PDA

View Full Version : DVI above 1600x1200?


PenguinJim
02-26-04, 08:53 AM
OK, got my mate's got a Sony SDM-P232W (23" LCD monitor). He's been using the analogs, but wants to use the DVI (understandably). But what graphics cards actually support 1920x1200 through the DVI? When I see DVI max res being listed, it seems to be 1600x1200 on the graphics cards I can see.

Am I being dumb here? Would a 24-pin DVI-D cable & pretty much any graphics card work fine? If anyone can let me know of a graphics card that definitely would support 1920x1200 DVI, I'd appreciate it :). It can be nVidia or ATi, I'm not bothered, but cheap would be nice. :)

Edit: My friend wants to know by tomorrow. No wonder we call him James the ****.

saturnotaku
02-26-04, 10:06 AM
When I see maximum resolutions and refresh rates listed on a product box, I've always figured that's for both analog and DVI. I'm sure NVIDIA Quadro cards would support it, but obviously those are going to be way out of the price spectrum. ;)

Only way to find out would be to buy a card from somewhere that has a good return policy if for some reason it doesn't work. That is, unless someone here knows for sure.

What I'm trying to say is that I don't know for sure :p

Side note - you call your friend James the Four Asterisks? :rofl

PenguinJim
02-26-04, 10:21 AM
Originally posted by saturnotaku
Side note - you call your friend James the Four Asterisks? :rofl
He wishes ;). I thought the word '****' might be a little inappropriate for all the little children in here. See, I'm responsible :p.

Yeah, I always assumed that those resolution specs were for both DVI and Analogue. But, now I don't think they are. If anyone has any experience with this, I'd appreciate some help! :angel2:

Nephilim
02-26-04, 10:38 AM
I think that most of the newer vid cards will support that resolution if they have the DVI output.

I just looked on my FX 5900 and it supports up to 2048x1536

PenguinJim
02-26-04, 11:30 AM
All graphics cards nowadays support ludicrous resolutions, through analogue at least. Does your graphics card specifically state that it can support 2048x1536 through the DVI?

Would it need a 24-pin DVI connection? Or am I being denser than usual?

Cotita
02-26-04, 03:32 PM
I read somewhere that the DVI standard can't reach 2048x1536

GlowStick
02-26-04, 06:42 PM
I have ponderd this question many times before, and what i seem to come accross is that 1600x1200 is the max DVi resolution for ALOT of cards.

There was a really good article by xbit labs (if i recall) but i cannot find it, it tested a lot of cards to see how well they could stick to the standards.

But here is what i do know for a fact, the Apple 23'' display runs in 1920x1200 mode on the G5's with the FX 5200 and the 9800pro .....

so you should beable to heh.

AthlonXP1800
02-26-04, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by PenguinJim
All graphics cards nowadays support ludicrous resolutions, through analogue at least. Does your graphics card specifically state that it can support 2048x1536 through the DVI?

Would it need a 24-pin DVI connection? Or am I being denser than usual?

When I tried Forceware 56.55, I hoped all resolutions are back but it still missing some resolutions between 1024x768 and 1600x960. I found 1600x960 had flicker, it unfinished resolution, Forceware 52.16 is still the best driver for all resolutions. I was surprised that I found the highest resolution on 56.55 driver support 2048x1536 on DVI, it still flicker as previous resolution. But on Forceware 56.56 driver, 2048x1536 resolution was removed.

I hope the official driver on 1 March will fix the flicker issue and support all resolutions, if it dont fix then it time for me to email directly to Nvidia to help them resolve the problem.

GlowStick
02-26-04, 08:15 PM
also may i suggest PMing wilson, he knows alot bout high end monitors and DVi

{Sniping}Waste
02-26-04, 08:34 PM
I just looked at the ATI site to see what my FireGL x1 128 (R300 radeon 9700PRO). It states both anolog and digial up to 2048X1536

Update.
The Nvidia Quadro FX can do up to 3840X2400 single Digial or 2 screen digial up to 1600X1200.

Looks like ATI uses a dual ramdac and Nvidia uses a single ramdac.