PDA

View Full Version : AGP Apurture


kev13dd
03-05-04, 07:52 PM
I have been told that if yuo have enough system memory, you can bump of the AGP apurture to get better game performance. Example:

You have a FX5900 with 128mb of ram
You have 512MB system memory DDR 400

That makes you eligable to put your AGP apurture up to 256MB in the BIOS. Is this dangerous, or will it boost your performce?

K

P.s. The logic I hear, is that it will set aside a part of your ram just for video, so it will be fine

-=DVS=-
03-05-04, 07:58 PM
I understood you set Aperture one quarter 1/4 of your System Ram not video card ram.

256 = 64
512 = 128
1024 = 256

Gator
03-05-04, 08:07 PM
just set it between 64 and 128, any more can cause issues I've read

Morrow
03-06-04, 04:40 AM
geez, this 1/4 or whatever thumbrule will not die out. It's completely wrong nowadays to set the AGP Aperture size in relation to your system's RAM size.

As Gator said, the best settings are 64mb and 128mb. In most cases 128mb will do the trick independing of the amount of RAM you have.

stncttr908
03-06-04, 09:03 AM
I have mine at 256MB and have yet to run into any problems.

Morrow
03-06-04, 09:32 AM
Originally posted by stncttr908
I have mine at 256MB and have yet to run into any problems.

yeah, in fact it doesn't really matter at what you set the AGP Aperture size with today's system and graphiccards as long as you don't go below 32mb because this would disable AGP completely.

Gator
03-06-04, 10:02 AM
Originally posted by stncttr908
I have mine at 256MB and have yet to run into any problems.

but does it benefit you either?

Try using 3dmark with the 256 aperature, then reboot and try 128, then 64 and give comparison results.

I tried 64 and 128, and 3dmark only saw a 40 point difference... yes only 40points more with 128 aperature

john19055
03-06-04, 12:11 PM
The best way is to benchmark it your self and see what is the best for you.I always get a little better benchmark with a setting of 128mb but not much compared to 64mb or 256mbs,maybe a difference of 30 to 40 marks.

PenguinJim
03-06-04, 01:47 PM
I remember it used to affect Morrowind performance, didn't it? Then again, what didn't? ;)