PDA

View Full Version : Windows 2003


pantner
02-25-04, 01:48 AM
Are there any NVIDIA drivers for Windows 2003 Advanced Server Enterprise Edition???

Or should i just use the Win XP/2000???

cstring
02-25-04, 08:36 AM
I used the 56.55 xp drivers from guru3d.

Dont forget to enable hardware acceleration.

Theres intructions on that and other info here:

http://www.msfn.org/win2k3/

theultimo
02-25-04, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by cstring
I used the 56.55 xp drivers from guru3d.

Dont forget to enable hardware acceleration.

Theres intructions on that and other info here:

http://www.msfn.org/win2k3/



Win 2003 is easy to fix, provided you use that tweak guide. 56.55 works great, as 56.56 seems to work ok for me, not sure after testing though.

cstring
02-25-04, 11:53 AM
56.56 seems to work ok for me, not sure after testing though.

Yep those work good too, but I seem to get better framerates on the 56.55s.
Thats on an FX5200U BFG brand.
Maybe different for other FX models/brands?

MaxBlade
02-25-04, 06:01 PM
Same here they work great. I tried to get the new stereo to work just to try but not.

pantner
02-26-04, 02:04 AM
ok, i have the 56.55 forceware drivers......... however, i have "artifacts" when i view pictures, this used to happen, but i thought it was because i didn't have any drivers for the video card....now i do, and i still have them....

i have attached a screenshot of it happening....

cstring
02-26-04, 09:44 AM
Hmmm I would say that the drivers didnt install properly.

How did you install them?
Are the drivers being reported in device manager?
Does DirectX Diagnostic show agp enabled?
Does computer management event viewer show any errors?

theultimo
02-26-04, 03:24 PM
Check your AGP GART driver too, sometimes it screws with systems.

Is your card overclocked? Have you tried underclocking it?

pantner
02-26-04, 08:04 PM
No, the card is not overclocked, but i don't think it is the card....

right now we have a GeForce 4 MX440 in it.....we used to have a Radeon 9200SE in, and that did the same, so it could be the GART drivers.....however i can't seem to find them in Devise Manager to uninstall...

could it be the "NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge" (i have the Nforce 2 Chipset....)

cstring
02-26-04, 08:08 PM
Ah ha! Try this, I think this is it.

go to Device Manager
then on the top menu View > Show Hidden Devices
then look under Non-Plug and Play Drivers > VgaSave

If VgaSave has a yellow or red mark
right click on it and choose uninstall
then reboot.

cstring
02-26-04, 08:10 PM
could it be the "NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge"

yup thats the agp driver

I'd bet that its that pesky VgaSave because of the radeon doing it too.
It'll reinstall itself after the reboot but shouldnt have any marks by it.

pantner
02-26-04, 10:58 PM
Ok, i enabled viewing of hidden devises.....no VGASAVE anywhere....theres VGA Display Controller, but that seems to be working fine...
i removed the

"NVIDIA nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge"

and now its replaced with

"NVIDIA nForce2 PCI System Management"

and BTW, its still happening....

cstring
02-27-04, 09:07 AM
may want to try an older driver set then, if that fails test the vid card on another pc or try another o/s.
It may be bad memory or something or heat or w2k3 may just plain not like that video card.
:eek:

pantner
02-28-04, 12:27 AM
well, we tried the Radeon 9200SE in it (thats what we had before) and that did the same, i think its prolly Win2003....

and some of my workmates (this is the server PC at my work) tried to install some Det Drivers on it (prolly 53.03 or something) and when you went to change the Resolution it only had one option - 1x-1 (instead of 640x480 etc...)

cstring
02-28-04, 08:21 AM
i think its prolly Win2003

Your most likely right about that.

My 2003 sits on the shelf in its box :D

I found it totally useless as a workstation.
Before anyone scorches me about it being "server" software,
I just wanted to try it as a workstation setup.

Gaming totally sucked on it, some would run , some would not.

If you need a good server this is good.
For anything else its horse ... (kngt)

pantner
02-29-04, 07:24 AM
yeah, ive been toying with the idea of getting it for my PC, its got the features of XP and the UI of 2000!!!! its great in that respect...

but, you have to remember to enable hardware accel for your video card plus a few other things....

but you're right it is great for a server....i think i might give it a go, hopefully i won't have the same "artifacts" as on the work server (even though we use the same motherboard/RAM....)

and i have been succesful (don't tell my boss) playing wc3, UT2003, SoFII, GTA3.....so i think its ok for that....

cstring
02-29-04, 09:14 AM
don't tell my boss
LOL

I wont say a word.

BTW If you use windows movie maker (I use 1.2, dont like 2.0)
just copy the folder from program files anywhere into w2k3.
Works just fine.

Good luck, sorry your video didnt workout

MaxBlade
03-01-04, 03:42 PM
Originally posted by cstring
Your most likely right about that.

My 2003 sits on the shelf in its box :D

I found it totally useless as a workstation.
Before anyone scorches me about it being "server" software,
I just wanted to try it as a workstation setup.

Gaming totally sucked on it, some would run , some would not.

If you need a good server this is good.
For anything else its horse ... (kngt)


No scorches :D but I I think it's so much better then XP. Every game I have runs better in 2003 and I yet to get one BSOF. I get way better bench marks in 2003. It's just very stable.

OldOfEvil
07-12-04, 03:20 PM
Recently did a new install of 2k3 Standard. No problems, seems rock solid and a bit more snappy than XP, but I with Cat 4.7 I was getting about 2200-2400 Onionmarks less in the 3dMark01 from XP with the same drivers across the board. This is even after running through the server -> workstation guide.

Anyideas?