PDA

View Full Version : CPU temp


AncientGamer
03-10-04, 07:29 PM
I just bought a 2.60c P4 and it idles at 80f while my motherboard system temp reports 91... At full load the processor gets to 104. Is this normal? I'm used to my Thunderbird 1333 running at 140+. Are my thermal sensors reporting wrong or is it actually THAT much cooler?

CaptNKILL
03-10-04, 09:39 PM
It is probably correct. Thunderbirds run HOT.

AncientGamer
03-10-04, 10:05 PM
Well that's a nice bonus :)

Dazz
03-11-04, 01:34 AM
What board are you running? I have heard that ASUS boards temps are VERY low compaired to other manufatures which means they are missreading the temp.

AncientGamer
03-11-04, 01:58 AM
Sure enough, an ASUS P4P800 Deluxe.

stncttr908
03-11-04, 10:35 AM
Those temps are pretty accurate I would think.

AncientGamer
03-11-04, 12:19 PM
I checked ASUS' page and didn't see any troubleshooting info on falsly reporting sensors, it's not locking up and I only do light overclocking so I'll just assume it's right :cool:

Dazz
03-11-04, 12:19 PM
Well from a article i read the P4C800-E reported 30C while the ABIT board IC7 reported 50C.

AncientGamer
03-11-04, 12:24 PM
Do you know where that article was? I'd like to look over it.

Dazz
03-11-04, 04:14 PM
I can't seem to find it, i know it was posted on an hardware site this week.

Dazz
03-13-04, 03:26 PM
Found the link BTW http://www.legitreviews.com/Reviews/coretemp_1.shtml

AncientGamer
03-13-04, 05:54 PM
Thanks for taking the time to find that article. I wonder if I can actually find out what the real temp. is.

Woodelf
03-14-04, 09:42 AM
Why not just feel the heat sink, and go from there. I'll bet it's luke warm.
Otherwise a thermal temp probe next to the core.;)

schuey74
03-16-04, 02:36 PM
Abit is the one reporting incorrect temps. They have some odd formula for coming up with temps. You will find that Asus boards report the same temps that you would get if you used a DigiDoc or a tempertaure probe.

AncientGamer
03-16-04, 07:20 PM
Does anyone with a P4P or P4C have a temp. probe they can verify this with?

Also, at idle my voltage is 1.616, when it should be 1.6, will this slowly eat away at the stability of my processor?

schuey74
03-16-04, 07:31 PM
Originally posted by AncientGamer
Does anyone with a P4P or P4C have a temp. probe they can verify this with?

Also, at idle my voltage is 1.616, when it should be 1.6, will this slowly eat away at the stability of my processor?
I have a P4C800-E and a temp probe so I can verify this. I had an Abit IC7 before this and I used the same temp probe....

Don't worry about the voltage. :cool: