PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking Question


PCarr78
09-29-02, 03:24 AM
I am sick and tired of my CPU. I got screwed when buying a mobo... but anyway, until i can find a guy willing to sell me an old socketed p3, i am stuck at 700, so i decided to OC:

Well, for almost a year i had been running at 890MHz (7x127) at 1.8v (yes, i have a ghetto cpu, wont oc at default voltage even with copper heatsing)

Then i started to get instabilities.

I realized that i may have overstressed the PCI components. They were running at 42 MHz.

Anyway, the dividers on my mobo suck.


My question is this: Can I run my PCI bus at LESS than 33MHz?

Specifically, I can use a divider and run it at 31.75MHz, allowing me to keep a 900MHz oc.

1) What would happen if i did run at 31.75? Would it work? Would it be safe?


2) CAN ANYONE SELL ME A FASTER GOD DAMNED PENTIUM III???!?!?

thcdru2k
09-29-02, 03:54 AM
31.75mhz pci bus should be perfectly safe. nothing would happen except it would possibly be a bit slower than 42mhz pci bus.

PCarr78
09-29-02, 04:40 AM
Are you speaking from personal experience?

pelly
09-29-02, 09:58 AM
What about Ebay???

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2058006257

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2057406961

Good luck....



:D

thcdru2k
09-29-02, 10:33 AM
yea, i had my pIII system running at 28.31mhz. 85mhz bus, 6.0x mutiplyer.

Starscream
09-29-02, 01:00 PM
As an owner (and overclocker) of several p3's I can say that a slightly under spec pci bus is just fine.

PCarr78
09-29-02, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by thcdru2k
yea, i had my pIII system running at 28.31mhz. 85mhz bus, 6.0x mutiplyer.


@ full stability?

and for how long

PCarr78
09-29-02, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by Starscream
As an owner (and overclocker) of several p3's I can say that a slightly under spec pci bus is just fine.

ineteresred in gettin rid of one of those cpus?

thcdru2k
09-29-02, 01:30 PM
one of the fans on my dual fan setup on the cpu died..i didn't have money to replace it, this was about last month, so i didn't want to run it at stock speed, so i underclocked it down to a 85mhz fsb and it ran stable for a month, albeit slow as it already was pretty slow. it was running at 500mhz, its a old not coppermine 600mhz pIII.

Starscream
09-29-02, 01:36 PM
Originally posted by [Corporal Dan]
ineteresred in gettin rid of one of those cpus?

Actually yes. I am looking to sell my 750. Runs rock stable at 900 with a 1.75 core voltage. Completely unstable at 930 (124mhz fsb) regardless of core voltage (though I did only go up to 1.85v, I was hesitant to go any higher). Will post a 1ghz.

thcdru2k
09-29-02, 01:37 PM
plus, i understand the pain your going through trying to upgrade that pentium 3. stupid intel won't lower their prices. its still $100 bucks for a 1ghz coppermine. i've been wanting to upgrade my pIII for ages, but for 100 bucks, might as well get a cheap xp 1500+/mb combo.

PCarr78
09-29-02, 01:39 PM
Originally posted by Starscream


Actually yes. I am looking to sell my 750. Runs rock stable at 900 with a 1.75 core voltage. Completely unstable at 930 (124mhz fsb) regardless of core voltage (though I did only go up to 1.85v, I was hesitant to go any higher). Will post a 1ghz.

Tell me the FSBs and multiplier to achieve those OCs.

ANd tell me where you're located.

PCarr78
09-29-02, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by thcdru2k
plus, i understand the pain your going through trying to upgrade that pentium 3. stupid intel won't lower their prices. its still $100 bucks for a 1ghz coppermine. i've been wanting to upgrade my pIII for ages, but for 100 bucks, might as well get a cheap xp 1500+/mb combo.
That's the problem, though

Now mobo means new CPU


and ram


... and Raid controller

... and power supply

... and cooling.


See, it's REALLY a lot more expensive.


I dunno, got any links to a cumine 1gig?

i know one shop here and they want $400 cdn :eek:

Starscream
09-29-02, 01:41 PM
I'll pm you with the full details momentarily.

thcdru2k
09-29-02, 01:47 PM
the cheapest i could find was a $100 1gig 133mhz coppermine from googlegear.com. don't use raid, i use cheap 15 dollar volcano 7, my powersupply is still amd compatible. so i wouldn't have ur problems. thats kinda why i'm hesitant to buy the $100 coppermine, because for just $30-$50 more, i got another decent athlon xp system. i really wish intel would just drop the prices ffs.

amd for 53 bucks you got a 1.4ghz xp.

intel for 54 bucks you get a 1.1ghz celeron.

grr intel is so ****ty on the prices.

Switch
09-29-02, 03:13 PM
I would't start bashing Intel about those prices. I honestly don't think it's their fault, rather the venders who don't want to lose money on the product. Take the high end Tbirds for example, a 1.4 would cost you nearly $100 too. AMD's pricing hasn't affected them at all. Now I understand there's a big difference between a $100 for a 1Ghz Cumine and a 1.4 Tbird but they are both the high end of the latter days. I wanted an upgrade and was stuck between a $100 1.4 Tbird that was sure to work in my computer, or a $54 XP 1600+ that wasn't guarenteed to work in my computer. $100 bucks for that 1.4 is outragous... I took my chances with the XP.