PDA

View Full Version : memory question


db85usa
01-13-04, 03:05 AM
i have a p3 600, with 256mb pc800 (800mhz) rambus. would it make much of a difference if i add another 256 chip? Theres one at a cpu store pc800 256mb chip for $50. I play mohaa spearhead and avg 20fps on this piece of junk. would adding memory make any difference?

Viral
01-13-04, 03:46 AM
Put the money towards a new system.. that memory wont work with new systems, so no point buying it...

You could get a new duron 1.6GHz and a cheap mobo for just a bit more than that! and 512mb of DDR266 memory.. at most you would be paying around $110-$150 and would be getting much better performance.

If you don't want to upgrade soon for whatever reason.. then, the RAM will help.. but not enough IMO.

db85usa
01-13-04, 04:06 AM
Not true.

A friend of mine has a p4 3.06 533 w/ht and 1gb of PC800 rdram.

I dont wanna buy a bunch of parts, just for now I was curious if it'd make a difference if I got another memory stick. It's only $40 so... I'm not wasting THAT much money.

If it doesn't do crap, then I can sell this pc stuff to a pc vendor somewhere, I'm sure they will take an ati radeon 9600 pro and creative i-trigue 3300 2.1 speakers and a 40gb hd, but iwont get much for all that. I do need to buy new parts but right now, I'm just wondering if it'd do anything for me gaming wise.

db85usa
01-13-04, 04:12 AM
Sorry, but my question wasn't about upgrading entirely, just about memory.

Can anyone here tell me if it'll do much at ALL if I add another 256 chip?

I avg 20fps, if i turn up evvverything in the game and make it look sweet w/ my video card it'll run 3fps-11fps... very very low. Anyone got an idea how much faster it'd be with more memory?

saturnotaku
01-13-04, 07:34 AM
Originally posted by db85usa
Can anyone here tell me if it'll do much at ALL if I add another 256 chip?

I avg 20fps, if i turn up evvverything in the game and make it look sweet w/ my video card it'll run 3fps-11fps... very very low. Anyone got an idea how much faster it'd be with more memory?

It's not going to help you at all because your CPU is what's holding you back. Your friend's processor is 3 GHz, yours is 600 MHz.

Heck, your machine is even less than what a lot of games list as minimum system requirements. Don't waste your money on additional RAM. Save it for a completely new system.

|JuiceZ|
01-13-04, 07:36 AM
Originally posted by db85usa
Not true.

A friend of mine has a p4 3.06 533 w/ht and 1gb of PC800 rdram.

but there's quite a large diff between his system specs and yours.

You'll get slighty better load times but, you'd benefit a lot more from saving your $40 towards a new cpu/mb/mem combo. Wait a couple months, it'll be worth it.

kraigc
01-13-04, 08:49 AM
chances are you are using 16 bit RAMBUS......needs top be installed in pairs. You would need to buy 2 sticks.......

Rampant CL
01-13-04, 09:36 AM
Regardless, look at the amount of ram he has and the fact that he plays games. Its simply not enough, so get the extra ram. IT'll hel extend the life of your current system, even if only by half a year or a year

GlowStick
01-13-04, 02:07 PM
Originally posted by kraigc
chances are you are using 16 bit RAMBUS......needs top be installed in pairs. You would need to buy 2 sticks....... I second that notion, i BET that he has to install ram IN pairs, and 50$ is a rediculous price.

db85usa
01-13-04, 07:36 PM
I do have to have them installed in pairs. I have one slot filled with pc800 256mb rdram chip and the other has continuity rimm.

A cpu store not far away from here has pc800 184pin non-ecc 256mb rdram for $50.

GlowStick
01-13-04, 07:43 PM
Originally posted by db85usa
I do have to have them installed in pairs. I have one slot filled with pc800 256mb rdram chip and the other has continuity rimm.

A cpu store not far away from here has pc800 184pin non-ecc 256mb rdram for $50. Hm well in that case you could do it, can someone confrim or deny that if he gets anther rimm that he will be getting more bandwith?

jAkUp
01-13-04, 08:00 PM
Even if you get the ram your system isn't gonna be the greatest for gaming. Since no computers now, or in the future will be using rambus, you are basically throwing the money away. Just stash the money, save a little more and get a new system.

It really doesn't pay to upgrade older systems, because its gonna need alot more than just memory to stay happy. But, for the short term, yes it will help a little, you are still very processor bottlnecked though.

db85usa
01-14-04, 05:25 AM
The system is running fine with windows 2k pro. Just wanna up it some just a tad.

you think it'll help if i go from 600mhz to 1ghz (1000mhz) with 512 rambus (2x 256)?

|JuiceZ|
01-14-04, 06:21 AM
Originally posted by db85usa
...you think it'll help if i go from 600mhz to 1ghz (1000mhz) with 512 rambus (2x 256)?

d00d the point everyone is trying to make is that any upgrade would help but it would still be a much wiser to wait and save up for a new machine.

The Baron
01-14-04, 07:30 AM
The point I often make:

Athlon 2500+: $90
Abit NF7-S 2.0: $95
Antec Sonata: $100
512MB Corsair XMS PC3200: $120
Video Card Du Jour: $200
Building a new system: Pric^H^H^H^H$605

LiquidX
01-14-04, 08:36 AM
I still have a system that uses RDRam. I agree you will see the biggest difference upgrading the processer or better yet the whole system. However I think you will see a slight difference. Keep in mind though db85usa RDram has to be used in pairs....you may have PC600(which does not require pairs) and not PC800 in your system being that it came way after the P3 generation. In anycase if you have found 2 sticks of 256 PC800 for $50 buy it no question, Rdram right now is like gold and the damn prices has gone up AGAIN, you wont find it cheaper anywhere at 2 sticks for that price.

GlowStick
01-14-04, 09:57 AM
Originally posted by The Baron
The point I often make:

Athlon 2500+: $90
Abit NF7-S 2.0: $95
Antec Sonata: $100
512MB Corsair XMS PC3200: $120
Video Card Du Jour: $200
Building a new system: Pric^H^H^H^H$605 Hell thats still highend, you can buy a KT600 for 60, a case for 40 you dont really 'need' 512 though its REALLY good for 50 and a Gainward Geforce 4 Ti4200 for 99 and thats the one with BGA ram......

Gator
01-14-04, 11:52 AM
In your case, more RAM will have no impact on FPS at all. It MIGHT help lessen load times, and will allow you to run mroe programs at once before having to use the page file, but other than that it's not gonna help you get above 20fps. Your problem is not the RAM so much, and not the video card because you mentioned you have a R9600Pro, it's your CPU. It's entirely your CPU that's the problem.

If you wanna keep your RAM & save money, there is an easy way to do this but it's not recommended because it'll limit your upgradability. But i850 motherboard start at only $20us these days (http://www.pricewatch.com/1/2/2728-1.htm) and they support RDRAM. You'll be limited to a P4 2ghz at most, and have to find a P4 with only 400mhz fsb... but it'll work. Cheapest P4 CPU's I could find was a P4 1.4ghz for $101us, and a P4 1.8ghz Northwood for $124us, prices from http://www.pricewatch.com . I recommend the extra 23 bucks for the Northwood, they run much cooler and would allow you to overclock it if need be in the future.

db85usa
01-14-04, 11:25 PM
Screw it, lol, I'll throw this pc in the trash and go build a new one, I already have a hd, video card, so I can use those.

I already reserved a p4 2.4 celeron (ill upgrade that in a couple months)
512mb pc3200 memory
SIS 661FX DDR 800FSB SATA Motherboard
ATX Case for $30
and a cdrw/dvd combo drive.
Windows XP

The store told me it will cost $450.

Will that be a little better than p3 600 with 256 rambus?

Viral
01-15-04, 12:16 AM
Originally posted by jAkUp
Even if you get the ram your system isn't gonna be the greatest for gaming. Since no computers now, or in the future will be using rambus, you are basically throwing the money away. Just stash the money, save a little more and get a new system.

It really doesn't pay to upgrade older systems, because its gonna need alot more than just memory to stay happy. But, for the short term, yes it will help a little, you are still very processor bottlnecked though.

See.. other people agree with me! i doubted it would do enough good to make a difference.. so once again i suggest putting the money away for a new system.. whatever it might be.

Screw it, lol, I'll throw this pc in the trash and go build a new one, I already have a hd, video card, so I can use those.

I already reserved a p4 2.4 celeron (ill upgrade that in a couple months)
512mb pc3200 memory
SIS 661FX DDR 800FSB SATA Motherboard
ATX Case for $30
and a cdrw/dvd combo drive.
Windows XP

The store told me it will cost $450.

Will that be a little better than p3 600 with 256 rambus?

yes it will... but that system will probably perform worse than the one i speced and will cost 3-4 times as much.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpu/showdoc.html?i=1927&p=17

Sure you plan on upgrading the processor later.. probably to a P4, but will it be worth buying the celeron at all?

For around $200, you can get a 2500+ system(which easily 'overclock'(it's hardly even considered that:rolleyes: ) to 3200+).. provided you have to build these yourself.. but it's not hard!

If your hell bent on getting that system for whatever reason, go ahead.. i just hate to see someone paying more for less:confused:

Dazz
01-15-04, 01:26 AM
Originally posted by kraigc
chances are you are using 16 bit RAMBUS......needs top be installed in pairs. You would need to buy 2 sticks....... BINGO you need 2 sticks of the same size.

Gator
01-15-04, 07:48 AM
A Celeron 2.4 wll out perform your PIII-600, but it is a HORRIBLE chip. A P4 1.6ghz can give a Celeron 2.4ghz competition EASILY. Try to get a P4 instead, and just make sure it's a northwood so you can overclock it. I read that the P4 1.8ghz overclocks very nicely, and is only about $124us.

Your motherboard sounds good, for memory I recommend a name brand like Crucial, Corsair, or Kingston.

I don't like the sound of your case. I'm assuming this is a cheap case with a generic power supply, right? DONOT go cheap on the PSU, I highly recommend an Enermax or Antec PSU of 350w or better.

One more thing, what people are saying is correct, you could get great performance for a hell of a lot less money if you would only consider an AthlonXP instead.

Originally posted by db85usa
Screw it, lol, I'll throw this pc in the trash and go build a new one, I already have a hd, video card, so I can use those.

I already reserved a p4 2.4 celeron (ill upgrade that in a couple months)
512mb pc3200 memory
SIS 661FX DDR 800FSB SATA Motherboard
ATX Case for $30
and a cdrw/dvd combo drive.
Windows XP

The store told me it will cost $450.

Will that be a little better than p3 600 with 256 rambus?

Dazz
01-15-04, 12:29 PM
Consider something like an XP2100+ w/ NF2 512MB PC2700 as minium.