PDA

View Full Version : V-SYNC or no V-SYNC?

zoomy942
02-24-04, 01:29 PM
i have an LCD monitor and i have never used v-sync before. but i will if the wizards here at nvnews think it would be best? what say you?

i love frame rates, but since i have a great card, thtas not the issue.

Gator
02-24-04, 01:45 PM
I use VSYNC, helps prevent choppiness

stncttr908
02-24-04, 01:46 PM
It definitely looks much better. However, if you have a graphically intensive game that varies greatly in fps, it might appear that your display is stuttering somewhat. What I mean is, since I usually run at a refresh rate of 85hz, if the card can manage at least 85fps it'll lock it at that. However, if it were to dip down below 85, v-sync will lock it at 1/2 that, say 42 for sake of argument, to avoid that "tearing" effect. This leads to what I see as a stuttering effect. For this reason I usually use it only on older games.

zoomy942
02-24-04, 01:46 PM
what kind of choppiness?

Gator
02-24-04, 01:51 PM
Originally posted by zoomy942
what kind of choppiness?

well... stuttering because of the fps shooting up and down, it kind of helps to level off the frames

not sure if I'm describing that right, but I like to use VSYNC when gaming, and turn it off when benchmarking to get those maximum fps hits

saturnotaku
02-24-04, 02:10 PM
If I have the option in a game to limit the frame rate, I will do so and leave vsync off. But for older games like Q3, the original UT, Oni, etc, I'll leave sync on because with my card I can use AA and AF and still maintain a very high frame rate.

Also, having triple buffering available will help prevent tearing with vsync off. In the OpenGL tab on ATI cards you can force triple buffering across all applications.

Nutty
02-24-04, 02:53 PM
hmmmmm

However, if it were to dip down below 85, v-sync will lock it at 1/2 that, say 42 for sake of argument, to avoid that "tearing" effect.