PDA

View Full Version : Is there a program to test GPU memory?


ChrisRay
05-14-04, 04:40 AM
I'd just really like to figure out what happened to my Geforce 4 Ti 4200, Why it stopped working ect..

I never understood its defunct.. it wont render anything in 3d at all.. So.. either goes black or displays garbage.

john19055
05-14-04, 04:44 AM
This doe'nt help with your problem,but my TI4600 when it went bad it started by not playing 3D games and lasted about a week and then it would'nt even boot in to windows.

ChrisRay
05-14-04, 04:48 AM
Its been dead for a while. And I miss it actually lol (Funny thing missing a Geforce 4 Ti 4200)

Maybe cuz it was my first Graphic card to literally "Die" on me. I think the memory overheated or something.. I'm not sure.. it works fine in 2d, It always has. heh

ChrisRay
05-14-04, 04:54 AM
hmmm I just tested it again, (messing with clock settings,) It works @ 200/500 Clock speeds verses 250/500... Very strange.. Wonder why its doing this.

I'm just messen around with it. I dunno if it'd be any faster @ 200/500 than my 8500 Card or not ;)

Ady
05-14-04, 12:23 PM
You might want to try out this Chris.
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=166

ChrisRay
05-14-04, 07:11 PM
I did alot of testing with it and despite its 250/500 Normal Clock Speeds, (Its impossible to get it to run Stable @ those speeds)

So I can run it @ 150 mhz Core and 444 Mhz Memory ( and it wont lock up or produce artifacts, 150 mhz on Core seems to be my peakage with it. I'll be honest, I havent messed with it too much after I saw I could get it working at all. its still discouraging. But it'll be a good backup incase something goes wrong or the worse happens.

But 150/444 is still slower than my 8500 AIW DV @ 230/380, So I'm sticken with that.

Ahh well..

Ady
05-14-04, 07:17 PM
But 150/444 is still slower than my 8500 AIW DV @ 230/380, So I'm sticken with that.

Ahh well..


Well i guess it's not much of a gaming setup either way there. i guess with 8500 AIW you at least get some decent 2d IQ and the extra video features and stuff. You should just retire it to some kind of htpc setup.

ChrisRay
05-18-04, 09:06 AM
Well the more testing I have done on the card,More interesting my results are, whatever the problem is, It doesnt seem to be recieving enough power, If I lower the memory speeds, I can increase the core speeds, if I higher the memory speeds, I have to lower the core speeds, Yet I can do 140/500 or 180/444,

(Tryen 180/444) For Stability and comparing it directly to my 8500 AIWDV (Yes I know these tests are ultimately useless but I am bored)

But I do sincerely believe its a power issue.