PDA

View Full Version : Athalon 1900+ what voltage should it be?


MUYA
09-29-02, 09:04 AM
Folks, i have a Asus A7v333-R motehrboard with an Athalon XP 1900+ plonked in it. Now, this baby is very very hot running close to 60 degrees celcius with a 6800rpm heat sink fan attached to it. I noticed though that the voltage reading for the core is at 1.85 volts, now I have another system with an MSI KT4 ultra and amd XP2100+ systems and in that system, the cpu core is only 1.75V. Now I am confused and would like to know the true core voltage setting for the amd xp 1900+.

I tried the new bios that Asus has and even then I cannot get an option to decrese the voltage of the cpu. I am afraid that the higher volatge may decrease my cpu's life from 2-3 years to like 1 and a half! so if anyon can figure this problem out I would more than appreciate it.
I have not messed around with the L1 or whatever bridges to get it unlocked! Also I tried using the motherboards jumpers to set cpu coltage but it wouldn't have anything to do with it. I used the jumpers to set it at 1.75volts and still it wouldn't post. I tried 1.85 volts now, but the bios settinsg gives me values of user choice at 1.2vs to 1.6 volts only!
Anybody or folks with the asus a7v333 mobo had this problem and/ or know how to solve this problem please ..any suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks in advance
MUYA

intercede007
09-29-02, 05:10 PM
I'm using an Athlon XP 1900+ that is overclocked to 1704 and its using 1.75V. Check this article out on A7V333 voltage adjustments

http://www.spodesabode.com/content/article/a7v333

HTH

Smokey
09-29-02, 05:48 PM
I think all AthlonXPs not overclocked run at a 1.72/1.75 core voltage dont they? If your temps are getting too high, you can always take the sides of your case off to help until you sort the heat problem out.

intercede007
09-29-02, 06:19 PM
Yeah, they do. I was just trying to say that there is no need for it to be running at 1.85V.

Blakhart
10-05-02, 11:33 AM
I set mine to the lowest the voltage selector gave me, 1.7...
It runs cool at that voltage. Xp cpus are 1.7 volts anyway. If I run it at the cpu default (1.85) it runs hotter. This was only noticeable with a Tt volcano7 hsf. The stock hsf would saturate with heat and not show me the fine details of temp that the Tt does. It runs fine at 1.7 so there it will stay. If oc'd it may have been different.

The ddr mem is something like 2.5 volt standard/by design. I run it at 2.6 as it is run at the fastest timeing the mobo will do. It generates little or no heat so I am ok with this aspect.

Essense
10-05-02, 05:46 PM
It's Athlon you Goober.

Regards,
Mike

MUYA
10-06-02, 08:45 AM
Thanks guys but i actually fixed the problem finally, erm...turned out I configured the jumpers the wrong way compared to the way on the manual. Doh! It is now @1.75 volts and runs cooler maxing at 50-53 degrees celcius when gaming etc, still if I leave it at auto-config jumper setting, the bios still registers at 1.85 volts....dunno i think the ATHLON (thanks mike) cpu may have some sort of defect in it or sumit!

Cheers

Muya

Blakhart
10-06-02, 12:37 PM
As to your heat problem, I solved mine with a Tt volcano7 hsf. It has a sensor to run a slower speeds, and took it from 109f idle-121f games to 104 idle-105 games. The previous hsf was the stock xp1800 hsf. I also have a hole in the case side that allows cool air directly over the hsf. I made a duct out of cardboard to help it a bit.
Something to think about.