PDA

View Full Version : Should I upgrade to AMD 2600+?


UAC MARINE
03-31-04, 06:02 PM
Well, I'm one of the fans of upcoming game DOOM 3 and I have seen many benchmarks on it and my series of card seems to be good for DOOM 3, However here is the problem, I have AMD 2100+ and those benchmarks I saw were on 3.06 ghz machines, so Im thinking on upgrading to AMD 2600+ sence it is faster even then 2.4-2.6 ghz machines! Should I do that?

My ful sepcs are on my sig

ragejg
03-31-04, 06:13 PM
nehh...
you won't notice much of an improvement at all...

you need more FSB!!

My recommendation:

KEEP the 2100 (it's capable of up to around 220x11, 2.4ghz)

Hurry up and get your $35 worth for the mobo you have... it needs to be ditched due to its lack of fsb options and paltry OC options...

Buy an nforce2 mobo... single or dual channel will offer you a performance increse

OC teh 2100 in the nforce2... expect at least 180x11 (1980mhz) ... but you might get MUCH higher...

Your 5900 will love the increase in fsb... and so will your already nice TbredB cpu...

:)

UAC MARINE
03-31-04, 07:06 PM
Thanks, but I will wait for the game to come out cuz I have played DOOM III ALPHA V0.02 with 4X AA and 8X AF with trilinear mipmap and image settings on quality and the gaame ran on high quality just fine with a few slowdowns so I think I should just wait!:)

ragejg
03-31-04, 08:57 PM
The alpha is ablsolutely no indication of how the finished product will be.

AthlonXP1800
03-31-04, 09:17 PM
You do not need to upgrade to 2600+, if you want to play Far Cry, it will be fine with your system, in fact it ran very smooth on my system. It best wait to see how well Doom 3 run on various systems spec and then you can get Athlon 64 in 6 months time, I learnt my lessons never upgrade months before games released.

Gator
04-01-04, 06:53 AM
you'd see SOME difference going from an AXP2100 to AXP2600, but not enough to get excited over. Additionally you'd need to find the 266fsb version of the AXP2600 since you are using PC2100 memory, and that particular version is very difficult to find.

You're better off saving all the money you can for a cheap Athlon64 CPU setup that you could purchase by the time Doom3 comes out. And don't shake your head, the Asrock SIS755 motherboard is only $87us, Athlon64 2800 is $174us. A64 is getting in reach of econobox's. :)

UAC MARINE
04-01-04, 04:05 PM
Thanks for all ya replys but I don't think I will need an upgrade because for me even 12-15 fps is playable and smooth for me I guess my eyes are magic!LOL!!!