PDA

View Full Version : Turned to the darkside :o


Dazz
04-03-04, 09:19 AM
Yeap i gone out to my local shop and picked up a Pentium4 2.8C & MSI 865PE NEO Platinum board.

Strangly enough on the box it says the board can do 1400MHz FSB...... with an unlocked processor.

This is my first Intel processor since my Celeron 500 years back. I am hoping i can do 3.5GHz with stock cooling. But not sure how much voltage i should use. Ah finally i can get some use out of my PC4000 ram now :)

B&R
04-03-04, 01:35 PM
:mad: AMD is the dark side.:p


wow!! 1400Mhz.

kraigc
04-03-04, 03:40 PM
anything over 1.6 volts tends to get risky.......

Viral
04-04-04, 03:25 AM
with an unlocked processor.

To bad you don't have one ;) What they would mean by that is if you could lower the multiplier you should be able to run the processor at a higher FSB but similar or lower core clock.

At least you diddn't get a 2.8E :P And yes, this will help you finally make use of that PC4000 mem.. it looks like it will be a while before A64's support DDR500, at earliest with S939 launch.. and even that is uncertain.

Dazz
04-04-04, 04:47 AM
Wow what a nightmare 8 hours of trying to get my internet working on the PC and just found out i have to contact my ISP for them to accept my MAC address for my Gigabit NIC, heck my old one wouldn't even connect to the internet for some reason :(

My temps are a bit off my board runs at 40C and gets pretty warm while my CPU runs at 49C and can't feel any heat at all :o I can't seem to get the CPU stable even with 1.65v @ 3.5GHz :confused: so am just doing 3.33GHz with defualt voltage. I might now be able to play around with it at last :D

I am going to try 1.6v and run some tests.

Yeah the guy at the shop tried to sell me the P4 2.8E but i said get that thing away from me http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/icon_smile_screwy.gif

Dazz
04-04-04, 08:55 AM
I think i have screwed up my board i updated the BIOS and now it is completly unstable i had to remove everything and but my Athlon XP/board in so i can try and find an other BIOS. I can get into window but 20 seconds later i get a BSOD and then reboots even at defualt speed.

ragejg
04-04-04, 09:25 AM
sounds to me like you borked your boot sector of your hard drive.. time for a low-level format maybe?

Dazz
04-04-04, 10:41 AM
Tried that oh man i have lost count how many times i formated in the last 24 hours :o Anyway it's up and working again. For anyone using this board DO NOT USE THE 3.6 BIOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They where my problems, i have had to dismantle this PC yet again 7 times in the last 24 hours and put the AMD system into this one. GOD i really need to buy a new case and buy that GF2 off my m8. The 3.5 BIOS seem fine :)

Dazz
04-05-04, 04:35 PM
Ah man i just can't get this thing to boot into windows at 3.5Ghz no matter how much voltage i give it (1.75v). Sheez i just got this CPU 3 days ago so should be a good stepping and should get more then 600Mhz out of it. Although 3.4Ghz is stable as a rock.

I guess i am stuck at 3.4Ghz now :(

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=5209&stc=1

Kinda angry as this P4 @ 3.4GHz is no faster then my XP @ 2.4GHz in 3D Mark2001 which i thought the P4 dominated :rolleyes:

P4 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7725761
XP http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7533813

saturnotaku
04-05-04, 04:46 PM
It's that longer pipeline in the P4 that is its downfall. Not much you can do about that.

Although I wonder why you chose Intel over an Athlon 64. Just curious. :)

sxotty
04-05-04, 08:27 PM
I assumed he just loved overclocking and the p4 is undoubtably getting "bigger" overclocks b/c a much smaller % is still way more when you start out 1ghz higher.

|JuiceZ|
04-05-04, 09:28 PM
Just what till the next gen a64 boards are on the shelves in the few weeks w/ working pci/agp locks, that'll change quick ;)

Dazz
04-06-04, 01:45 AM
Na i am using a Northwood i wouldn't touch a Prescott :D

Yeah i think this CPU and board will become a backup system as i think i will be changing to an Athlon64 (939) when hit the market.

Dazz
04-06-04, 04:28 PM
This thing is really crap it can not do even 3.5GHz what so ever even with 1.8v!!!!!!

Unless it impresses me SOON i am going back to my Athlon XP and getting rid of this POS!

This is the 2nd Intel CPU i have had, first being the Celeron 500 and now the P4 2.8C and both have ended in disapointment. I got more Mhz out of my Athlon XP (1.83 @ 2.43 = 600MHz @ 1.85v O/C) then this POS 2.8C @ 3.33 (533Mhz @ 1.65v O/C)

MUYA
04-06-04, 07:23 PM
This thing is really crap it can not do even 3.5GHz what so ever even with 1.8v!!!!!!

Unless it impresses me SOON i am going back to my Athlon XP and getting rid of this POS!

This is the 2nd Intel CPU i have had, first being the Celeron 500 and now the P4 2.8C and both have ended in disapointment. I got more Mhz out of my Athlon XP (1.83 @ 2.43 = 600MHz @ 1.85v O/C) then this POS 2.8C @ 3.33 (533Mhz @ 1.65v O/C)


thats what u get for turning to the dark side mate...and that u are a geordie :p

Dazz
04-07-04, 01:41 AM
Then again i hope it will do ALOT better when i get my water cooling setup.

Dazz
04-15-04, 04:21 PM
Just wondering if i should sell this P4 setup off and buy an XP3000+ & MSI K8N Platium (nForce3 250GB)

Viral
04-16-04, 03:10 AM
You mean an A64 3000+?

Personally, i say that's a great idea. The nforce3 250 is great.

I would consider the 3200+ though.. it doesnt cost that much more these days and offers better IPC (much like barton vs. thoroughbred).

Dazz
04-16-04, 12:35 PM
Yeah thats what i ment :) Tomorrow i pick up my water cooling kit :)

SH0DAN
04-18-04, 09:14 PM
get a 2.4c or 2.4a pressy

Dazz
04-19-04, 12:35 PM
Havn't seen a 2.4A Prescott here as of yet i am kinda intersted in it as it seems to be one hell of an overclocker. HT doesn't really do much for me so i won't miss it :)

Dazz
04-21-04, 05:34 PM
Well i shoved my P4 back in for the hello it and benched Comanche 4, XP @ 2.48GHz 51fps, P4 @ 3.5GHz 66fps, pretty good :)