PDA

View Full Version : Processor Limited In Gaming?


Omega53
03-27-04, 07:00 PM
I have a athlon 2600+ XP with a 9700 Pro and my question is if I upgraded to a 3200+ proc, would I notice a huge difference in any games?

MUYA
03-27-04, 07:04 PM
erm some...depends on the games itself....if u are going to upgrade...get yerself the new athlon64s mate! :D

-=DVS=-
03-27-04, 07:07 PM
erm some...depends on the games itself....if u are going to upgrade...get yerself the new athlon64s mate! :D

I will agree with Muya i went from Athlon Xp 2400+ to Athlon 64 3200+ and saw a huge difference in games :drooling:
Haveing fast CPU is usually better then haveing Top of the line Video Card and severly outdate CPU.

jAkUp
03-27-04, 07:07 PM
I wouldnt do it.. you wont see enough of a jump to warrent the cost... your better off with getting one of the next gen cards... unless its a A64 :)

MUYA
03-27-04, 07:37 PM
Athlon64s bring so much to the table that if you are thinking of a CPU upgarde in AMD terms, an Athlon64 is a must. I have heard from personal accounts that they are so much faster and are the dog's bollox

I am just waiting for athlon64 3700+ or more...q3/4 maybe

MadPt
03-29-04, 01:57 PM
I don't think his mobo is likely to support the A64. Maybe that's why he wants the "normal" 3200.
The a64 needs new memory ( unless you already have top of the line memory modules, most times with error checking being a must, along with a high price, ofc. :D) and usually a new mobo.

I agree that it would be great to upgrade to a A64, but if not, it's still a nice upgrade, as long as you don't have to pay big bucks, otherwise, keep your money until you can upgrade your whole rig. ;)

MUYA
03-29-04, 02:05 PM
I don't think his mobo is likely to support the A64. Maybe that's why he wants the "normal" 3200.
The a64 needs new memory ( unless you already have top of the line memory modules, most times with error checking being a must, along with a high price, ofc. :D) and usually a new mobo.

I agree that it would be great to upgrade to a A64, but if not, it's still a nice upgrade, as long as you don't have to pay big bucks, otherwise, keep your money until you can upgrade your whole rig. ;)
My bad....only cpu upgrade would mean a 3200_ would be his only choice and not bad. well i have a athlon 2800+@ 2.2ghz...tis fine for me :D