PDA

View Full Version : MSI FX5900XT with 2.5 Hynix?


Bigwave
03-18-04, 09:03 PM
I just picked up an MSI FX5900XT that's VIVO today and it seems to have 2.5ns Hynix Memory on it.

Is this new? I thought from reading around the net that these cards only had 2.8ns ram.

Hmm. What is 2.5ns rated to do default anyways?

zakelwe
03-19-04, 02:05 AM
Originally posted by Bigwave
I just picked up an MSI FX5900XT that's VIVO today and it seems to have 2.5ns Hynix Memory on it.

Is this new? I thought from reading around the net that these cards only had 2.8ns ram.

Hmm. What is 2.5ns rated to do default anyways?

That's interesting, 2.8ns is 714Mhz effective but 2.5 would be 800Mhz !

Can you overclock the memory and tell us what you get to ?

Thanks

Andy

Bigwave
03-19-04, 03:58 AM
Well I just played with the Memory clocks a bit and the highest that "Coolbits" will let me set it when I "Test New Settings" is 790mhz.

There isn't an artifact or crash to be found at 790, but coolbits seems to think that it's "Test New Settings" is failing over 790.

Considering that 2.5ns should run 800mhz with ease I'm starting to wonder if coolbits is full of it as far as "Test New Settings" is concerned.

The core does 500mhz though......thats a nice speed I think.

zakelwe
03-19-04, 04:05 AM
Originally posted by Bigwave
Well I just played with the Memory clocks a bit and the highest that "Coolbits" will let me set it when I "Test New Settings" is 790mhz.

There isn't an artifact or crash to be found at 790, but coolbits seems to think that it's "Test New Settings" is failing over 790.

Considering that 2.5ns should run 800mhz with ease I'm starting to wonder if coolbits is full of it as far as "Test New Settings" is concerned.

The core does 500mhz though......thats a nice speed I think.

Nice overclock on the gpu ! :)

What happens for memory if you use rivatuner to alter the clock speed ?

Regards

Andy

Bigwave
03-19-04, 04:11 AM
I've never used Riva Tuner before actually, but I'll install it and give it a whirl.

lmetza
03-20-04, 08:17 PM
how do you find out the timings of the ram cuz i have the exact same card, i got it last week thursday.