PDA

View Full Version : cpu-z


kruiser
04-03-04, 11:02 PM
abit nf7. the voltage showing on cpu-z seems to go down just slightly while i am running prime 95 (actually fluctuates a little too). is the voltage really unstable as it looks? and if so, is it a sure thing my power supply isn't up to the task.

Rytr
04-03-04, 11:16 PM
abit nf7. the voltage showing on cpu-z seems to go down just slightly while i am running prime 95 (actually fluctuates a little too). is the voltage really unstable as it looks? and if so, is it a sure thing my power supply isn't up to the task.
I would not worry about it unless your system is crashing when stressed. The system I'm using right now is fluctuating about 0.020 (according to cpu-z) and I'm using a 430W psu.

kruiser
04-04-04, 08:07 AM
it is fluctuating .048. that is like 4 clicks on the display (1.584,1.6,1.616,1.632). i wasn't too worried about the low reading because i felt i could compensate.

kraigc
04-04-04, 08:29 AM
arent abit boards known for undervolting a little bit under load?

saturnotaku
04-04-04, 04:04 PM
arent abit boards known for undervolting a little bit under load?

Pretty much all boards undervolt when running loaded. No big deal if your system is stable.

Dazz
04-04-04, 05:05 PM
I know mine damn well undervolts, the voltage is ment to be 1.52v but it runs at 1.49v.

Dazz
04-18-04, 01:44 PM
It's even worse when overclocking, 1.8v = 1.7v?!?!?!?!

Daneel Olivaw
04-29-04, 12:34 PM
If the CPU is stable, it is actually a good thing if the voltage is low. The lower the voltage, the less stress is put on the CPU. I'm actually looking for a way to lower the voltage of my P4 below 1.525 intentionnally (post if you know how). I want to lower it as much as possible while keeping it stable at 3.2GHz.

There is a point where upping voltages is not gonna help a cpu reach higher speeds. When you reach the point where your CPU is maxed out, you should lower the voltage to the limit where it is stable. IMO.
You're going to keep it cooler.

Nutty
04-29-04, 02:46 PM
My Abit NFS seems to undervolt the core a bit. I have it set to 1.7, and it reports as 1.65. Had to put the voltage up to get it stable.

Rytr
04-29-04, 05:08 PM
Don't believe I have ever seen one have the correct voltage, as set, let alone seen one with over-voltage from the specified setting.
The old T-Birds would undervolt in most all cases. You could set them to 1.85V and they would actually be running on 1.81 to 1.83. Select 10% increase in the bios and you might get 1.92V. Course, I have had some tell me that they got them up to 2.0V without a volt mod but I never did.