PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know where I can get a cheap 1.4GHz T-Bird?


mattcoz
01-13-04, 09:49 PM
My motherboard doesn't support any more than that, and I don't want to do a complete upgrade yet.

Ninja Prime
01-13-04, 10:06 PM
Hmmm... seems hard to find, I got the two closest in these two links:

1.33 GHZ Thunderbird. (http://69.20.62.194/1/3/2786-1.htm)

1.4GHZ Duron. (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-104-158&catalog=343&depa=1&section=1)

bkswaney
01-13-04, 10:34 PM
Originally posted by Ninja Prime
Hmmm... seems hard to find, I got the two closest in these two links:

1.33 GHZ Thunderbird. (http://69.20.62.194/1/3/2786-1.htm)

1.4GHZ Duron. (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-104-158&catalog=343&depa=1&section=1)


what is faster here? the 1.33tbird or duron?
I'll lay my $ on the tbird. ;)

ragejg
01-13-04, 10:35 PM
I have a 1.33 T-Bird... $39 shipped...

ragejg
01-13-04, 10:37 PM
hmm, a 1.4 duron.. that speed suggests "newer design", and if it's newer design, than it's of the thoroughbred .013 process, so it might just OC damn good!! ...not that there's any thing wrong with a tbird ;) ...

Viral
01-14-04, 01:24 AM
Ive got one i could sell ya... not so sure how easy it will be, but if you are interested and cant find anywhere else to get one.. i might have no use for my old one in about a weeks time.

mattcoz
01-14-04, 02:13 AM
That Duron is an Applebred core according to newegg, so I couldn't use it either.

How much are you willing to sell it for?

Viral
01-14-04, 05:17 AM
Next to nothing, maybe $20USD? but it may not be worth it due to internationat shipping costs.. especially with packaging and all that:p Although i doubt it would get damaged, i have afew Athlon CPU case things around and in one of those with a bit of padding in a box would be fine.

I must warn you but.. the reason i may be replacing it is because it is particularly hot ATM and i am having heat problems with it. The thing is in a poorly ventilated case and is reaching ~70C at times!:eek: i'm getting some nice case fans, but if that doesn't work i'm putting an AXP in the thing. This is not a problem with the particular processor.. t-birds have always been like this, especially the 1.4GHz one as it was the highest clocked.

Nephilim
01-14-04, 05:22 AM
I have a 1.4 T-bird I might be willing to sell. Let me check some things first and I'll get back to you in a day or two.

I have to check to see if I can snag a new mobo for my fiancee's computer. If I can, I'll sell you the 1.4ghz t-bird out of her PC. It used to be mine and it has never been OCed and it is currently in use, so I know that it works. :)

mattcoz
01-14-04, 09:55 PM
Hmm, turns out I might be able to use an AthlonXP afterall. I have an Abit KT7A-RAID mobo, and according the sudhian's FAQ it just has a little problem during a cold boot that requires a restart to get it going. Sounds reasonable to me.

So now what I want is like a 1700 or 1800 that I can overclock. What stepping should I be looking for? Are the multipliers locked? I've heard mixed reports on that.

Viral
01-15-04, 12:59 AM
I have a feeling that the multipliers for those CPU's will only be unlocked when using an nforce 2 mobo, and perhaps some other newer boards... can't remember the good steppings.. but try to make sure it's a thoroughbred B.

mattcoz
01-15-04, 03:32 AM
Do you mean that even if it is unlocked I won't be able to change it?

Viral
01-15-04, 05:13 AM
Well all i remember is people saying a bonus of the nforce 2 was it allowed multiplier adjustment for the 1700+(and similar) where as other(older) boards diddn't. Maybe new BOIS's have changed this, but i have no idea.

So basically.. it all depends on your mobo.

ragejg
01-15-04, 07:18 AM
I could change multi's of a T-BredB (1700 & 2400) my abit KR7A-133R kt266a mobo...