PDA

View Full Version : Weird HD Tach scores


ALobpreis
02-07-04, 01:44 PM
I have a new Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 80 Gb 8 Mb buffer (6Y080P0), 1 80 Gb platter and with the new firmware (YAR41BW0). Since the first day HD Tach showed lower scores on a part of the disk... I was afraid some bad part in the disk, because the HD Tach graphic was quite similar in different passes. But then I got a different result... Check these images:

http://www.lobpreis.com.ar/maxtor1.png
The first days of the disk, every time I tested the disk, I got lower results in this zone. But now, I'm getting this!!
http://www.lobpreis.com.ar/maxtor2.png

Note the low zone is different now!!

With HD Tach 2.70 I get that low zone too, but as you can imagen, the result is less precise and I only get a low peak. I made the test with ZD Winbench 99 (from my Win98 30 Gb disk before partitioning the new disk) but I made the mistake of not setting it to save the graphic.
Now I have this new disk with two partitions: 30 Gb NTFS (Win2K) and 50 Gb FAT32 (Data). I run again ZD from Win98 testing the second partition, but I don't get any low score (30 Gb is the limit of the low zone), so I guess I can't get a "second software opinion". (I don't have the installation files of ZD, just the installation in Win98 and it doesn't run in Win2K by just copying the folder).

Both 80 Gb and 30 Gb disks are in the same IDE, but I don't think that can affect the score, as the disk runs very well.

Any clues? Suggestions? Alternative softwares to make a similar test? Thanks in advance.

Sazar
02-07-04, 02:59 PM
hook me up with the software linky...

I will see if I can run some tests and get results for you...

I have the same drive(s) as you and off the top of my head... same firmware version too...

I'll give it a look see if its a diamondmax thing or specific to your rig...

ALobpreis
02-07-04, 04:14 PM
You can download HD Tach from here (http://www.simplisoftware.com/Public/index.php?request=HdTach). But that's the 2.70 version, which is faster but much less accurate. Anyway, with several passes you can see if you get those zones.
When in the first screen, press Alt-O to choose the hidden Oscilloscope option, which makes the surface benchmarks over and over.
You have to search around to get the 2.61 version.

Sazar
02-07-04, 05:05 PM
ok this is my stuff...

2.61 I could not find when I looked on google... most links were dead or pointed back to the 2.70 site...

anyways compare it...

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=269378

now here is the thing...

when I ran the test it always gave me the exact same type of graph...except 1 time when it looked like yours... and this was right after I pressed alt+o for the first time...

try repeating the test w/o the oscillation and see if it is repeating the same pattern... its the only thing I can think of right now.. I will try and get 2.61 later tonite...

-edit-

I'll also try and run it w/o F@H and see if that helps any...

ALobpreis
02-11-04, 08:34 PM
Here (http://www.dyski.wirt.pl/Htach261.exe) you can get the previous HD Tach (I love filemirrors.com ;) ).

BTW, I wonder if the burst speed difference is because of the ATA controller... @ATA100 I get 85 Mb/s, while you @ATA133 get 112 Mb/s! If the disk's cache is able to provide 112 Mb/s, why not give me 95-100 Mb/s?? :( :cry:

ALobpreis
02-14-04, 03:40 PM
Hey, Sazar, could you test it with HD Tach 2.61 or ZD Winbench 99?

I made a page with the images and some brief explanations. Take a look here (http://www.lobpreis.com.ar/maxtor.htm).

I just filled the support form of Maxtor's site, explaining the problem and also giving them this link. I hope I can get an answer...

ALobpreis
02-23-04, 10:17 AM
Maxtor told me some days ago to try a low-level format with MaxBlast, to check if it's something of the disk. I'll try to do this ASAP, but I have plenty of data that's a bit hard to move... If any other ideas appear, they'll be welcome.
BTW, tried with another UDMA cable with the other IDE of the motherboard, and no luck. :(

Sazar
02-23-04, 12:13 PM
:confused:

I have been trying to run the test but it keeps saying support for win NT only available in registered version..

perhaps the kernel but still... meh... I'll see what I can do to workj around it...

Sazar
02-23-04, 12:42 PM
here is the result I got... keep in mind cool n quiet is running and operating system @ 800mhz :D

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=276314

seems there is a minor problem with a platter perhaps on your hdd ? but that doesn't explain the 'movement' we are seeing...

I ran the test multiple times btw... and I got the same result each time (within natural variance)

ALobpreis
02-23-04, 12:54 PM
Thanks a lot! :)
I have to make the low level format, so I see if I need to return the drive or not...
I wish I get that beautiful graphic..... The disk runs very well anyways, but this just doesn't let me sleep... ;)

Sazar
02-23-04, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by ALobpreis
Thanks a lot! :)
I have to make the low level format, so I see if I need to return the drive or not...
I wish I get that beautiful graphic..... The disk runs very well anyways, but this just doesn't let me sleep... ;)

yah muya and myself were having a chat on the IRC channel about it... does seem confusing...

give it a go and see if the format helps... I am assuming you have the maxblast software handy.. it helps...

ALobpreis
03-25-04, 09:00 PM
I am happy now.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=5058&stc=1

I could change the disk!!! :) :) :)
I went to the computer store and showed them all the e-mails I sent to Maxtor, as well as the HD Tach graphic. And without having to even discuss, they accepted to change it!! :) I guess it's because Maxtor offered a RMA. ;)

Also, this disk's manufacturing date is 19 february 2004!! :cool:

BTW, the serial starts with Y3 instead of Y2... that scared me. But it seems it's a 80 Gb platter disk too, because it has the same performance as the previous Y2 disk. :) Also, considering it's newer, it just couldn't be a 60-67 Gb platter disk.

Sazar
03-25-04, 09:08 PM
good work m8... nice to see the problem resolved... :thumbsup:

ALobpreis
03-26-04, 12:15 AM
Thanks! :)
I just noticed I didn't explain that I did the low level format but with no luck... tried the disk in another computer with another Windows and another cable, with same result. It was the disk, no doubt. And finally I was 4027% sure of this when I saw this new disk worked beautifully. :D