PDA

View Full Version : My future CPU specs


DiscipleDOC
05-14-04, 03:38 PM
I am going to be upgrading here probably by mid summer (By that time, the dust should probably settle for the graphics crown) and this is what I'm planning on getting:

AMD64 Socket 939 CPU
NF3 Socket 939 mobo
*x800 Pro Vid card
2x large capacity SATA Hard drives (Possible Maxtors)
HDTV capture card (for multi-media purposes)


I'll probably be using my same RAM and case. What do you guys think?

UDawg
05-14-04, 04:04 PM
This is the order in which I will get the components.

x800XT

nForce3 250, AMD64 Socket 939 CPU ( I won't get the top of the line CPU)

XMS2 4200 I weant this but might have to settle for this. XMS4400 1gb matched pair.

I have a cuda SATA 80gb HDD and a Audigy2 zs Platinum so the above is all I really need.

Tuork
05-14-04, 04:50 PM
And here I am wanting to upgrade my pathetic CPU ang GPU... :(

DiscipleDOC
05-14-04, 05:45 PM
This is the order in which I will get the components.

x800XT

nForce3 250, AMD64 Socket 939 CPU ( I won't get the top of the line CPU)

XMS2 4200 I weant this but might have to settle for this. XMS4400 1gb matched pair.

I have a cuda SATA 80gb HDD and a Audigy2 zs Platinum so the above is all I really need.

Why are you going with that ram? If you were planning on going Intel, then I can see the need for that RAM. I think you can get away with anything 3200-4000.

UDawg
05-14-04, 06:45 PM
Well I picked the DDR2 because Intel is not out of the question. The XMS4400 is most likely what I will get. The problem I have with Intel is PRICE!!!

I also plan to OC this big time. I also like most of us keep RAM a lot longer and as such I by for plenty of overhead.

Tuork
05-15-04, 07:45 PM
Not wanting to highjack the thread... but could someone give me a quick explanation on what on earth is RAM above 3200?
Is this PC3200?

I thought 400mhz was the highest (not OC'ed).


Yeah, yeah, I know... n00b :p

Sazar
05-15-04, 07:58 PM
the highest current jedec spec specifies ddr400 afaik...

nvnews-reader
05-15-04, 08:39 PM
If you ask me, I think it's a waste of money except for the video card. I bet your sound system needs upgrading more than your mb/cpu/ram.

Check out some speakers from Paradigm (www.paradigm.ca) and find a decent amp that can run 7.1 sound and has digital inputs. I like Onkyo's. Don't waste your time with Sony their amps have terrible sound.

retsam
05-15-04, 08:49 PM
amd is not going the ddr2 route at all this year ...... i forget were i got that from but it is a fact ....... but amd is releasing a fast bus for there athlons in the 500 mhzz range this year i think.......


retsam

Viral
05-16-04, 07:25 AM
The fastest DDR is 600MHz, as of afew days ago.

This would be worth it for the A64's as there are now boards with locked PCI/AGP bus's and you can unlock lower multipliers. People have hit 350MHz FSB (700MHz) and 300MHz seems fairly easy if you lower the multiplier. You better just hope that the board you get supports this super-fast RAM. It should, but who knows..

renegade77
05-16-04, 07:25 PM
wut r ur cpu specs right now, i know for myself in a couple of months in ganna be upgradin to. But i hear now that these super fast cards r out games r more cpu limited , so i think im ganan upgrade my cpu to a athlon 64 3200+ or 3400+ when the prices go down a bit, and may wait a bit to get the vid cards commin out in the next 6 months. Those will prolly be faster and will run games of its generation better then these currnt realeases. Cause when i got my first gf3 it was no good when games of its type really started commin out. so i dont wanna make the same mistake this time around.

Hari Seldon
05-20-04, 03:55 AM
I am going to be upgrading here probably by mid summer (By that time, the dust should probably settle for the graphics crown) and this is what I'm planning on getting:

AMD64 Socket 939 CPU
NF3 Socket 939 mobo
*x800 Pro Vid card
2x large capacity SATA Hard drives (Possible Maxtors)
HDTV capture card (for multi-media purposes)


I'll probably be using my same RAM and case. What do you guys think?
Well, I've ordered the pieces for my next upgrade:
Abit KV8 Pro
Athlon 64 3200+
Antec True480
2 x 512 Mb Kingston ValueRam PC3200
Zalman ZM-7000A-AlCu cpu cooler

That should help when playing H-L 2 and Doom III.
Unfortunately, my Hercules 9700 Pro will have to do. I don't intend to upgrade my GPU until autumn...

UDawg
05-21-04, 01:27 PM
Unfortunately, my Hercules 9700 Pro will have to do. I don't intend to upgrade my GPU until autumn...

There is no worries on teh 97p since HL2 isn't comming out until the fall, so you will be in good shape with the base of you puter in kick arss shape.

MUYA
05-21-04, 02:51 PM
I will gettinga 4000+ athlon64...if it ever comes out. mybe next year. Till then I will have to suffer with my athlon XP barton 2800+@2.2ghz :p

bkswaney
05-21-04, 03:52 PM
My next and only upgrade till 05 is a new 6800GT or X800. :D
That will do me. :)

Tuork
05-21-04, 08:35 PM
I think I'll save up for a 64-bit economish (not too much) system for december/january.

:drooling: