PDA

View Full Version : OC the processor


CHEVYMAN_02
04-24-04, 01:22 AM
How hard would it be to overclock my processor using the NVIDIA System Utility?

Dazz
04-25-04, 06:48 AM
Not very, it's easy so long as you take your time and know how far your memory can take upto Your processor should do 2.2GHz. Problem being is that you can't change the vcore voltage.

PaiN
04-25-04, 10:18 AM
Chev...What motherbaord are you running?

CHEVYMAN_02
04-25-04, 12:52 PM
I have an Abit NF7

PaiN
04-25-04, 02:25 PM
Well then its just begging for you to OC it :D
I'm old school and OC from the bios......never used a Windows based app. But wth, load up the utility and go in 5mhz jumps.

gl

CHEVYMAN_02
04-25-04, 10:12 PM
what would be an ideal voltage for My 2500+?

CHEVYMAN_02
04-26-04, 01:31 AM
i oc'ed my processor to the speed of an 3200+

Viral
04-26-04, 04:48 AM
What voltage are you using to run the thing as a 3200+, stock? (1.65v).

Your only problem is your RAM.. you may have to bump up the v-DIMM and relax the timings. It may be set on auto and already have relaxed the timings.. check this and consider setting them manually. If you can lower the timings and remain stable then it's all good.

CHEVYMAN_02
04-26-04, 10:46 AM
i am using 1.65v. and my system is running stable

Dazz
04-26-04, 12:16 PM
Yeah most XP2500+ do 3200+ speeds by just a flick of the FSB :)

My XP2500+ is doing almost 2.5Ghz @ 1.85v :) I can post at 2.5GHz but won't boot :(

devnull
04-28-04, 10:45 PM
I have a link for you. It has a list of things to consider when overclocking, and also gives a few pointers.

http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Guides/OCguide/

This site has become my OCing bible. With this dude's help, I got a 2.09GHz 2600+ to 2.3GHz no problem. Of course it isn't as easy as the 2500+ from what I hear (I had to up the voltage to 1.77 to get it stable), but I can honestly say that the 2600+ is another good OCer.

I'm using a Biostar M7NCD Pro.