PDA

View Full Version : need some help with overclocking.


G3x5
02-28-04, 08:50 PM
im trully sorry if this has been dealt with before, but i found no one with my type of motherboard.

Im trying to overclock my barton amd 2500+. not trying to do something insane. i just wanna hit the 2ghz mark. i have a Abit KD7A mobo. i went into bios and i set the multiplier up from 11 to 11.5, went and checked it to see if it had changed. nope still the same. went to 12x. still the same. tried 12.5x, same thing. i wanted to mess with the FSB. but im new to this OC. stuff and i dunno what would be a propper setting. dunno if you gotta go in increments of a certain number. i just wanna get the 1.85ghz to 2ghz. can anyone help?

-=DVS=-
02-28-04, 09:40 PM
Abit KD7A is KT400A no idea if multiplier is unlocked with it Plus your motherboard supports only 100/133/166 ,Nforce 2 motherboards unlock multiplier on AthlonXPs.
So your CPU is 11x at 166Mhz DDR (333) what you wanna do is try to up it to
180Mhz DDR (360) should make your CPU run at 1980Mhz , can try pushing FSB higher to see if you can hit 2000Mhz and over , see if you have option to adjust voltage on CPU and RAM.

I think it will fail moust likely as 333 is Motherboards limit your Ram 2700 is limited to 333 also......but you can try .
Would be no problem with Nforce 2 MB who supports upto 400DDR and some 3200PC ram.

Rytr
02-28-04, 10:37 PM
I thought the 2500+ after week 39 were locked?

The only solution I could find to unlock the newer Barton's is outlined in this thread: http://www.ocworkbench.com/2004/guides/unlockbartonwk43/unlockbartonwk43-1.htm

Still no problem if you have a NF2 board with good ram capable of 200MHz. The 11 multiplier on the 2500+ is not a limitation as simply changing the 333MHz setting to 400MHz will give you 2.2GHz overclock. Upping the FSB, depending on the capability of the ram, generally will allow you between 2.3 and 2.4MHz on most 2500+ Bartons. I had an unlocked Barton 2500+ that easily ran 2.3 and would run above 2.4 before I began running into heat problems and instability.

G3x5
02-29-04, 01:19 AM
no well. the motherboard has all those options to mess with the FSB. but they are greyed out. i cant touch them. kinda makes me mad. i was expecting something gay like this was gonna happen, it was going all too good to be true. i guess i get what i payed for..:( whats a good motherboard for under $130?

Rytr
02-29-04, 01:26 AM
Abit NF7-S or NF7 for under $100.

G3x5
02-29-04, 01:46 AM
ive been thinking of going with a P4, but i dunno. which one would be better for gaming? p4 or an XP?

Viral
02-29-04, 02:24 AM
P4's are better for most things over AXP's, but they cost allot more, you are usually getting what you pay for when comparing AXP's to P4's.

Since you have the processor, just get a better mobo. This will allow you to overclock to 2.2Ghz with ease (provided you get your mem to 400MHz).

-=DVS=-
02-29-04, 03:39 AM
XP is pretty mutch dead its either top line P4 + OC, or Athlon 64 ;)

Viral
02-29-04, 05:10 AM
Originally posted by -=DVS=-
XP is pretty mutch dead its either top line P4 + OC, or Athlon 64 ;)

For high end, yes. But he already has an AXP, and a decent one at that.. so buying a new mobo to get the best out of it is a decent(and cheap) option.

Dazz
02-29-04, 07:38 AM
The KT400A should easily do 175Mhz (35MHz PCI) FSB = 1.92GHz, might even do 181MHz (36Mhz PCI) = 2GHz