PDA

View Full Version : Fastest CPU for KA266-R?


SkaGuy3876
09-29-02, 11:22 AM
So what is the absolute fastest CPU the KA266-R can use without modding the board or CPU? Thanks.

intercede007
09-29-02, 11:55 AM
IWill has the most USELESS website on the planet. There is a Compatibility link under the Support section with nothing in it!!!! I searched for you motherboard model, and it came up with 3 links: CPU / Memory / Graphics Card. All empty!! You'd think they'd at least have enough brains to put PC2100 under the memory section. Under the BIOS section in their forum, there is a guy that says he has an XP 1600+ running on a KA266R and wants to know if a 2200+ will work. I if he can get the XP1600 to work, you could get up to an XP2000+ to run.

SkaGuy3876
09-29-02, 12:04 PM
Yeah, I was using my 1800+ in the Iwill before I got this motherboard. I was hoping to upgrade to the 2600+ eventually, then probably to the 333MHz or hammer cpus, and use the 2600+ in the Iwill. I looked in the BIOS and the highest multiplier was X14.0 and the voltage was 1.850v.

thcdru2k
09-29-02, 12:06 PM
i doubt it will work with the hammer cpus.

SkaGuy3876
09-29-02, 12:18 PM
Yeah, I know I would need a new motherboard for the hammer cpus, but can the Iwill use a 2600+, which is the last 266MHz FSB athlon, right?

intercede007
09-29-02, 12:23 PM
That's iffy. I don't know how it works exactly, but there is a multiplier translation table for the newer Athlon XP's, where mutliplier 5 is like, 12.5, 5.5 is 13...like that. I think the BIOS needs to support that. If I'm not mistaken, the KA266R has jumpers, doesn't it? I don't know how that will effect you.

SkaGuy3876
09-29-02, 12:28 PM
Yeah it does, but it also has the BIOS setting if you set the jumpers to auto. Well, if not I can just use the 2600+ in my current motherboard, and wait to upgrade to a hammer motherboard. But is the 2600+ the last 266MHz FSB athlon, the next will be 333MHz?

thcdru2k
09-29-02, 12:32 PM
yeah, i'm not 100% sure, but most likely the 2600+ will be the last 266mhz amd xp processor.

Smokey
09-29-02, 07:33 PM
Yes it does lookie here (http://www.digitimes.com/NewsShow/Article.asp?datePublish=2002/09/27&pages=05&seq=27)