PDA

View Full Version : How to configure my K7N2's LAN?


Dazz
02-08-04, 04:22 AM
I have had this thing for a year now and still i can't seem to get the intergrated LAN to work as i don't know what MAC address it needs any ideas?

MUYA
02-08-04, 05:05 AM
MAC address can be found by ...start-->run--->type "cmd"--->press enter

then type in the DOS window ipconfig /all

amd the MAC should be displayed under Physical Address

The MAC is permanent and cannot be changed unless I think if u have a specialised tool I think.

So your MAC should not be the problem.....erm...more details?

MUYA
02-08-04, 05:07 AM
On another note my Abit NF7-S v2 come swith integrated LAN and works perfectly with a aDSL router and a another computer.

Dazz
02-08-04, 05:50 AM
Well that helped a bit i typed it in the BIOS but i am still unable to connect to the net though it, it seems i am short of a few other things like the gateway and server addresses :(

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?s=&postid=269589

MUYA
02-08-04, 05:59 AM
Mate I know you are euphoric because u lot beat Leicester City last night and may have ended up drinking the pub out but, what are u trying to exactly do? ;)

Are you trying to get a local private LAN going? If So, are u doing simple networking? Or do u have another computer that is acting as the DNS server etc? I a small network you can use WindowsXP built in "setup network wizrad" which will make life easier.

If you are trying to connect to a ISP, best leave them settings to "get IP addresses automatically" or "get DNS server address automatically" in the TCP/IP properties.


....

Dazz
02-08-04, 07:34 AM
Yeah i am trying to connect though the ISP so that i don't need to use this PCI card.

MUYA
02-08-04, 07:39 AM
Originally posted by Dazz
Yeah i am trying to connect though the ISP so that i don't need to use this PCI card.

Ok, so you probably have to leave the TCP/IP settings in General tab to "obtain IP address Autmatically" and the "Obtain DNS server Automatically". As you should have done for the PCI card? What settings did you use for the PCI Card? IF you had different settings for the PCI card, try those on the integrated one.

....I thought some more networking ppl would jump in to help here.

Dazz
02-08-04, 07:58 AM
I did nothing, my Nic card works from the time windows is finished installing.

Lezmaka
02-08-04, 01:10 PM
I got a K7N2-V about a month ago and I didn't have to do any configuration to get it to work. You shouldn't have to do anything about the MAC address.

Lezmaka
02-08-04, 01:16 PM
You might want to make sure it's enabled in the BIOS.

Here's the settings for my system

OnChip Lan (nVIDIA) = Auto
MAC Address (nVIDIA) = Disabled

Dazz
02-08-04, 01:58 PM
Yeah that was the first thing i did. I wonder if it's a conflict between the devices?