in safe mode? Reinstall the 53.03 drivers, then reboot into safe mode, uninstall the drivers from control panel, add/remove programs, reboot and that should work.

Otherwise, download Driver Cleaner from http://www.driverheaven.net and follow the instructions included with the program.

Gator
01-07-04, 08:55 AM
Try booting in Safe mode, remove the video device complete from the device manager, uninstall the detonators, and delete the Nvidia folder (typically at c:\nvidia ).

When you reboot, install the 45.23's fresh

zoomy942
01-07-04, 08:56 AM
so uninstall them in normal mode and then boot into safe mode and remove them from the control panel, then install the new ones while still in safe mode?

saturnotaku
01-07-04, 08:58 AM
No, uninstall while in safe mode. This isn't like ATI where there are two entries, one for the drivers, one for control panel. There's only one on NVIDIA cards. It says, "NVIDIA Windows 2000/XP display drivers"

zoomy942
01-07-04, 08:59 AM
so when i uninstall them in safe mode, and i go back into windows at the reboot, it wont find the 53.03 drivers to automattically install?

saturnotaku
01-07-04, 10:39 AM
It shouldn't. That method has always worked for me.

zoomy942
01-07-04, 03:53 PM
i can get the newer ones out but i cnat get windows to recognize my video card with the 45.xx drivers! this is driving me nuts. when i try telling "have disk" and i am going to choose what card i want to use, the 5700 isnt listed. what should i do now? i am about to give up

Gator
01-07-04, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by zoomy942
i can get the newer ones out but i cnat get windows to recognize my video card with the 45.xx drivers! this is driving me nuts. when i try telling "have disk" and i am going to choose what card i want to use, the 5700 isnt listed. what should i do now? i am about to give up

hmmmmm... maybe the 45.23 drivers didn't support the FX5700?

StealthHawk
01-07-04, 09:14 PM
Originally posted by Gator
hmmmmm... maybe the 45.23 drivers didn't support the FX5700?

They don't. You can probably hack the .inf file, but the drivers might not work correctly.

Gator
01-07-04, 09:35 PM
Originally posted by StealthHawk
They don't. You can probably hack the .inf file, but the drivers might not work correctly.

AH HA! Then that explains it all!

Sorry zoomy942, no 45.23 for you! :D

zoomy942
01-08-04, 08:26 AM
oh well. i guess i could just wait to try that doom demo until it officially comes out. i knew it was an ATI demo anyway. i am preordering it this weekend. thanks for the help guys!