PDA

View Full Version : W00T i finally got my watercooling


Pages : [1] 2

Dazz
04-17-04, 11:10 AM
At long last i have it and is all setup on took a couple of hours including removing my P4 which a friend of mine in really intrested in :) Anyway this XP 2500+ is doing 43C idle @ 2470MHz @ 1.85v pretty impressive i wounder what it could do with an XP 2500+ moblie :D

This was what i got http://www.koolance.com/products/product.html?code=EXT-A03&category_id=2
And am using a CPU-300 water block

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=5383&stc=1

jAkUp
04-17-04, 11:15 AM
Hey thats the same watercooling setup I'm using :) I'm pretty happy with mine, although I think its almost time for me to drain the system and fill it up again...

Dazz
04-17-04, 11:18 AM
Yeah you have to do that once a year or something right.

Dazz
04-17-04, 04:54 PM
Just wondering whats your temps for your P4 and how much voltage are you using along with stepping?

jAkUp
04-17-04, 05:24 PM
My temps usually read about 95F in the bios, my reading on the koolance system reads about 85 or so... Im pumping 1.7v into this bad boy ;) Although I usually dont leave my system at 3.8ghz... usually 3.7 for me.

Dazz
04-17-04, 05:38 PM
I am wondering if i should lob my P4 back in and see how far i can take it.....

Also the temp the Koolance picks up is the water.

Having said that i heard lots of people bashing Koolance products and to tell you the truth they are pretty good if you see these temps here.
And the computers never been switched of yet :)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=5390&stc=1

jAkUp
04-17-04, 05:51 PM
Are you sure its the temp of the water? If you notice you have to put the probe right on the CPU....

Dazz
04-17-04, 06:00 PM
Well they have this little hole near the cold plate this is so it can monitor the water temp and hence is around 10'C off of CPU temp so it can increase the speed of the fans if the water gets hot. Well thats what it said in the manual anyway.

Another question do you water cool your video card also?

jAkUp
04-17-04, 06:03 PM
sadly no.. *sniff* but I did watercool the northbridge ;) NB & CPU for me.. I also have the HD cooler, but I just never installed it.. I changed my mind..heh

Dazz
04-18-04, 05:32 AM
I am thinking of it but going to wait till i get the GF 6800 just incase it's mounting holes are diffrent then current waterblocks.

Dazz
04-18-04, 08:07 AM
Well i decided to shove my P4 back in but was GREATLY disappointed 3.5Ghz max stable could do 3.61 but was alittle flaky :(

So i have but my XP2500+ back in as it has been far far less hassle then the P4 has been.

I ran out of Artic Silver 3 so used Generic crap it has been just as good as AC3 infact maybe even better. I must be applying the AC3 wrong or something or it needs to burn in 250 hours straight? Also when at high speed the temp drops by 6'C with AC3 but with the Generic stuff it's 3'C

PaiN
04-18-04, 10:50 PM
I luv my Koolance.....but its about time for me to do a drain & maintain, too....while I'm at it replace the CPU200 block with a 300.

with my EE @ 3.7 (231x16) and 1.6v my temps are 35(idle) to 41(load) C

Dazz
04-19-04, 02:29 AM
Pretty good temps, the max my 2.8C would do was 3.5GHz @ 1.8v or should i say 1.7v my board heavily undervolted.

PaiN
04-19-04, 07:14 AM
Pretty good temps, the max my 2.8C would do was 3.5GHz @ 1.8v or should i say 1.7v my board heavily undervolted.

The EE is a completely different animal.....when I first got it I was alittle worried if the EXOS could handle both an OCd CPU and VPU....but hey, it's more than taking care of business ;)

btw: I'm running window washer fluid as coolent...I built the same system for a friend, but used the Koolance "pre-mix" and his temps are even lower at the same speed....when I get around to drining the thing I'm going back on the "pre-mix"

Dazz
04-19-04, 01:33 PM
Yeah i am using the premix myself bought 2 other packets and filled a 2L bottler :D

I guess i shouldn't really blame the O4 right? I mean going from 2.8 ~ 3.5GHz an't to bad is it? Still i currently have my XP2500+ 1.83GHz @ 2.45GHz. But i was expecting my processor to overclock to 3.73GHz (1066MHz FSB) However my board supports upto 1.8v but only gives me 1.7v :mad:

MUYA
04-19-04, 01:52 PM
At long last i have it and is all setup on took a couple of hours including removing my P4 which a friend of mine in really intrested in :) Anyway this XP 2500+ is doing 43C idle @ 2470MHz @ 1.85v pretty impressive i wounder what it could do with an XP 2500+ moblie :D

This was what i got http://www.koolance.com/products/product.html?code=EXT-A03&category_id=2
And am using a CPU-300 water block

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=5383&stc=1

GERODIE SHOWING OFF BASTID! :p

Dazz
04-19-04, 02:52 PM
Yeah i am quite surprized i mangaged to get my old XP2500 that high myself with only 1.85v lol.

MUYA
04-19-04, 03:27 PM
damnit my 2800+@2.2ghz idles at 43 degress C! i really wanna delve into water cooling someday....nice though Dazz m8

Dazz
04-19-04, 04:04 PM
And this is at low speed :) 36C at high. Another good thing is if your computer gets to hot it bumps up the speed of the fans, and you can connect upto 2x case fans via 3 pin connection to it and will adjust their speed also :)

PaiN
04-19-04, 05:14 PM
Dazz you really don't want to blast a P4 with to much Vcor....or risk the specter of "P4 Suden Death Syndrome" :alien: ....I start to get nervious above 1.6v

Dazz
04-19-04, 05:21 PM
Well my P4 is an M0 revision and from what i have been told can withstand high voltages.

Dazz
04-26-04, 06:05 AM
Should i get an A64 2800+ (512k) BOXED w/ K8N platinum (NF3 250GB) for £226 or
A64 3000+ (512) OEM w/ K8N platinum for £335

I am just wondering if the A64 2800+ will be a good overclocker like the XP2500+?

Got plenty of MHz on my memory as my Geil Platinum PC4000 does 533MHz easy :)

devnull
04-28-04, 11:02 PM
I'm getting an Ahanix Iceberg II in mine. I hear these things can REALLY cool the CPU.

Casper
05-12-04, 06:30 AM
Dazz your temps are almost unbelievable good as well as your overclock. My Koolance system (got the CPU 200G) cooler only allowed me to run my 2500+ BARTON at 2,3 Gig at 2V. It would hardly do stock speed at stock voltage but then my NF7-S rev 2.00 and ev my 550 W Antec likes to undervolt I would guess...

But running 2V brings much more heat so I couldn´t go about 2300 Mhz and 210 FSB (only worked at winter here in Sweden) :(

So you sure got lucky with your chip.

Dazz
05-13-04, 01:34 PM
It's a pretty old chip too :) But a decent board will get more out of it but i think by then i will get an Athlon 64.