PDA

View Full Version : Funky sticks on the way...


ragejg
02-04-04, 12:00 AM
Im steppin up to a gig!!

I'm gettin 2 of these babies... should be in tomorrow or the day after...

Geil Value Golden Dragon PC3200... apparently this stuff does a pretty good job, and OC's decent...

they sure are funny lookin, tho!! :p

http://images10.newegg.com/productimage/20-144-609-01.JPG

Rytr
02-04-04, 12:10 AM
Heard Geil Golden Dragon work good on AMD systems. I have the Geil Platinum on my Intel system and they work well.

MUYA
02-04-04, 12:14 AM
I have Geil RAM modules too ! :D 1 GB of them and they have been working well for me :D Not o/c though!

jAkUp
02-04-04, 12:34 AM
wow those are pretty cool lookin

:afro:

MUYA
02-04-04, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by jAkUp
wow those are pretty cool lookin

:afro:

looks like BGA modules....looks like ...

ragejg
02-04-04, 07:21 AM
WLCSP

I think geil's like the only mfg using this chip style...

stncttr908
02-04-04, 10:52 AM
I would have gone for PC3500 or higher, given the future overhead that would provide.

kraigc
02-04-04, 02:50 PM
they have a little red led on the dragons eye that lites up too. I used to have a pair but they had compatibility issues with my mobo

ragejg
02-04-04, 03:43 PM
It was either these or samsung TCC4 chips...

Rampant CL
02-04-04, 06:26 PM
I like the kingmax colour ones, i got all my 512 sticks replaced with coloured pcb's and chips when i rma'd them, and they look sechsy

ragejg
02-04-04, 07:40 PM
Well, I got em...

:D

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=268192

Rytr
02-04-04, 08:17 PM
Have you had a chance to try any timings other than default?

ragejg
02-04-04, 11:05 PM
My 8RDA+ 1.1/Barton Combo doesn't like any thing other than 200fsb... dang... I was once able to bench this rig a couple times @ 215, but lately stability has been best @ 200...

I have an A7N8X... I'll probably try the other latencies when I throw it in that rig...

Dazz
02-05-04, 02:26 PM
My boards gotten batter.

I used to get red and blue dots in video @ 220+MHz but now they only do it at 225MHz Shame they didn't go away when i run at 225MHz :(

Dazz
02-05-04, 03:16 PM
What Geil memory did you pick up? I got me some PC4000 just incase i ever gone with Intel or so i can run an A64 w/ 250MHz FSB :) That and it has the lowest latency of an PC4000 at the moment, 2.5/4/4/7 Vs others 3/4/4/8.

goofjb
02-09-04, 01:51 AM
The red LED looks cool. I have the 256mb sticks. With the default timings of 2.5 8-4-4 for pc3200 speed I am running at 220 stable. I had it at 225 but it started getting a little iffy. More tweaking to come.

UDawg
02-09-04, 02:37 AM
Originally posted by ragejg
My 8RDA+ 1.1/Barton Combo doesn't like any thing other than 200fsb... dang... I was once able to bench this rig a couple times @ 215, but lately stability has been best @ 200...

I have an A7N8X... I'll probably try the other latencies when I throw it in that rig...

Do you have the rev2 board? You must if you are hitting 200+. I cannot get any higher than 200 on my rev 2 but the settings below yielded that best performance. I have had this system at that setting for almost a year now.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=269913

ragejg
02-09-04, 03:14 AM
Originally posted by UDawg
Do you have the rev2 board? You must if you are hitting 200+. I cannot get any higher than 200 on my rev 2 but the settings below yielded that best performance. I have had this system at that setting for almost a year now.

Heh, nope, both of my nforce2 mobo's are rev 1.x's...

UDawg
02-09-04, 09:08 AM
Really? You got one of the lucky few then. ;)

ragejg
02-09-04, 09:31 AM
the 8RDA+ will do 200, but can't go anywhere above... today or later this week I'll slap the A7N8X in a case and see what it can muster, either with these sticks or my 2 samsung tcb3 sticks...

UDawg
02-09-04, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by ragejg
the 8RDA+ will do 200, but can't go anywhere above... today or later this week I'll slap the A7N8X in a case and see what it can muster, either with these sticks or my 2 samsung tcb3 sticks...

Cool, keep us up to date. I am looking to jump to 1meg and cannot decide if I should stick with Corsair (which I have never had a problem or bad thought about) or try something else. So far these XMS sticks have been kick arss.

Starscream
02-09-04, 08:30 PM
Originally posted by UDawg
I am looking to jump to 1meg

Surely 640k is enough. :D

UDawg
02-09-04, 09:26 PM
Originally posted by Starscream
Surely 640k is enough. :D

LMAO! I didn't realize I said meg instead of gig.