PDA

View Full Version : Silent Hill 3 on PC


Jarred
05-14-04, 07:53 PM
And why it's so much better


1. 1600x1200 rez
2. Controls, are customizable and better with a mouse
3. Load time? where did it go?
4. Save anywhere, and saves in less than 1 second.

vampireuk
05-14-04, 08:42 PM
Silent hill gives me the damn creeps

Jarred
05-14-04, 09:26 PM
aye thats why it's so fun :)

fivefeet8
05-14-04, 10:47 PM
Increase the internal texture sizes to 2kx2k. ;)

Jarred
05-15-04, 12:07 AM
Increase the internal texture sizes to 2kx2k. ;)


how do you do that?

fivefeet8
05-15-04, 12:37 AM
Should be in the display options.

Jarred
05-15-04, 03:58 AM
Should be in the display options.

ah, it's got rendering options and resolutions, the rendering options can go up to 4086x2048 but I don't see anything that bumps up the rez.

Kain
05-15-04, 05:51 AM
Silent Hill 4: The Room is coming to the PC.

Edge
05-15-04, 06:53 AM
2. Controls, are customizable and better with a mouse

Ugh, for Silent Hill, no. Much better with a control pad. In fact I just ended up rigging an Xbox controller up and configuring it with the game, it was a hassle to set up and in the end all I got were controls that were the same as the console version (I think anyway, on the PS2 it might use the preasure-sensitive buttons like SH2 did...I think).

Morrow
05-15-04, 06:57 AM
The new SH4 Trailer is awesome, a must see for every SH Fan

ragejg
05-15-04, 10:03 AM
SH3 crashes on me if I set it to 12x10 with 60.72... grr... It runs right @ 10x7... Hmmm, I haven't tried 16x12 though, maybe with no AA and some AF it might run ok....

I can't believe the graphics though, they're quite stunning for a console port, even when the textures are at default...

fivefeet8
05-15-04, 11:25 AM
http://fivefeet8.tripod.com/pc.htm -Here are some screenshots I took of SH3 at 2k and higher texture sizes. FSAA doesn't work in this game I think. I'll have to reinstall it later and check again.

Morrow
05-15-04, 11:26 AM
SH3 crashes on me if I set it to 12x10 with 60.72... grr... It runs right @ 10x7... Hmmm, I haven't tried 16x12 though, maybe with no AA and some AF it might run ok....

Try to change the texture resolution in the configuration tool. There seems to be some problems with that setting. Don't set it too high.

I can't believe the graphics though, they're quite stunning for a console port, even when the textures are at default...

yes, absolutely. I have yet to see a game offering more artistically and creatively stunning useage of shaders than SH3... and that includes HL2.

fivefeet8
05-15-04, 11:32 AM
Setting the texture resolution higher than 1k will do a type of software super sampling. At 4kx2k, the game get's pretty slow, but is practically jaggiless.

Morrow
05-15-04, 12:45 PM
Setting the texture resolution higher than 1k will do a type of software super sampling.

Are you sure about this? I was wondering if the game really included 4kx4k textures.

Anyway, any setting about 2kx2k is useless for Radeon users since all ATI cards (including X800 only support 2kx2k resolution). However GF3 and above support 4kx4k.

Jarred
05-15-04, 12:58 PM
Ugh, for Silent Hill, no. Much better with a control pad. In fact I just ended up rigging an Xbox controller up and configuring it with the game, it was a hassle to set up and in the end all I got were controls that were the same as the console version (I think anyway, on the PS2 it might use the preasure-sensitive buttons like SH2 did...I think).

I'll always take a mouse over a D pad you control with your thumb. :)

fivefeet8
05-16-04, 02:45 AM
Are you sure about this? I was wondering if the game really included 4kx4k textures.

Anyway, any setting about 2kx2k is useless for Radeon users since all ATI cards (including X800 only support 2kx2k resolution). However GF3 and above support 4kx4k.

Yeah.. The game does include 4kx2k textures. I've used it in the game on my Fx5900. Damn. Too bad ATi card can't use higher than 2kx2k. Even the x800 cards? hmm. Where did you hear this? I was really hoping that the next ATi cards would include support for 4k textures.

PsychoSy
05-16-04, 04:05 AM
Bah ... I'm waitin' on The Suffering to hit PC. :D

beckman
05-16-04, 06:14 AM
Is it better than silent Hill 2 for PC? That game is crap not scary the least except for the controls perhaps.