PDA

View Full Version : New Motherboard


Pages : [1] 2

CHEVYMAN_02
04-05-04, 02:02 AM
I am in the market for a new mobo. and a local shop has two mobo for a cheap price. Which do you recommend?


Chaintech 7NIL1 NF2 - $63

or

GIGABYTE 7VT600-L KT600 - $65

Smokey
04-05-04, 04:54 AM
I would go with the NF2 IMO

MUYA
04-05-04, 05:51 AM
yup nf2 but only if it has MCP-T ...the kt600 is supposed to be cheaper.

Gator
04-05-04, 08:17 AM
between those 2 choices, another vote for NF2

stncttr908
04-05-04, 10:18 AM
I wouldn't touch the KT600 when you can have an NF2, no sir!

ragejg
04-05-04, 10:54 AM
heh, there's no KT880 boards on teh market yet, are there? (via dual channel)

CHEVYMAN_02
04-05-04, 10:16 PM
I am just trying to get rough idea of what to get.

Viral
04-05-04, 10:53 PM
NF2 is far better for features because of soundstorm, and better for overclocking because of the locked PCI/AGP bus. It's the only choice for K7 ;)

B&R
04-05-04, 10:54 PM
between those 2 choices, another vote for NF2


yup.

CHEVYMAN_02
04-06-04, 11:47 PM
It is so hard to choose a good motherboard these days because there are so many out on the market.

ragejg
04-06-04, 11:59 PM
Heh...

7NJL1

8RDA3I

M7NCD Pro

There's my recommendations for a good yet low priced dual channel capable mobo...

:)

sxotty
04-07-04, 07:36 AM
The nf2 he mentions doesn't have soundstorm I don't think anyway. I haven't seen one for less than $80 with it.

Nevertheless I would get the nf2.

Viral
04-07-04, 08:37 AM
Abit NF7 is $75 on newegg.

Has soundstorm and from owning two NF7-S's running great i can they are great boards all round. The regular NF7 just doesnt have SATA, exact same board otherwise, and i wouldn't really see a reason to get anything else from what i've seen with various NF2 boards my friends have. The price is good, the performance is top notch, the features are good for the price, and the overclocking is excellent.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=13-127-144&depa=0

NickSpolec
04-07-04, 10:00 AM
If your looking for a cheap motherboard, get the same motherboard I have, the KX18D (non II version). It's a NF2 Ultra 400 chipset. 63 bucks last time I checked on Newegg. Doesn't have S-ATA or onboard firewire, but it overclocks like a dream and has every single overclocking feature you need.

DO NOT get the Gigabyte KT600 board. Piece of garbage.

CHEVYMAN_02
04-09-04, 06:49 AM
Ok. I went through a lot and decide that i would get a ABIT NF7 NForce2 Motherboard instead of buying the Gigabyte KT600. They sold out of the Chaintech motherboards so i chose the one named above.

|JuiceZ|
04-09-04, 07:19 AM
Good choice, I've built no less than 4 machines for customers (including my own) using the NF7-S over the past several months and have had nothing but success w/ them. :thumbsup:

Viral
04-10-04, 12:18 AM
Excellent choice, I don't think you will be disappointed.

CHEVYMAN_02
04-10-04, 07:15 AM
Do NF2 Motherboards require two power supply connector?

|JuiceZ|
04-10-04, 07:33 AM
Nada, they work with any standard ATX psu.

Viral
04-10-04, 10:11 AM
Umm.. i think they require the regular one and a 4-pin one. But AFAIK all ATX PSU's should have these.

My Epox 8RDA+ only required the regular connector, not the 4-pin one. I doubt it will be a problem though as i said above.. i'm pretty sure all ATX PSU's should have both.

BTW, i've never tried running the mobo without the 4-pin connector plugged in.. it might work! I think it just helps stability with.. something. As you can see i'm unsure ;0

CHEVYMAN_02
04-10-04, 10:22 AM
My Abit motherboard has both and i was wondering did i need to use both or just the regular connector. I was also wondering would it hurt if plugged both of them in

Nutty
04-10-04, 10:55 AM
2 power connectors ?!?! 1st I've heard of it, and I'm sitting next to one I put together.. :D

Top board, only thing I can say is, mine seemed to undervolt my core a bit. Had to push the voltage up a notch to get it stable.

fivefeet8
04-10-04, 10:55 AM
You don't need the 4 pin power connector. I don't use it on my NF7-S rev2 and it's stable. You could connect it if you feel your PSU isn't giving enough juice to the motherboard, but most likely, you won't need to..

BTW. The NF7-S rev2 is a great motherboard. Very Overclockable, good features, and stable. I've had mines for over half a year now and I'm still very happy with it..

Nutty >> Mine seems to overvolt my CPU voltages. :)

Dazz
04-10-04, 05:16 PM
Yeah my MSI K7N2 DELTA had an ATX and 12v connector also. I used them, might as well.

Nutty
04-10-04, 06:00 PM
You don't need the 4 pin power connector. I don't use it on my NF7-S rev2 and it's stable. You could connect it if you feel your PSU isn't giving enough juice to the motherboard, but most likely, you won't need to..


Hmmm maybe thats what my problem was, with getting not enough power to the vcore.. ??