PDA

View Full Version : question about workstation cards and games?

lano
03-18-04, 09:18 AM
hey everyone.

i have a quadro fx 1000 video card becasue i am a 3d artist and i work from home at times..

but i also like to play games?

are there any issues with playing games on workstation cards? games like battlefield veitnam.

i mean the quadro fx 1000 is obviously strong enuff to play a game i would think. but i want to know if there are issues?

thx
lano

lano
03-18-04, 10:03 AM
can anyone help me here?

saturnotaku
03-18-04, 10:27 AM
First, don't bump a topic an hour after you post. Bad forum ettiquite. :nono:

Second, workstation cards might give you adequate performance for gaming but that's not guaranteed. OpenGL games should work well on a Quadro but D3D is a big 'if.' Download game demos and try them out. Not too many people here have workstation cards that would be able to answer that question.

lano
03-18-04, 10:35 AM
sorry, for the bump. im just trying to find out whats up.

well i mean im actually surprised that a quadro fx card, would have issues playing games?

hopefully someone can help.

lano
03-18-04, 10:53 AM
i just called nvidia and they said i shouldnt have a problem

saturnotaku
03-18-04, 03:09 PM
Originally posted by lano
well i mean im actually surprised that a quadro fx card, would have issues playing games?

There might be a greater chance of issues because playing games is not what Quadro cards are designed to do. That's why there are separate drivers for Quadro products that are optimized for applications like Maya, 3DS, etc. If those cards could do what a GeForce FX could, there would be no market for them (and the extreme price premiums they command over their desktop counterparts).

BTW, there's nothing wrong with bumping topics but it's proper to wait at least 24 hours if you have not received a reply.

RobHague
03-18-04, 04:49 PM