PDA

View Full Version : Is there any quality loss when using a DVI to VGA converter?


W.Smithers
04-21-04, 10:37 AM
I've recently plugged in a DVI to VGA converter on my 5700 so I can use my monitor and TV at the same time. I was wondering, is there any image quality loss when using a converter?

When I first booted up I thought the picture didn't look as sharp, but now i'm thinking I just imagined it.

Thanks,
Mark

JBark
04-21-04, 11:12 AM
It's possible there is a bit of signal loss, but I doubt it's noticeable unless you're running above 1600x1200. If you don't want to worry about signal loss, then you could just buy a DVI->VGA cable, like the ones here: (2/3 of the way down on the page)
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/DVI_monitor_cables.html

Pretty decent prices for the first site google gave me :)

XanderF
04-21-04, 11:37 AM
What kind of monitor do you have? I've used DVI-VGA cables for years until I switched over to an LCD (BIG improvement!) without noticing any image quality loss.

W.Smithers
04-21-04, 12:43 PM
It's possible there is a bit of signal loss, but I doubt it's noticeable unless you're running above 1600x1200. If you don't want to worry about signal loss, then you could just buy a DVI->VGA cable, like the ones here: (2/3 of the way down on the page)
http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/DVI_monitor_cables.html

Pretty decent prices for the first site google gave me :)

Thanks JBark, i'm curious at why a DVI to VGA cable might give better quality than a standard DVI to VGA converter? (The type that come bundled with most videocards.)

W.Smithers
04-21-04, 12:59 PM
What kind of monitor do you have? I've used DVI-VGA cables for years until I switched over to an LCD (BIG improvement!) without noticing any image quality loss.

My monitor is an old (circa 1998) ADI Provista. Good to hear you didn't notice any quality loss, I think I was just imagining things.