PDA

View Full Version : flashin 5900 to 5950


agmy00
03-30-04, 12:15 PM
Hey gamers of the institute :D

I flashed my 5900 to a 5950. Its a bfg 5900 nu.

I am runing it at 450 core and 950 memory.

The thing is that when i play a game that is hardware pressing (farcry..battlefield vietnam...) my pc smtimes restarts.

My pc:

intel 865 gbf
2.8 c ht
512 ram
40gb 5400 hardisk
cdwriter
bfg asylum 5900nu 128mb
and a 350 watts gold edition (400w maximum)

What do u think is the problem...the 5900 cant handle the overcloacking or the flashing...or is it that my power supply is weak to handle all this ??

Please i want proffesional answer cz i dnt wanna kill my card :kill:
and any opinion is welcomed also :D (am thinkin of flashin it back to a 5900 (kngt) )

tanggg youuuuuu

poursoul
03-30-04, 12:47 PM
might wanna try clocking it down about 10-15 mhz. If that doesn't help try repositioning your fans. If that doesn't help try flashing it back. If that doesn't help j00 fUx0rEd.

agmy00
03-30-04, 01:35 PM
it might become unusable if i keep it flashed to 5950??

I dnt even see artifacts when i play it jst gets down suddenly...although my keybord caps lock stays on....

WHAT IS ITTTTT? (mag)

shall i flash it back?

volkskrant
03-30-04, 01:37 PM
it might become unusable if i keep it flashed to 5950??

I dnt even see artifacts when i play it jst gets down suddenly...although my keybord caps lock stays on....

WHAT IS ITTTTT? (mag)

shall i flash it back?

CAn you also flash the 5900XT to a regular 5900 or higher?

ragejg
03-30-04, 01:43 PM
sometimes...

:)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=23089&highlight=nv35+nv38

volkskrant
03-30-04, 01:50 PM
Wow...

The 5900XT is looking better by the minute :clap:

pharma
03-30-04, 04:05 PM
You might want to check out this thread at www.guru3d.com. Some people have the same card as you and have no issues running at 450/950.

I think your problem might be your Power Supply, but check the thread out.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?threadid=75483

agmy00
03-30-04, 06:56 PM
ok guyss....
now i have a far better idea about my issue

The thing is that when my card is under pressure...(running on 1280 4x anti and 8x aniso) and i pass by smthng that is hardware pressuring the system reboots by itself. Its like the vga disconnects.

I am giving you one thing that i tried many times:
I played unreal 2004...on 1280 and 4x anti and 8x aniso....
evrything runs fine first...Untill i reach a place on the map where lights are reflected from the water on the wall and green smoke is all over...
When i look at it...I hear the fan of my 5900 going a lot faster..when i turn back on it..the fan returns to normal..repeating that always turn my fan faster then slower...untill i decided to look at the smoke for 4 consecutive seconds..the fan ran really fast untill my system restarted.. :lame:
Its always the same with every hardware stressing scene...

I have a 350 watts psu and a 2.8 C cpu with hyper threading 865gbf board and everything....

Now what do u think??
My card is flashed to 5900 again....and am runnin on default speeds..


Do u think its a power supply issue???
Or smthng related to the vga?

Thanks for ur help guys
What am i without forums

saturnotaku
03-30-04, 07:13 PM
Are you having problems now that you reflashed the card? I had a 5900NU that was BIOS flashed and it ran fine for a while but then it started to develop artifacts and whatnot. The only way to get it fixed was to flash it back. Some cards just can't handle it.

CaiNaM
03-30-04, 07:31 PM
i'd also add that just having a 350w PS doesn't mean much.. if you have a cheap one where everything in on the same rail, it simply will not perform as say a 350w antec or enermax will.

also, if you have a high load w/ multiple fans, hard drives, optical drives, overclocking your cpu, etc. a more capable ps may be in order.

it's also possible you simply toasted your card by flashing the bios...

zer0xp
03-31-04, 12:31 AM
I dont think he toasted the card, i'd say it's his PSU... What brand/model is it? Or is it one of those that come with the case.... It's like CaiNaM said, sometimes those cheap 350watt psu's just wont be as good as the 350 watt Antecs or Enermaxes..

Rytr
03-31-04, 12:46 AM
The psu needs to be able to furnish a minimum of 18A for the +12V rail for your setup. The combined rating on the the +3.3V and +5V rails needs to be 220W or better (185W rated units are marginal at best).

agmy00
03-31-04, 05:16 AM
Ok guys...I have to admit..its cheapppp ass psu that cost me 20$ :'(

mrsabidji
03-31-04, 05:30 AM
Well, buying a correct PSU maybe a good thing to start with then ;). You'd have to buy a better one if you'd plan on buying one of the coming nextgen cards anyway (nv40 is rumoured to suck like 125W, for example). Plus it'll probably improve your computer stability in general, which is a good thing IMO.

mrsabidji

theultimo
03-31-04, 08:24 AM
like previously said, a 5900NU is NU for a reason...some cards cant be made into a 5950....but yours might just be the PSU.

XP_GUN
03-31-04, 11:56 AM
I would do it for my card Its just that I dont what to mess up.

volkskrant
03-31-04, 12:23 PM
I would do it for my card Its just that I dont what to mess up.

Coward
(aaa) :)

Richteralan
03-31-04, 01:15 PM
Get a Tagan 480W. ;)

jimmor
03-31-04, 05:28 PM
Hey gamers of the institute :D

I flashed my 5900 to a 5950. Its a bfg 5900 nu.

I am runing it at 450 core and 950 memory.

The thing is that when i play a game that is hardware pressing (farcry..battlefield vietnam...) my pc smtimes restarts.

My pc:

intel 865 gbf
2.8 c ht
512 ram
40gb 5400 hardisk
cdwriter
bfg asylum 5900nu 128mb
and a 350 watts gold edition (400w maximum)

What do u think is the problem...the 5900 cant handle the overcloacking or the flashing...or is it that my power supply is weak to handle all this ??

Please i want proffesional answer cz i dnt wanna kill my card :kill:
and any opinion is welcomed also :D (am thinkin of flashin it back to a 5900 (kngt) )

tanggg youuuuuu

firstly, why are you only clocking your card at 450/950. The stock speeds for a 5950u are 475/950, so you must be underclocking it ----> why???

Your reseting problem is probably your card running much hotter in 3D mode and overloading your limited PSU?? What is the ventillation like on your computer??

what temp's does your cards GPU core run at while idle and in 3D??

another remote possibility to check is if you have not ticked the "Enable Heat Indicator Warning" option your display properties temp settings tab??? This option causes most computers to crash when temps reach some preset level. On my setup, it crashes at approx 54C!

a 5900nu will easily clock to 5950u+ speeds!!